|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Murnau

Kino International's 6-disc DVD collection gathering six of director F.W. Murnau's films.

< read all 1 reviews

A Quick Tip by Count_Orlok_22

  • Apr 9, 2011
Despite the fact that I already own four of these films in different versions, I absolutely love this set mainly because it includes wonderful restorations of three of Murnau's greatest films (Nosferatu, The Last Laugh, and Faust) as well as four documentaries and many great special features. The artwork on the packaging is beautiful and as I was able to get it on sale for a great price I was even more happy with the purchase. Ultimately, what you end up with here are three great films, two very good ones, and one that feels a bit uneven and awkward (Finances of the Grand Duke), but it's still an astoundingly well put together collection highly recommended for silent cinema fans!
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
6
Post a Comment
April 10, 2011
you sound like me....I have like 3 versions of my favorite movies LOL!
April 10, 2011
Yep, I've got about six versions of "Nosferatu" and 2 copies of the three of them (the Image and Kino editions) and I have four editions of "The Wizard of Oz" and two or three of some of my favorite fantasy films. LOL!
 
1
About the reviewer

Ranked #10
Member Since: Dec 16, 2008
Last Login: Jun 7, 2012 07:25 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Count_Orlok_22
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki


Kino International is proud to release a new six-film, thinpak box set dedicated to the German films of legendary UFA director F. W. Murnau.

Contains

  • FAUST - Disc 1 of Restored Deluxe Edition (NEW)
  • THE HAUNTED CASTLE (NEW)
  • THE FINANCES OF THE GRAND DUKE (NEW)
  • THE LAST LAUGH - Disc 1 of Restored Deluxe Edition (previously released)
  • NOSFERATU - Disc 1 of The Ultimate Edition (previously released)
  • TARTUFFE - Restored Authorized Edition (previously released)

All six films included in the box set, The Haunted Castle (1921), Nosferatu (1922), The Last Laugh (1924), The Finances of the Grand Duke (1924), Tartuffe (1925), and Faust (1926) have been recently restored by the Murnau Foundation and Transit Films, Germany, and were mastered from 35mm archival materials.

Of these six films, three of them are new to DVD in the US: Faust, being presented in a restoration of the German release edit never seen in the US, as well as The Haunted Castle and The Finances of the Grand Duke, both being made available for the first time in the US.

Kino's all-new Murnau box set comes with a suggested retail price of $99.95, and a prebook date of February 17, 2009. Its street date is March 17.

Nosferatu, The Last Laugh and Faust are presented in the new Murnau box set on single discs, containing the latest 2007 and 2008 restorations, along with all the special features found in the double-disc sets. The deluxe versions of Nosferatu (Kino, 2007), The Last Laugh (Kino, 2008) and Faust ...

view wiki

Details

Genre: Foreign
Release Date: 1921, 1922, 1924, 1926
MPAA Rating: Unrated
Screen Writer: Henrik Galeen, Thea von Harbou
DVD Release Date: March 17, 2009
Runtime: 521 minutes
Studio: Kino International
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists