|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Octopussy (film) » User review

Octopussy Movie Poster

1983 James Bond Movie starring Roger Moore

< read all 5 reviews

Bond's little airplane could be the cause for the mood whiplash.

  • Mar 11, 2011
Rating:
+1
It's taken me a while to want to write this review since out of all the Bond movies, this one is the one I've seen the least.  Oh sure there are worse Bond movies that I've seen more then this one and Octopussy does have a nice final act but the rest of the movie leaves a little to be desired.

Bond's newest assignment comes in the form of counterfeit Fabrage Eggs that are showing up on the market.  In connection is Prince Kamal Kahn who operates out of India from his palace and is in cahoots with a group of professional female smugglers, The Octopus Cult and they're mysterious leader Octopussy.  Plot points lead to an atomic bomb so that the scene chewing General Orlov can invade Western Europe after the Octopus Cult smuggles the bomb onto a West German US Airforce base and destroys it.  Bond gets involved in the middle of things to put everything to a stop.

The biggest issue with the story is that it's told in a complicated and obtuse way.  Why involve the Fabrage Egg subplot at all and just leave it to having the Octopussy Gang smuggling the Atom Bomb into a circus?  Why doesn't Russia use it's own people to smuggle a nuke and cut out the middlemen?  I know that it needs to look like an accident but it does also involve a lot more people too who could talk.  Other movies like GI Joe have a similar plot issue but we won't worry too much.

Roger Moore at this point needed to retire.  He looked bad being in bed with Kristina Wayborn and short of his desperation to stop the nuke going off at the end, which is good.  The rest of the time it feels phoned in.  Moore allegedly was given a big payday to stick around to compete with Warner Bros Bond movie with Sean Connery airing later that year with Never Say Never Again and didn't want to confuse audiences or have them tune out of this one.

Worst is the change in tone.  Bond one minute is leering at a woman through a video camera and later on showing some class and charm with Octopussy in her headquarters.  Worse is the chase through the jungle where Bond escapes a Tiger attack and a snake but makes a tarzan yell while swinging on vines, or during the train chase, a Mercedes gets it's tires torn off and chases the train down the tracks, to say nothing of friction of the fact that can't happen.  Yeah I know a Bond movie, but this pushes things.  Later yet, Bond's memorable infiltration of the Amry base to disarm the nuke is done while dressed as a clown.....art imitating life for Moore's detractors.

The good?  Yes, that final act with the Train and later the battle in Khan's palace are great and the India locales prove that even other bad Bond movies (especially Moore's) make up for shortcomings with gorgeous locations.

Moore stuck around for one more movie and with this one it was two films too long.  Octopussy isn't an awful movie but it's disjointed at best but mediocre at worst.  If you're planning a Bond movie marathon, I would put this one on towards the end so you don't risk tuning out of the movies too soon.
Bond's little airplane could be the cause for the mood whiplash.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
9
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
9
Post a Comment
December 06, 2011
Terrible entry in the Bond series. Who knew Bond could stop a charging tiger by saying the Sit? That just one of many terrible jokes in this film. As for the clown makeup, you know it has to be a Roger Moore Bond film. Can you imagine Sean Connery or Daniel Craig donning clown makeup as Bond?
 
March 14, 2011
yeah, I enjoyed this when I was a teen. But now with repeat viewings, it just doesn't hold up..
March 14, 2011
Yeah. Like I said there's things I like but when you see the Bond tune played on the flute for the snake and the Tarzan yell among other moments, it's really awkward.
December 06, 2011
The Bond tune on the flute really makes me groan.
 
1
More Octopussy (film) reviews
Quick Tip by . March 10, 2011
posted in Bond, James Bond
Convuluted and overly complicated film has a clearly past his prime Roger Moore as Bond battling Russians, smugglers and philanthropists from setting off an atomic bomb. Wavers too much in between the serious and silly tones.
review by . October 10, 2010
posted in Bond, James Bond
1983 'Octopussy' Seiko G757 Sports 100 Homing Device/Hidden Microphone
Ever since I was a young boy I have always been enamored by fine watches.  So, ever since I was a kid, one of the alluring elements of Bond movies for me was to observe which types of watches were being used, especially by Bond.  As I matured I found that I share many of Bond’s predilections for enjoying the “finest” things life has to offer.  I think a fine watch is part of the character makeup for depicting Bond as a suave and “smooth operator.”  …
review by . October 10, 2010
posted in Bond, James Bond
1983
Ever since I was a young boy I have always been enamored by fine watches.  So, ever since I was a kid, one of the alluring elements of Bond movies for me was to observe which types of watches were being used, especially by Bond.  As I matured I found that I share many of Bond’s predilections for enjoying the “finest” things life has to offer.  I think a fine watch is part of the character makeup for depicting Bond as a suave and “smooth operator.”  …
review by . October 10, 2010
posted in Bond, James Bond
1983
Ever since I was a young boy I have always been enamored by fine watches.  So, ever since I was a kid, one of the alluring elements of Bond movies for me was to observe which types of watches were being used, especially by Bond.  As I matured I found that I share many of Bond’s predilections for enjoying the “finest” things life has to offer.  I think a fine watch is part of the character makeup for depicting Bond as a suave and “smooth operator.”  …
About the reviewer
John Nelson ()
Ranked #8
Born in Wausau Wisconsin. Move at an early age to Ventura California and lived for 8 years. Growing up in a big city landscape didn't prepare me for my next move: Archbold Ohio with a population of … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
TheJohn
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki


Octopussy (1983) is the thirteenth spy film in the James Bond series, and the sixth to star Roger Moore as the fictional MI6 agent James Bond. The film's title is taken from Ian Fleming's 1966 short story Octopussy and The Living Daylights. However, the film's story is original and the short story is narrated as a flashback by the main Bond girl Octopussy. In the film, Bond is assigned the task of following a general who is stealing jewels and relics from the Russian government. This leads him to a wealthy Afghan prince, Kamal Khan, and his associate, Octopussy. Bond uncovers a plot to force disarmament in Europe with the use of a nuclear weapon.

Produced by Albert R. Broccoli and Michael G. Wilson, Octopussy was released in the same year as the non-EON Bond film Never Say Never Again. Written by George MacDonald Fraser, Richard Maibaum, and Michael G. Wilson, the film was directed by John Glen.

view wiki

Details

Genre: Action, Adventure
Release Date: June 10, 1983
Runtime: 131 minutes
Studio: United Artists
Polls with this movie
A View to a Kill

Bond Flicks

by

A View to a Kill

Best Roger Moore Bond film

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists