|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » May » User review

May There Be More Flicks Like This

  • May 8, 2009
Rating:
+4
Angela Bettis is one of the more underrated actresses in Hollywood or Indie cinema for that matter but we can't hold it against her. One look at her film resume & we can be restfully assured she is every bit an actress although her name rarely comes up in conversation amongst moviephiles as often as it should. Perhaps she is yet to secure the role which will not only define her as a serious actress & tap into unknown dimensions we've yet to experience. I do have faith she will one day nab this role which will land her the acclaims she rightfully deserves & hopefullly that film will see the light of day. Having said that, I still believe that May comes pretty close.

While not completely a slasher film per se, I think May is more of a complex psychological study with liberal doses of gore & humor. In fact, I think the film could easily pass as a sequel to the German horror film Nekromantik although less gory & far less explicit. It baffles me how the screenwriters may have initially sold the idea to Lions Gate & the studio's initial response as May is anything but you're conventional horror/thriller flick.

May is a very attractive young girl with some serious issues.

One could go so far to say her problems began as a child when she was  diagnosed with an eye problem that required a patch. Sadly, her mother doesn't provide much assistance or support but rather comes across as abrasive or overbearing. In essence, May's childhood offers the foundation of  insecurity & parental suffocation which would only progressively get worse as she grows older.

Most of the story deals with a grown-up's attempt to deal with life & perhaps even find a little love in the world. Naturally, May tries very hard to be accepted but her mental instability makes it near impossible to keep friends or lovers. As a result of mental issues which were never fully addressed in the earlier stages, May learns what a lot of us learn in life but she utilizes her newfound wisdom a bit differently.

There are so many beautiful parts but not beautiful people.

You can probably take guesses at this point in terms of which direction the film will head & you're first three won't count. Inevitably, the film grows darker with each frame & we  are eventually subjected to a few slayings which most of us are glad to embrace. Yay!

I really did like this film. Honestly, I could relate in some odd way to her character. I think May is a great film for anyone who has ever felt alone or like a loser at some point in their life. May does a fine job of carefully examining the character & showing it's audience that mental illness can reside with anyone really irregardless of how attractive they may appear to the naked eye.
may May There Be More Flicks Like This May There Be More Flicks Like This

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
14
Thought-Provoking
5
Fun to Read
7
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
December 04, 2011
I loved this. One of my favorite horror films of the 2000's.
December 06, 2011
Oh yeah, this was one of my favorite films of the past decade. I was rally impressed. I am ready for The Woman which comes out on dvd next month. Thanks for taking the time to read bro. Cheers!
 
December 28, 2010
Oh yeah one of my favorites right here, have you seen the film in which the roles reverse for Lucky McKee and Angela Bettis, "Roman".
December 06, 2011
I do need to see Roman & I can't wait to watch The Woman which comes out on dvd next month. Thanks for reading bro! Cheers!
 
May 09, 2009
I've been meaning to see this film forever, but whenever I go to the rental place I seem to forget about it. Maybe next time I'll remember thanks to your great review. :)
May 12, 2009
Well, thank you very much!! That means agreat deal to me! Yes, this is definitely worth your time & I'd highly recommend catching it on DVD or any medium if possible. Thanks again man!!
May 31, 2009
A 5 star film in my book and shame on you Count for not having seen this yet! I bought this one immediately upon having viewed it.
June 02, 2009
I agree with you wholeheartedly & am actually shocked Count hasn't already seen this one. It's definitely worth the rental & I bought this one too.
June 02, 2009
Yeah, I'm shamed and shunned. Pity me for I am pathetic. :) Wow, I'm a total sarcastic asshole today. I guess this is what happens when i spend too much time with family. LOL.
June 02, 2009
My advice is too spend less time with the family & devote more attention to fellow lunchers but I'm not one prone to give advice. Smiles Sadly, I've yet to review anything that's been released recently in theatres but I might surprise people yet. Any particular ones come tlo mind? I will certainly do my best. Cheers!
June 02, 2009
Good thinking. I'd love to see you review Disney/Pixar's "UP!" or the new Michael Mann gangster film "Public Enemies" starring Johnny Depp and Christian Bale (although that's not coming out until July, I think).
June 02, 2009
I will more than likely review Public Enemies as I'm not a huge Pixar fan per se. Then again, I'm so unpredictable that I may very well review both. Thanks for the suggestions! You feeling any better considering...??
 
1
More May reviews
review by . June 18, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
**** out of ****     There will never really be a slasher to save such a sub-genre. I don't like to think that any film deserves that much recognition, and plus, I don't even like the horror sub-genre of "the slasher film" that much, and for good reason. There are slasher films that I love ("The Texas Chainsaw Massacre", "Halloween") and then there are those that I find tasteless and boring ("Friday the 13th"). I'm a fan and an admirer of horror cinema for many reasons, and whenever …
review by . November 08, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
As a young girl, May's severe lazy eye made her shy and socially acceptable as a target for persecution. Her demanding and obsessive mother twisted that beginning into something else entirely. The bizarre glass encased doll she gives to her troubled girl becomes May's only friend, and long after mother is gone, the doll continues to be May's truest confidante.      As an adult, May now works in a third rate veterinary office where her interests in things like sewing …
review by . November 08, 2010
Pros: good creep factor, interesting main character and story, a thoughtful horror     Cons: slow buildup, uneven pacing, disjointed surrealistic flashes     The Bottom Line: A gore-geously creepy tale     Plot Details: This opinion reveals minor details about the movie''s plot. As a young girl, May's severe lazy eye made her shy and socially acceptable as a target for persecution. Her demanding and obsessive mother twisted that beginning …
review by . November 28, 2008
May
May is not normal. At first, you think there is a possibility that she could be misunderstood, but May is definitely not normal. She gives a whole new meaning to the word 'Freak'. May grows up being different, wearing an eye patch because of a lazy eye. Mommy and Daddy give her a doll to be her friend, a doll that is one of those 'look but don't touch' dolls. If you can't meet friends, then make one. May matures, and we pick up with her as she is working for a Veterinarian as his assistant. She …
review by . March 11, 2004
posted in Movie Hype
Pros: The message is pretty strong, Angela Bettis plays a great May     Cons: May be to gruesome, weird for some.      The Bottom Line: A weird, but powerful film. Not for light-of-stomach.
About the reviewer
Brian ()
Ranked #28
I've spent years trying to make others happy & not really focusing on what's most important in my own life. Having said that, my own health & security are paramount so now I'm more … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
cenobite7
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Starring Angela Bettis, Jeremy Sisto, Anna Faris, Kevin Gage
Directed by Lucky McKee
Writer:  Lucky McKee
2002

Product Description
May never really fit in and growing up with a pirate's patch to cover her lazy eye did not make things easier. Even as an adult her best friend and sole companion is a doll given to her by her mother... until she sees Adam. In awe of his beauty especially his hands she pursues a relationship for the first time in her life. But she soon finds out that people are not 100% perfect... only certain parts of them are! Features: Cast and Crew CommentaryProduction CommentaryInternational TrailerEnglish and Spanish Subtitles System Requirements: Running Time 93 Min Format: DVD MOVIE Genre: HORROR Rating: R UPC: 031398838920 Manufacturer No: 71616
view wiki

Details

Director: Lucky McKee
Genre: Comedy
Release Date: June 6, 2003
MPAA Rating: R
DVD Release Date: July 15, 2003
Runtime: 1hr 34min
Studio: 2 Loop Films, Lions Gate Films
First to Review

"I Like Weird"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists