|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » One Missed Call (aka. Chakushin ari, 2003) » User review

One Missed Call (aka. Chakushin ari, 2003)

Japanese Horror Film Directed By Takashi Miike

< read all 4 reviews

One Last Draw

  • Sep 25, 2011
  • by
Rating:
+2
One can feel the J-Horror bubble burst while viewing this.

A fine plot is poorly advanced by its derivative premise: college kids receive voicemail recordings via cell phone of their own impending deaths, all of which inevitably occur. This film's first act advances dully as useless characters are predictably dispatched, and only becomes intriguing as it approaches the source of this mayhem - a deceptively simple instance of familial abuse. Those first plodding forty minutes are redeemed by the final half-hour, essentially a protracted conclusion that confounds prediction until the credits roll.

Ichi the Killer and Sukiyaki Western Django proved that Miike's talent and versatile sense of humor can't overcome fundamentally asinine scripts. This tale's uneven quality isn't at all ameliorated by his stylistic trademarks: gorgeous photography and knotty editing as executed by his two most talented recurring collaborators, Hideo Yamamoto and Yasushi Shimamura. For every seat-jumping shock or creepy twist that Miike lands, three result in risible duds that'll roll back any horror enthusiast's eyes. Etsuko Egawa's macabre makeup effects are superb, yet occasionally undone by middling CG, the efficacy of which differs from one effects shot to the next.

Despite their two-dimensional characters, the principal cast is quite good, despite having too little to do in the film's sluggish introductory stage. Until her departure, doomed Kazue Fukiishi steals the show from star Ko Shibasaki with a performance so redolent of dread that one can taste her apprehension. Unknowns in lesser roles shine especially bright as sadistic parents and unwitting victims; again, Miike incites verisimilar barbarity from his cast.

Yasushi Akimoto's novel on which this movie was based was essentially a well-crafted rip-off of Koji Suzuki's Ring. Miike can't be fairly blamed for exploiting familiar imagery and conditions pertaining to Onryo, but his best efforts only elevate this entry a notch above mediocrity. The genre so popularly revitalized by Ishii and Nakata was delivered to its creative apex by K. Kurosawa two years before this, and despite its box office success, it only breathed the last worthy gasp of a now-depleted cinematic phenomenon.

It was fun while it lasted.
One Last Draw

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
September 25, 2011
This is a fantastic reviewsie, Snuudles! ^-^ It's poupy that the movie is poupy, heehee :P That girlsie is prettysie, thoughsies, at least, heheee! ^-^ I'd still watchie it with you if you wantie, heehee! ^-^ YOU are cuuuuuute! ^-^ Heehee! ^-^ Muu ^-^

*snugglesnus*
*rubs nosies & cheekies*
*juicy yummy kissssssies* ^-^

♥ Annusya ♥
September 25, 2011
If you can tolerate the tedium of its approximate first third, it's not without its rewards. If you're so inclined, I'd afford it another viewing. Unfortunately, my copy is further marred by horrible subtitles.

*pips*
*poops*
*snuus*
September 25, 2011
Suresies! ^-^ I don't mind the subtitlesies, heehee! ^-^ I just want to snuggle uppie with youuuu, heehee! ^-^ Muu! ^-^

*sweet pip kissies*
*pouuuupsies* ^-^
*smuuuuchie snuuus* ^-^

♥ Annusya ♥
September 26, 2011
Actually, I can edit this subtitle file with a text editor, but any excuse to snuggle with my Darling Snus is valid! *smackersmooches* *wubblebubs* *rawr*
September 26, 2011
Ohh, heehee! :D Muu! :D I LOVE Snugglingsie with *My* Darling Snus, YOU! ^-^ Heehee! ^-^ Muu! ^-^

*clings to you like a koalasie*
*rubs nosies & cheekies & kissies*
*juicy yummy kissssssssssies* ^-^

♥ Annusya ♥
 
1
More One Missed Call (aka. Chakushi... reviews
review by . April 04, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
** out of ****     Here is a film that was almost on the good side of decent, but staggered right from the start. This causes the admittedly ambitious premise to go to nigh complete waste, and this also causes Takashi Miike's "One Missed Call" to come a bit short when it comes to scares, entertainment, story, characters, or anything, for the matter.    Yet, this is not quite a bad film. It's about a mysterious phone-call that people keep getting. The voice …
review by . November 23, 2009
posted in ASIANatomy
Takashi Miike's Japanese Horror Original That Says Cell Phones Can be Hazardous To One's Health!
                                   Cult horror favorite Takashi Miike takes on a more mainstream J-horror movie with “ONE MISSED CALL” (aka. Chakushin Ari, 2003) and yes, the film is a little different from Miike’s other films such as the brilliant “Audition” and the unnervingly almost satiric “Visitor Q”; “One Missed …
review by . February 18, 2008
posted in Movie Hype
Every time I hear that America is redoing any film I automatically know that I have to see the original first. I'm not hating on my own country but hey, they don't always get it right. So when I saw the preview for One Last Call I seriously thought that maybe this could quite possibly be one of the dumbest movies ever made. If you think about it the movie is like the little girl from "The Ring" has become lord of the cell phones. You can't lie and say that it doesn't sound like that but hey sometimes …
About the reviewer
Robert Buchanan ()
Ranked #30
I'm a bibliophile, ailurophile, inveterate aggregator, dedicated middlebrow and anastrophizing syntax addict. My personality type is that of superlative INTJ.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
rbuchanan
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Details

Director: Takashi Miike
Genre: Horror, Mystery
Release Date: 2003.11.3 (Tokyo International Film Festival), 2003.12.5 (Sitges Film Festival), 2004.1.17
MPAA Rating: R
Screen Writer: Minako Daira
Runtime: 112 minutes
Studio: Kadokawa-Daiei Eiga K.K.
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists