|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Porn Star: The Legend of Ron Jeremy » User review

Entertaining & Humorous

  • May 26, 2009
Rating:
+4
First & foremost, you don't have to like pornography or documentaries necessarily to find this docu film enjoyable. In fact, it may very well give viewers an inside (no pun intended) look at one of America's happiest men. How many men wouldn't love to be in Ron Jeremy's shoes for a day?

Porn Star succeeds on many levels as it's honest & has little to hide as far as the industry goes in the eyes of Mr. Jeremy. Ron Jeremy speaks candidly in front of the camera & is always fun to watch. If you aren't careful, you might learn a few things through a series of interviews with friends & those who've known or loved Ron. Porn Star gives a very solid image of who Jeremy truly is which perhaps could break down many of our inevitable misconceptions. 

Jeremy is not only a legend in the adult film industry (having made thousands of skin flicks) but he is a big cult figure in the mainstream entertainment business as well. It's extremely rare to see an actor in the adult film industry do well in mainstream cinema but this is Jeremy's ultimate dream & one can't help but hope all will work in the long run for the big guy. We also get a glimpse of Ron's earliest childhood memories that are very poignant & heartfelt.
 
In between the interviews or candid talk with Jeremy,viewers are treated to some clips from his body (no pun intended once again) of work which could easily stand beside some of the greatest moments in B-movie history & even a little bit of animation for giggles and laughs. It's almost hard to believe that at one time the adult cinema closely resembles what are now considered campy films or cult classics.

In some ways, Porn Star is similar to a reality tv show as viewers have the distinct pleasure of watching Ron during his everyday activites such as traveling or being tested for sexually transmitted diseases at a local health clinic.

Although I've never been a fan of documentaries as a general rule of thumb, Porn Star is  insightful & funny throughout. I've seen this film several times since purcahsing my own copy last year in February. If you dig documentaries, this is most definately the film you'll want to see. If you don't like documentaries, this is a wonderful place to start. If only all documentaries could be this interesting, right?
Entertaining & Humorous Entertaining & Humorous Entertaining & Humorous

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
4
Fun to Read
4
Well-Organized
4
Post a Comment
November 27, 2009
Nice review, bud. Jeremy has indeed made his name not just in the industry but in cult flicks. Have you seenONE EYED MONSTER yet? Pretty funny horror flick.
November 28, 2009
Haven't seen either one actually but I do recall your review. Man, that was hilarious yo! LOL Thnks buds!
 
May 26, 2009
Good choice. I've thought of reviewing this one myself. I actually found it a bit sad because Jeremy will never find the acceptance that some female stars have in mainstream films--and there have been precious few of those. Nice job...I meant you're review, not Jeremy's.
May 27, 2009
Other than Jenna or maybe someone like Marilyn Chambers, most of the infamous porn stars I've read about lead very tragic lives. I also was rather moved by this documentary & I actually rather like Ron Jeremy. I've missed the chance to meet him twice in person but had a friend of the family who actually managed to obtain an autograph recently. Thanks again! I actually thought about doing one other docu review for the film The Cream Will Rise. This is the docu drama about Sophie B. Hawkins which really shows what a turbulent life that some stars live. Perhaps I will use that one as the basis for a future review.
May 27, 2009
Ginger Lynn (Allen) comes to mind when you talk about that too. She tried to cross over and failed and has the whole tragic story going. Tracy Lords is perhaps the only one I can think of who has had any real success. Jeremy could have done it but he went about it in all the wrong ways. He is such a likeable guy.
May 27, 2009
Hmm, I know I've seen or heard of Ginger Lynn Allen before. I had read about Traci Lords for years when I was younger. Her story was quite interesting too. Supposedly she was making adult films at the tender age of 14. How in the world did she manage to stay in the industry that long without someone finding out?
May 28, 2009
She was in some really low budget stuff around 1986 and for a couple of years after that. Most recently she did bit parts in AMERICAN PIE--BAND CAMP, the second VAN WILDER movie, and THE DEVIL'S REJECTS so you have seen her at least once! She's probably most famous for hanging with Charlie Sheen for a couple of years and going into drug treatment with him. She would up going back into porn. Tracy Lords is probably best explained by "Don't ask, don't tell".
May 29, 2009
Ok, now I remember her. Yeah, she had a cameo appearance in the earlier part of the film with the character Captain Spaulding. Haven't seen Band Camp or Van Wilder as of yet. Yeah, Traci Lords got in & got out in the nick of time. Things have changed quite a bit in that industry since then. Smiles
May 30, 2009
I've never actually seen much hardcore, except for a spoof of Star Trek called SEX TREK,that included the tubby version of Ron Jeremy as Scotty, I think. It was as funny as anything I've seen at a convention if you took the sex scenes out.
I've seen a couple of different R rated cuts of John Holmes in DRACULA SUCKS--in one of 'em you actually got a pretty good view of something you didn't normally see back then. Then of course there was the R rated version of FLESH GORDON. I've sometimes wondered about the X version of that one. The Penisaurus was such a hoot.
May 30, 2009
I'm not much into the hardcore myself really. FLESH GORDON is awesome! I think I've got the unrated version on DVD though I'm not sure what was edited in order to obtain the R-rating back then. I liked the first two Devil In Ms. Jones films. The second one was actually pretty funny. I've heard of Sex Trek & had wanted to see this but never did for some reason. Strangely enough, I've never seen anything with John Holmes but Dracula Sucks sounds like it might be kinda fun.
May 30, 2009
A lot would have been edited from FLESH GORDON to get the R since it was made at the time the pron industry was trying to do crossovers and it was originally made as a hardcore film and then edited to an R for general release too.
May 30, 2009
Hmm, I think the film was quite racy but I don't remember anything explicit per se. Maybe there is anotehr cut out there which has never been released? Not sure. Very funny film & highly entertaining though. I really did enjoy that one. There was a sequel which I think went directly to video but I didn't care much for it. The original was such a classic & those were some pretty big shoes to fill.
May 30, 2009
Yeah there was a Part 2, but it was made a very long time afterwards and I didn't even bother seeing it because word of mouth was so bad on it.
May 30, 2009
Trust me, you didn't miss much really. I sold my copy after viewing it once but still own the original. Flesh Gordon is a keeper.
 
1
About the reviewer
Brian ()
Ranked #28
I've spent years trying to make others happy & not really focusing on what's most important in my own life. Having said that, my own health & security are paramount so now I'm more … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
cenobite7
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Details

Cast: Ron Jeremy
Genre: Documentary
Release Date: November 30, 2001
MPAA Rating: R
Runtime: 1hr 15min
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists