|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Planet of the Apes - The Ultimate DVD Collection » User review

Planet of the Apes - The Ultimate DVD Collection

Action & Adventure and Animation movie directed by David Comtois, Don Taylor, Franklin J. Schaffner, J. Lee Thompson, and Kevin Burns

< read all 1 reviews

Complete Collection of Planet of the Apes DVDs

  • Mar 29, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
You simply cannot beat this collection of Planet of the Apes DVDs. It literally has every single thing you could possibly want. It has the original movie, which was outstanding and really is the best individual movie of the entire genre. It has all five of the sequels, which at times border on the cheesy, but if you are an Apes fan and loved them as a kid, you'll certainly want these as well. It has the ENTIRE television series, which I loved as a kid. It has all the animated (cartoon) series, which I don't care for too much. And it has the 2001 remake of the original Planet of the Apes. And finally, it has a disc with all bonus features.

All the discs are of very high quality reproduction with no problems.

You just can't beat having such a comprehensive collection that includes everything you would want if you are a Planet of the Apes fan, and then some.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
1
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
March 30, 2009
Does it have the making of the original movie documentary too? That would make it the absolutely most complete thing you could ever buy on the APES. Roddy McDowall hosted it and it was included with the last set that was issued.
March 30, 2009
Yes, it certainly does. It has EVERYTHING!
March 30, 2009
I am in awe. This is the one we've all been waiting for.
March 30, 2009
It is definately worth getting.
March 30, 2009
I plan on getting it as soon as it becomes affordable, meaning it turns up used on amazon. So it may take a good long time but I'm learning to wait since I no longer have any other choice.
March 30, 2009
If I run across one I'll let you know.
March 30, 2009
Thanks. But its go to be dirt cheap.
 
1
About the reviewer
About this movie

Wiki

Amazon com
While provoking neither the decades of spin-offs of the Star Trek franchise or the cultural staying power of the Star Wars universe, Planet of the Apes nonetheless lives in the hearts of many a Sunday afternoon TV-watcher. A high water mark for prosthetic movie magic, this primate-vs-man epic--spanning four movies, a TV series, and an animated series--was as integral to the 1970s as Led Zeppelin or muscle cars. So how to properly pay tribute to a science fiction franchise about intelligent apes roaming a post-apocalyptic earth?

In a freaking ape head boxed set, man.

It's true. 20th Century Fox packaged the entire run--movies, TV series, animated series, and the 2001 Tim Burton remake--in Caesar's head. Actually, the 14 discs are efficiently packaged in a fold-out book that slides into the bust's back. The bust is smartly dressed in green canvas, with zippers that don't actually lead to pockets. The hair is a luxurious mane that could have been wasted on at least three toupes. Put this masterpiece of DVD packaging on a shelf and watch it catch the gaze of everyone who walks into the room. Unfortunately, the set does not come with any supplemental reading material; an essay or two on the impact of Planet of the Apes would have been nice. The set is limited to 10,000 copies and comes with a numbered certificate of authenticity. For those who don't want to commit to the full ape head experience, most of the discs in this set--sans the animated series, TV show, and ...

view wiki

Details

Genre: Animation, Action, Adventure
DVD Release Date: March 28, 2006
Runtime: 1564 minutes
Studio: 20th Century Fox
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists