|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Public Enemies (2009 movie) » User review

Teaser poster

2009 gangster film, directed by Michael Mann, and starring Johnny Depp and Christian Bale.

< read all 9 reviews

"I'm John Dillinger and I rob banks!"

  • Jul 10, 2010
Rating:
+5
When this movie came on TV tonight, I was pleasantly surprised. I had heard and read the tragic story of John Dillinger all my life and since I missed Public Enemies (Single-Disc Edition) when it came out in 1999, I stayed riveted to the TV.

With a nation-wide man-hunt on for Public Enemy No. One, notorious bank robber John Dillinger, this drama takes the viewer along for the bloody, horrific ride. Throughout the tense action of brutal bank robberies, street warfare with Tommy-guns blazing in all directions, harrowing prison breakouts and life-and-death chases through eerie woods, I felt like I was "inside" the action.

There isn't much humor in this movie, but what little there is comes from Dillinger himself who is endearingly cocky and overly confident. When he first meets and falls for beautiful coat-check girl Billie Frechette and she asks what he does, he says, "I'm John Dillinger and I rob banks." In that context, I couldn't help but laugh.

Another show of wit was when he sang "I'm headed for the last roundup," which struck me as humorous in an ironic way... Dark humor...or was it prophetic?

Johnny Depp is brilliant in this role; he not only plays the part of Dillinger, he is the man! He's a smart, methodical man who outwits the FBI at every turn...except the last one, of course. His, posture, facial expressions and entire performance are "dead on" to how I think Dillinger would be. Although I abhor his crimes, I feel some sympathy for the hunted, haunted man.

I found it odd that many citizens of that Depression era actually made a "hero" of him, which made for some rather "touching" scenes. One thing can be said for Dillinger, he was loyal to his gang and to his "love," Billie Frechette, sympathetically portrayed by actress Marion Cotillard. Christian Bale was also excellent with his tight-lipped portrayal of FBI Special Agent Melvin Purvis, the man credited with bringing Dillinger down. (The FBI also targeted Pretty Boy Floyd and Baby Face Nelson.)

I admired the agent who kept Dillinger's last, whispered words a secret from the other agents and delivered them to Billie personally. Whether this really happened or was "movie drama" I don't know, but I cried when Billie cried. I bet you will "tear up" when you hear what Dillinger said too. A sad ending, to be sure, but it ended the only way it could--with the message that must be delivered: Crime does not pay!

I agree with Kathleen C. Fennessy from Amazon's product description who says, "...it's still the best mainstream gangster epic in ages and ranks among Mann's finest works." Kudos to Director Michael Mann for his incredible eye for detail and superb casting. A solid five stars for this realistic, exciting movie.

Endnote: The movie is set in the golden era of bank robbers, a time when law enforcement struggled through its dark ages. Police departments were out-manned and outgunned, and J. Edgar Hoover's FBI agents were outsmarted. By the time Dillinger was killed outside a Chicago movie theater on July 22, 1934, his gang of yeggs--the era's name for bank robbers--had stolen tens of thousands of dollars from uninsured banks and shot about a dozen people, including police officers. The movie plays up Dillinger's life in Chicago, his robberies and his charisma, but it also glosses over several key robberies in my home state of Ohio. When I was a kid in Ohio, it was rumored that Dillinger hid-out in my hometown of Hamilton between robberies. A claim to fame? I think not!

Reviewed by Betty Dravis, July 10, 2010
Author of "Dream Reachers" (with Chase Von) and other books

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
August 07, 2010
Thanks for your kind remarks, Woopy! So great to see you here. xo
 
August 07, 2010
I liked this one myself, it wasn't so detailed with Dillinger's background but it was quite entertaining. Thanks, Betty!
 
1
More Public Enemies (2009 movie) reviews
review by . August 09, 2011
WARNING: THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS      As Michael Mann is no stranger to the topic of career criminals, it seems as though John Dillinger's famous two-year crime spree would be the ideal subject for a filmmaker whose best work has often focused on tragic, principled professional felons. Dillinger burned hot and fast, and the brisk pace of this feature's 140-minute running time reflects the rush of his famous final years. However, Mann's attempts to romanticize …
review by . July 05, 2009
posted in Movie Hype
poster
   Director Michael Mann’s “PUBLIC ENEMIES” is based on the conscientiously researched book by Bryan Burroughs that chronicles the epic manhunt for infamous bank robber John Dillinger. The movie is faithful to its source material, it offers nothing else but an abstract impression on the life of the notorious criminal and misses the mark in becoming an intimate docudrama. Set during the depression era; a period when outlaws like Dillinger were seen and envied as rebellious …
review by . July 13, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Michael Mann's gone from being an innovator in what is often called the Mtv style of the 80's (think pastels and rain-soaked streets) to one of the most forthcoming in the use of digital video. Whether you liked his 2006 Miami Vice revamp (like me) or hated it (like everyone else), one thing that must be acknowledged is that it doesn't look like any other flick. The smoothness of movement in the format (accentuated by Mann's often questionable choice of having it overtly handheld …
review by . July 04, 2009
   Those who liked Leo DiCaprio's Aviator will love this film with Johnny Depp as Dillinger and Christian Bale as the relentless Melvin Purviss who is perusing him. The movie is filled with jailbreaks, bank robberies old fashioned shootouts (though it seems that nobody every chases fleeing felons in cars).       Incredibly interesting the way Mann presents the birth of the FBI. The agents use Sherlock Holmes type tactics (the agents would make perfect computer geeks …
Quick Tip by . July 26, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Johnny Depp delivers in this beautifully shot movie. Many people might be suprised at the pace of the movie, which is slower than an action movie, which is not how I would classify the movie. It is an excellent portrayal of the period.
Quick Tip by . January 23, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Mann's uneven film biopic of the gangster John Dillinger. Nice cast, but lacks depth. Ultimately not a bad film but not a great film either.
Quick Tip by . December 22, 2009
Watched this on the plane, just not my kinda movie although it's probably a guy's favorite.
About the reviewer
Betty Dravis ()
Ranked #165
BETTY DRAVIS was born in Hamilton, Ohio, one of seven children of John and Felda Barger. Her natural writing ability was nurtured by a “great Ohio school system, caring teachers, and a loving family.” … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
bettydravis
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Stills from Public Enemies (Click for larger image)

Public Enemies is a 2009 film directed by Michael Mann, an adaptation of Bryan Burrough's non-fiction book Public Enemies: America's Greatest Crime Wave and the Birth of the FBI, 1933–34.

The crime drama is set during the Great Depression with the focus on the FBI agent Melvin Purvis's attempt to stop criminals John Dillinger, Baby Face Nelson, and Pretty Boy Floyd. Christian Bale plays FBI agent Purvis, Johnny Depp plays Dillinger, Academy Award-winner Marion Cotillard (La Vie en rose) plays Dillinger's girlfriend Billie Frechette, and Channing Tatum plays Pretty Boy Floyd. Principal photography began in Columbus, Wisconsin on March 17, 2008[4] and continued in Chicago, Illinois; Oshkosh, Wisconsin; Beaver Dam, Wisconsin; Milwaukee, Wisconsin; Madison, Wisconsin; and several other places in Wisconsin until the end of June 2008, including the Little Bohemia Lodge in Manitowish Waters, Wisconsin, the actual location of a 1934 gun fight between Dillinger and the FBI.[5] Some parts of the film were shot in Crown Point, Indiana, the town where Dillinger was imprisoned and subsequently escaped from jail.

view wiki

Details

Director: Michael Mann
Genre: Action, Crime, Drama
Release Date: July 01, 2009
MPAA Rating: R
Screen Writer: Michael Mann, Ann Biderman
Runtime: 140 minutes
Studio: Universal Studios, Relativity Media, Forward Pass, Misher Films, Tribeca Productions, Appian Way, Dentsu
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists