|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Monster (movie) » User review

Theron Raised The Bar

  • May 26, 2009
Rating:
+5
It should come as no real shock to any true movie lover that Charlize Theron won best actress at the Academy Awards in 2004. Not to mention all the awards she won prior to that such as the Golden Globe Award. Considered by many to be one of the top ten performances of all times, Charlize Theron gives us a shocking yet humanized portrait of Aileen Wuornos which is completely unforgettable.
 
Aileen Wuornos will remind us all in many ways of ourselves with her hopes, dreams, & how we often cry out for help but no one truly hears us. Unfortunately, most of us wait most of our lives for that special moment or person which is reason enough to reconcile everything we've done & even consider living. Selby was Aileen's reason for living after she comtemplated suicide & her ultimate hope for having a better life. Obviously, Aileen had never really considered a relationship with a woman but I strongly believe she felt it was worth a try after living a life of emptiness & constant heartache.

My question is this. Why couldn't Selby go out & get a job to help pay the bills? Knowing full well that Aileen didn't want to prostitute her body any longer, could Selby have not tried to help out somehow? Does anyone else out there agree? 
 
Throughout the course of the film, we learn how truly disturbed Aileen is & how this stems from repeated abuse over time which never truly ceases. At one point in the film, Ms. Wuornos (played by Theron) tells a man held at gunpoint of how she was molested as a child by a friend of the family & physically abused as well by her own father for simply conveying the truth. Wuornos also reveals to us that she's been on the streets since the age of 13 selling her body to men who we can assume were just as abusive.

What I find most touching about Monster is how Aileen tried many times to go out into society & earn a decent living but failed like so many of us do as humans are too quick to judge or reject a human even when they're simply trying to better themselves.
 
Monster is not an easy film to digest by any means & packs quite a wallop but is definately a must see film. Patty Jenkins allows us to feel sympathy for the woman who so many people would've considered to be a monster & is asking us to re-think everything we've learned about this tortured soul.

Charlize Theron may have had some decent roles in the past but probability suggests that nothing she has done in the past or will do in the future will hold a candle to her performance here. Charlize Theron is undoubtedly remarkable here in nearly every sense of the word. Although I've never truly agreed with the Academy decisions, Theron rightfully deserved the Oscar she received.
Theron Raised The Bar Theron Raised The Bar Theron Raised The Bar Theron Raised The Bar

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
7
Fun to Read
7
Well-Organized
10
Post a Comment
October 28, 2010
So well said man
 
October 16, 2009
This was a great film perhaps because of the strong performances. Ricci was also phenomenal, been many years since I saw this in theaters...nice write up!
October 16, 2009
I agree. I think I would have liked it a little less had it not been for Theron & Ricci who really carried the film. I saw it in the theatres once or twice & then bought the DVD some years later. It's been awhile since I've seen it too. Thnks Woo!
 
August 15, 2009
Pardon the late reply.. Anyway, I really, really, REALLY like(d) this movie. I, originally, bought it for mother for Christmas ages ago. Could you see my surprise when she had it packed up in some stuff od mine to come pick up?! And..still in the plastic?! Nice, aye? Eh, well.. Not just b/c this is based on a true story, but I like that they didn't pick a female lead who [already] had the gruesome look covered! Although, Famke Jansen might've been a good runner-up. That aside, I love the "interview scene" and've watched it many times on repeat. Excellent movie, even IF the lezbo theme doesn't appeal to you.
October 16, 2009
Sorry for my late reply. This one one film that I really encouraged others to watch although I don't think I could ever get my mother to watch it. The lesbo theme alone would turn her off completely irregardless of how great the film was. I was pretty impressed with Theron's performance obviously & I didn't even recognize her so they did a pretty good job making her look like Wuornos. I dunno where the hell my DVD copy of this is but I need to re-watch it as I hadn't seen this one in years.
 
May 27, 2009
Another winner. I know you said you're not into documentaries, but have you seen either of the 2 major docs on Wuornos? I think they're even more fascinating than the film and leave a more complete picture of how totally she was abused by everyone she ever met--and how that didn't stop even after she was imprisoned.
May 27, 2009
I did catch the two documentaries on Aileen Wuornos when they appeared on cable TV. You are absolutely right! They were extremely fascinating even though I find them completely depressing & unnerving. In many ways, her story reminds me of a friend that I just recently became re-aquainted with. It's tragic & I really did feel bad for her after seeing the film Monster & watching the two docs. Thanks again for your compliments!
 
1
More Monster (movie) reviews
review by . November 11, 2008
Monster
Monster is based on the true story of female serial killer Aileen Wuornos, a common prostitute that left a string of dead Johns in her wake. Aileen (Lee) is on the verge of taking her own life when she meets up with Selby, a lesbian who is looking for companionship. Selby gets Lee to talk, and they agree to meet again the next night. Lee needs money, so she takes to the streets to make some cash.     Her last John brutally beats and rapes her, and in an act of (what seemed to …
review by . December 19, 2008
DVD
Lee (Charlize Theron) was terribly abused as a child and has been a prostitute since the age of 13. Desperate and lonely, she meets a young lesbian named Selby and the two become inseparable. They need money to start a new life together, so Lee does the only work she knows, only now she uses a gun.     This true story of a woman who killed seven men for their money and cars is extremely brutal and depressing. Theron is unrecognizable as the hardened killer and gives a heartbreaking …
About the reviewer
Brian ()
Ranked #28
I've spent years trying to make others happy & not really focusing on what's most important in my own life. Having said that, my own health & security are paramount so now I'm more … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
cenobite7
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Starring Charlize Theron, Christina Ricci, Bruce Dern, Lee Tergesen
Directed by Patty Jenkins
Writer:  Patty Jenkins
2003

Product Description
A shockingly moving film that burrows deep beneath the tabloid-sized headline stories of aileen wuornos the man-hating serial killer executed last year in florida. Studio: Sony Pictures Home Ent Release Date: 02/28/2006 Starring: Charlize Theron Bruce Dern Run time: 108 minutes Rating: R
 
Based on the life of Aileen Wuornos, a Daytona Beach prostitute who became a serial killer

Won Oscar. Another 16 wins & 13 nominations
view wiki

Details

Genre: Drama
Release Date: December 24, 2003
MPAA Rating: R
Runtime: 1hr 49min
Studio: Media 8 Entertainment
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists