|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Legion (2010 movie) » User review

LEGION

A 2010 apocalyptic-thriller film directed by Scott Stewart

< read all 10 reviews

Guns and Bullets Against Demonic Angels?

  • Jan 23, 2010
Rating:
+3

Gosh, I just reviewed “The Book Of Eli” last week and here I am about to review a film that portrays a Biblical theme. Movies such as “The Prophecy” have portrayed a very chaotic vision of Heaven and Earth; such a premise is usually very interesting and intriguing, I find movies that attempt to bring the wrath of God into exposition quite enticing. Take note that director Scott Stewart’s apocalyptic action-horror thriller “LEGION” is a not an interpretation of the Scriptures but rather a fantasy that only uses some of the themes in the Book of Revelation as its backdrop. The movie is a figment of the imaginations of writer Peter Schink and Scott Stewart that takes advantage of the themes of the stories of Noah and Moses, as when the wrath of God descends upon the wicked.
 
When God loses faith in humanity, the archangel Michael (Paul Bettany) is now an angel fallen from grace as he has decided to disobey God’s commands. The wrath of God is sent to exterminate humanity, this time by sending His angels to descend upon mankind. In desperation, Michael leads a group of strangers (group made up of Dennis Quaid, Charles Dutton, Lucas Black, Tyrese Gibson among others) holed up in a small truck stop in the New Mexico desert to protect a pregnant waitress named Charlie (Adrianne Palicki) whose unborn child may be the hope to salvation. They must turn the truck-stop into a safe haven and hold back the hordes of angel-possessed humans until the child is born…but then there is the archangel Gabriel (Kevin Durand)…

            Dennis Quaid as Bob in "Legion."

                                   Doug Jones as the Ice Cream Man in "Legion."
 
I had very low expectations when I saw this film. I have seen several movies that portray the Biblical apocalypse and while some of them were decent, all of them lacked the mood and tone as to what the apocalypse should really be about. Scott Stewart is a visual effects maestro and this film is his first-time project as movie director, as such I thought the movie looked quite good despite its low budget, most of the visual effects were decent (although some were lacking) and I kind of thought that the movie exuded that comic book feel. (small wonder since there is a comic book called “Legion: Prophets” that serves as a prequel).
 
I guess for one to appreciate the premise of “Legion”, one has to be able to answer some questions. Who is this child? How can he be the key to salvation and/or forgiveness? Why didn’t God just snap his fingers and destroy every human off the face of the Earth? Well, if you are familiar with the scriptures, any infant or any child is an innocent and has no knowledge or even committed any sin, therefore, God cannot just destroy this child. Remember, the film portrays the anger of a Divine power, not any kind of murderous rage. Yes, humanity has fallen in God’s eyes, but an infant is still innocent therefore God cannot condemn it to death. There lies the film’s plot hole, and many would be puzzled as to why some sequences lacked explanation. The explanation was there, but the storytelling was just a little clumsy to bring everything together as it contradicts itself.

Doug Jones as the Ice Cream Man in "Legion."  Dennis Quaid as Bob in "Legion."
 
“Legion” is an action-fantasy thriller with some elements of horror. Now I guess my biggest problem with the idea is the fact that angels are possessing humans (sure this is probable) to lay siege on man but why possess weak-willed humans? I guess my main question is why are they behaving as demons would? In the film’s opening scene with the grandma, it would have made more sense if demons were also involved but I guess the director had to make it simpler. This is where “Legion” comes a lot short to be successful with a premise such as this; Angels cannot be fought with shotguns, machine guns or rocket launchers, they have the power to kill armies with one blow! Why can’t the filmmakers portray angels right? I know the film is low budget and such a film may cost a lot more, then why not incorporate a simpler story, or if then, why not develop the story much better?
 
Instead, I was stuck to a film that tried to give some characterization to its characters. Charlie (played Palicki) is woman who doesn’t want this baby, she smokes while pregnant and is totally unhappy with her life. Here, we also see Jeep Hanson (Lucas Black) who has hidden feelings for Charlie. He cares and love her though the child is not his. Other characters such as Bob Hanson (Dennis Quaid) and Percy the cook are there to just keep things going, with passer-by Kyle (Tyrese Gibson) provide some needed ‘meat’ to the script. Willa Holland was there to provide the eye candy. The screenplay stuck to several things that are quite stereotypical when a group of people is trapped in an enclosed space; such as the panicked, the afraid, the betrayer and the sacrificial lamb. The film borrows some characteristics from “Night of the Demons”, “Evil Dead” and even “Demon Knight”. I don’t mind being unoriginal, as long as the elements are developed but the editing this time fails. 

           Willa Holland as Audrey and Kate Walsh as Sandra in "Legion."

                                Dennis Quaid as Bob, Tyrese Gibson as Kyle, Paul Bettany as Michael and Charles S. Dutton as Percy in "Legion."
 
Now to the film’s credit, the movie is action-packed. From the scene with the granny in the trailer, the film takes off quite quickly to keep the viewer from identifying the weaknesses of the plot but it just couldn‘t keep up the energy. There is a lot of gunplay but it isn’t anything we haven’t seen before. The atmosphere of the film is dark and brooding, (but the film manages to throw in some black humor), the colors looked a little grainy and muted, that matches the mood of the movie. There were a few intense and creepy scenes, mild blood and gore (the stomach acid scene was cool) and the fight between the archangel Gabriel and the now-human Michael was decent and looked inspired by those fights we’ve seen in vampire films. I thought the idea of having the angels have some steel-hard wings was a fresh ingredient. It was cool, but it just wasn’t enough to save the film.

             Kevin Durand as Gabriel in "Legion."

                                Paul Bettany in "Legion."
 
I guess there are many other worst movies out there, and while “Legion” was obviously hampered with its low budget and uneven direction, the film did manage to give me some surprises however flawed they may be. I guess in a way, maybe it is just my enjoyment for films about these themes, but I was somewhat entertained. I thought the movie felt a little rushed that several elements weren’t fully developed to fully approach its intended impact on the film’s narrative. The movie would have been better off getting down to business with more intense drag out action scenes than trying to get give some cliché to its characters, that gave it more holes in the editing. Its Biblical overtones were played a little too safe to really feel like a Biblical apocalypse. I guess, if you were expecting a comic book-like movie, then “Legion” will not disappoint.
 
“Legion” isn’t that bad a movie, it is fun in some ways and I wasn‘t at all bored, (a granny with a walker one minute then a murderous demon the next) but it just came too short of its potential. The film will still find some fans. It’s main flaw would be is that it feels too commercial to be a ‘cult film’ and too low-budget to be a mainstream film. 

Recommended very Timidly, a RENTAL First is ADVISABLE [3 Stars]

HYPE LEVEL: Moderate

This is a Lunch.com Exclusive Review.

            Paul Bettany in "Legion."

            

                           
Guns and Bullets Against Demonic Angels? Guns and Bullets Against Demonic Angels? Guns and Bullets Against Demonic Angels? Guns and Bullets Against Demonic Angels? Guns and Bullets Against Demonic Angels?

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
35
Thought-Provoking
36
Fun to Read
36
Well-Organized
36
Post a Comment
April 29, 2010
Great review WP this is another I have been wanting to see really bad, the trailers for it looked great.
 
January 27, 2010
Trippy, but I'll skip this one. Good review.
 
January 25, 2010
This one was on my radar, but I think I will wait for it on video. Thanks for the review. Egypt was great...look for some upcoming reviews!
January 25, 2010
You were in Egypt? Hollee....give a holler when you get the review posted.
 
January 24, 2010
Trash, trash, trash. Isn't there something called "original sin"? But aside from that, the effects in the trailer are enough to keep me away from this flick. I'll just stay home and watch PROPECY again at least that portrayed an archangel as something really worth fearing. it would only take a few to do the job if it was to be done that way.
January 25, 2010
This was fun but I do have to say that THE PROPHECY is better. As for 'original sin' that's a belief only for Catholics and have since been argued that it is no longer significant. Seen THE PROPHECY 2? It wasn't bad...
January 25, 2010
And 3, but after that forget it. Even Jason Scott Lee can't save it.
January 26, 2010
Well, it's there. It's just not labeled that. Purgatory isn't there either. The Church added that so that you could buy your way into heaven after spending a little not-too-unpleasant time paying for your sins in a less monetary way after death to mollify God. =)
February 14, 2010
Original sin doesn't exist IMO, but we are fundamentally flawed by nature. But I've always believed that you are what you do, so therefor if you never DO any wrong, then you cannot be evil, which kinda flies in the face of original sin. This will be another cheapo Korean pirate flick for me, get them by the dozen over here. Thanks for the write up man, best of luck to ya.
February 15, 2010
Well , you just have to pick your religious dogma and then stick to it when you're making this type of film. it makes it more cohesive.
 
January 24, 2010
Quite an interesting critique, Mr. Pak! I can't say I had much in the way of expectations in this one and fully agree that unless you happen to be a body-less ghost, what in the world would be the benefit to possessing a human shell? We're pretty darn fragile! Anyway, thanks not only for providing but another insightful assessment confirming what I suspected, but also for letting me know this was up. I've been so busy this weekend that the heads up really helps! Also my latest review is going up right now...
January 24, 2010
Thanks for coming by and reading the review, Jason! You say a new anime review..."if you write it, I will come." LOL! I actually just came from there. Can I borrow $$? I am so broke because of my coming move... LOL!
 
January 24, 2010
Good review but I respectfully disagree, this film is complete atheistic trash it total screws up how God is coming back for us. He would never give up on us and I really don't like films that spread that kind of message it deludes his true purpose and turns angels and God himself into a bad guy that I don't like at all I don't care how enjoyable a movie is. But good work anyways.
January 24, 2010
I agree, which is why I clearly stated that the movie does not represent anything in the scriptures; that it was nothing more than a figment of the director's imagination and a mere fantasy. Hollywood likes to make stories such as this (but really uneducated ones), but remember that God used the flood to destroy the world, destroyed Sodom and Gamorrah (so He had been angered by us) and in the lost books of Enoch and the Apocrypha, Angels were once again shown as rebellious to God's orders. Sure, these were all in the Old Testament before the birth of Christ, but I do agree that messages that screw with our heads is not right and/or viable which is why I had to see this when I read that Quaid was saying misleading trash. Oh, in the film does have a surprise, and a testament to God's everlasting love. I can handle movies like this, since no mere movie can touch my Faith in God. I tend to tolerate and see for myself before I let my personal feelings get in the way of reviewing a movie. Thanks for the read.
January 24, 2010
Oh, I highly recommend "The Book of Eli", now that is a great interpretation of one's Faith in God.
January 24, 2010
I heard good things about that movie I really want to see it.
January 24, 2010
You should! It was a great portrayal of God's warriors in the Old Testament. I will not ruin it for you, but it was really surprising and the acting and exchanges of Washington and Oldman were superb.
January 24, 2010
Cool! I'll put it on my watch list. And also I apologize for being so harsh with y comment these types of movies really get under my skin.
January 24, 2010
Not need to apologize. A member actually wanted me to review this (he's a Christian) and pointed me to Quaid's stupid commentary. So me, testing as to how I can remain level-headed in the face of a movie I disagree with would react to it, went and saw it with my friends. I don't blame you, I have the same reaction to some movies which is why I don't watch them.
 
January 23, 2010
Hey man really a great review. Will be looking forward to watching it before it soon. Great breakdown on the Biblical perspective, thanks for that as well. Very interesting comments from you Count below on Constantine re: Constantine the trailer looks like a sequel to it. Anyway man good to go as always!
January 24, 2010
Thanks, man. Happy you liked the review. Oh, if you're a fan of vampire movies, I highly recommend DAYBREAKERS...
January 24, 2010
Cool, I am. Actually I am a big fan of "Fright Night" from back in the days. That started my interest in vampire movies.
January 24, 2010
Daybreakers is a surprisingly great attmept at something fresh to the vampire film. I have reviewed it if you haven't read it yet, as to whet your appetitte LOL!
 
January 23, 2010
Am I the only one who thought this looked like "Constantine" meets "Knowing", what with the winged demons and angels and the silly idea of children being messengers of the Apocalypse?
Anyway, cool review. Too bad the film wasn't better.
January 23, 2010
Small surprise since I think the director had a hand in the VFX in Constantine. I was disappointed that it wasn't better but relieved that it wasn't a lot worst.
January 23, 2010
Who was the director? You didn't ever say...
January 23, 2010
Scott Stewart in the first paragraph, Sean.
January 23, 2010
I think I'll review Constantine since I did enjoy that flick.
January 23, 2010
Apparently, my befuddlement over where my comment went on your review of "The Hurt Locker" has spread to this review. I must be having a severe off-day. LOL!
January 23, 2010
drink some wine, it tends to clear up the brain LOL!
January 23, 2010
Nah, I think you mean that the brain soaks up the wine. LMAO! Maybe I need to eat something.
January 23, 2010
I checked, Stewart is actually a visual efx supervisor for IRON MAN and "Pirates of the Caribbean Dead Man's Chest". Pretty impressive resume but I guess his screenwriting skills need further development.
January 23, 2010
Yeah, I tend to not like films made by people who got their start in special effects. I prefer people who start off as writers.
January 23, 2010
I agree. Which is why I like South Korean directors, they're struggling writers who become film professors before they become directors.
January 23, 2010
Right and quite a few actors have successfully become directors too, I should add.
January 24, 2010
I think you should make a list. Eastwood and Mel Gibson would be at the top of mine. I forgot the other dude's name...the older dude.
January 24, 2010
I think F.W. Murnau, Geroge Clooney, Roman Polanski, Clint Eastwood, Woody Allen, and Ron Howard would be mine.
January 24, 2010
there ya go..Woody Allen! You should make a list for real.
 
January 23, 2010
Is this the one with the grandma in it who goes scary bonkers in the diner?  If so, I can see why you'd recommend rental.  At least there's good eye candy in this.  Thanks for the Lunch exclusive, Woo! :)
January 23, 2010
Yup, that's the one, Lady D. That old lady was fun to see. I am sure this movie will still find a fanbase, since it is the type that the poential for sequels is almost infinite. This movie was fun and never boring, but came so short of its potential.
 
January 23, 2010
If you ask me, I get the feeling the film makers are passing off demons as angels! That's about it.
January 23, 2010
Think of zombie-driven angels. It uses the exact mechanics of people trapped in an enclosed space against a murderous horde.
March 02, 2010
The folly of men... guns? Ha!
March 02, 2010
ha-ha! and the folly of women is...jewelry? ;-P ha!
March 02, 2010
Cosmetics!!! ;-)
March 02, 2010
Men solve their problems with guns while women with cosmetics, LOL... Ever wonder how big these 2 industries are in the world? & yet, essentially, they don't really solve the real problem either ;-)
 
1
More Legion (2010 movie) reviews
review by . December 22, 2010
LEGION was never going to be a great movie. But it should at least have been FUN. Sadly, it is a poorly written, poorly acted bore.     The concept, while ridiculous, could have led to a crazy, over-the-top action fantasy. Apparently, the angels of heaven have been directed to begin the apocalypse, because God and the angels are just so fed up with how awful mankind has become. (I have to point out that this is kinda what happened prior to Noah and his flood, and after that, …
review by . July 01, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Pros: Fully armored angels always look cool, good or bad.     Cons: Pretty much everything.     The Bottom Line: Simply put? I'm not impressed. I don't know when I last gave a movie 1 star, but here you go.     Plot Details: This opinion reveals major details about the movie''s plot. "Hey, Nicole, that Legion movie looks kind of cool.  Should I see it?"    Oh, you mean that apocalyptic-looking movie where the angel …
review by . April 19, 2011
Over the years I have watched more horror films than I can keep track of.  Within my circle of friends I have acquired a reputation for watching just about anything, no matter how good or bad the film may be.  I would even admit to owning some films that have shocked quite a number of people.  I thoroughly enjoy the sexploitation films the feature Pam Grier, I seek out b-rated horror films and sometimes find a charm like The Trilogy of Terror, and I even brave those films that have …
review by . August 09, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
GOOD FLICK THAT IS WORTH YOUR TIME
      LEGION      These end of the world flicks are always a hit with me for some reason, especially ones that are more along the lines of horror. I don't know why but I always enjoy them and tend to forgive mishaps more for these. This one while not a perfect movie I s very fun one, especially the first half of the film. Also I am a Tyrese fan so that also helped the film out a lot in my mind, ever since his turn in "Baby Boy" I have been a …
review by . May 28, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
LEGION attracts the viewer because of the cover of the DVD: would Paul Bettany, looking very buff as a cross between evil dark gear under the glow of divine light, betray his fans by making a bad picture? Well, yes. And so is the case for Dennis Quaid, Charles S. Dutton, Tyrese Gibson, etc. perhaps there just aren't many scripts form which to choose that draws actors of this quality into a unintentionally comical dud. But here we are with over two hours of nonsense that may have at its core a good …
review by . January 25, 2010
One line saved this movie from being a complete bore for me: Dennis Quaid: "Besides, I don't even believe in God." Archangel Micahel: "That's fine. He doesn't believe in you either."      Aside from being just a great one-two punch back at modern society's pubescent protests against God, that line pretty much sums up the whole point and plot of the movie: God has threw up his arms and said screw it. Let's get rid of these lil' bastards. The last time he did …
Quick Tip by . July 19, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Loved the Angels and Demon themed going on.. it was an awesome film
Quick Tip by . July 18, 2010
I'm a big fan of apocalyptic films and this one was also a good one. There are not a lot of films like this and thats what made it enjoyable.
Quick Tip by . July 14, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
It's entertaining I suppose. It just could have been done better. I remember thinking it was sorta like combining Maximum Overdrive with Dawn of the Dead with the Seventh Sign. Sorta, but not really. Just had that feeling. Anyway, it's not a total waste of time but not a great waste of time either. A "nothing to do or watch so why not?" type.
review by . January 27, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
God has lost faith in humanity, something that hasn't happened since the days of Noah. But instead of a flood, He has sent down a legion of angels, who possess the bodies of weak-minded people, turning them into ... certainly not demons, but then again, there's nothing angelic about these people, so maybe there's no other way to describe them. Anyway, it seems the only one who has kept the faith is the archangel Michael (Paul Bettany), who directly disobeys God by protecting what he was sent to …
About the reviewer
William ()
Ranked #1
Please "Like" Film and Movies and Keep the Economy strong....LOL!!      My Interests: Movies, Anime, History, Martial Arts, Comics, Entertainment,Cooking, Things I don't … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
woopak_the_thrill
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Scott Stewart's supernatural thriller LEGION, scripted by Peter Schink, concerns a group of strangers in an out-of-the-way eatery who become the first line of defense when God, believing the human race is no longer worthy of Him, decides to end their existence. This motley crew's only spiritual ally is the archangel Michael, played by Paul Bettany. Dennis Quaid, Tyrese Gibson, Charles S. Dutton, and Lucas Black co-star in the Screen Gems production.
view wiki

Details

Genre: Thriller
Release Date: 2010
MPAA Rating: R
DVD Release Date: May 11, 2010
Runtime: 100 minutes
Studio: Sony Pictures
First to Review

"Angelic Terminator"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists