|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Repo! The Genetic Opera » User review

Things You See In A Graveyard

  • Jul 21, 2009
Rating:
+4

I've always tried my absolute best to be one of the first to check out cult films. In fact, people come to me looking for recommendations or with queries as far as the cult cinema is concerned. Repo is one of the few films I've had the distinct pleasure of viewing this year which I wish I'd seen on the big screen. This is, by far, one of the greater films made in the past several years which truly deserves it's instant cult status & I'm hoping one of the theatres in my local town will do a midnight showing of this film sometime soon as simply watching the DVD is a flat-out insult to the makers.

Finally, the rock opera made it's grand return sadly to limited theatres in November 2008 of only seven theatres. The film took in $3,250 per screen on its opening day.  Repo also had a limited Canadian release, playing in Toronto from November 21-27, 2008. The DVD and Blu-ray were released January 20, 2009. To coincide with the film's release, Bousman, Smith, and Zdunich, as well as various cast members, did a touring version of the film. Because of strong ticket sales, a second and third touring session were added, in addition to a British tour across four locations. A Repo! Road Show was announced on January 28 in 10 cities. This show will be similar to the Repo! Road Tour, except it will be almost completely fan-run.

Set in the not so distant future 26 years after an epidemic of organ failures plagued the planet, a bio-tech company by the name of GeneCo emerged to provide organ transplants to the needy populace on a financial plan, making it affordable to anyone who needed one. Unfortunately, this seemingly wonderful finance plan is nothing at all like your standard car loan as those who miss their payments for 90 days are scheduled for repossession & hunted by villainous Repo Men. They do not call nor write if you miss your payments.

Repo! The Genetic Opera was undoubtedly compared to all the infamous rock operas such as Rocky Horror Picture Show or even Sweeney Todd with good reason. There are elements of each film which will ultimately remind viewers of many cult films we loved through the years but perhaps missed out on seeing in theatres.
 
Unlike many films being made which strain themselves for cult status, Repo seems to be content with staying true to it's dark & gritty nature with liberal doses of humor dispersed throughout.  Repo will likely strike the same nerve with it's core audience that Sweeney Todd struck with the demon barber who slits the throats of his patrons only to use their remains in  meat pies. The Genetic opera also cleverly takes a stab (no pun intended) at our worst fears concerning the health care system and gleefully manages to go all the way in the high gore department while still managing to make us gag & laugh.

Repo! is definitely not for all tastes. The lovers (fans of goth/industrial or cult films) will praise the film of course & try to attend any live events whereas the critics are going to hate it with a true passion. Either way, it's definitely an experience that needs to be had although probability suggests all the 'wannabe' good movies will continue to flood your multiplexes while films like Repo! will only be granted very limited releases.  See it in the theatre if you can or go out & purchase yourself a copy today!     
Things You See In A Graveyard Things You See In A Graveyard Things You See In A Graveyard Things You See In A Graveyard Things You See In A Graveyard

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
18
Thought-Provoking
18
Fun to Read
18
Well-Organized
18
Post a Comment
October 07, 2010
Such a shame that more films aren't reaching beyond the usual Hollywood baubles. Repo managed to feel both fresh and familiar. Great write up! :o) wishing you laughter
October 25, 2010
Wow. Thanks! Yeah, it's a sad state of affairs when we can't expect more films like this to compensate us or reimburse for the lackluster Hollywood junk which floods our multiplex. Something fresh and original like Repo is rarely ever seen or doesn't have much shelf life unfortunately. Ever seen Otto: Or Up With Dead People? That's another example of great cinema which doesn't fit into any cookie cutter pattern thankfully and you might like that one also.
 
July 30, 2009
A friend of mine sited this as one of her favorite films last year, so I've been wanting to see it like crazy, because she and I have very similar tastes. How does this film stack up against the reigning cult classic musical "The Rocky Horror Picture Show"? I saw that both you and Trashie mention it in your reviews, but neither of you explained your basis for the comparison other than to say it has a cultish quality and crazy plot and rock music.
July 30, 2009
Overall, this is one of the most creative films I've seen in a long time & I definitely think you would probably appreciate it if anyone could. I wouldn't go so far as to say it's better than Rocky Horror or Sweeney Todd but Repo! is still worth your time irregardless. Let me know if you check it out & what your thoughts are. ;-)~
July 30, 2009
Well, not only can you count on me giving you my thoughts on it (you should know me well enough by now to realize that I always voice my opinions even when no one's listening) and I very likely will review it once I've seen it too.
July 30, 2009
I do look forward to seeing your write up on Repo! even if we don't agree. Your opinions are heard, trust me. I do love your writing style and often our tastes are similar in most respects so I would expect nothing less than a ten page review of the modern cult classic. ;-)~
July 30, 2009
Ten? Yikes, that's a tall order. Five maybe, but I usually reserve those 5+ page reviews for books or for the films that fall into my "All-Time Greatest Movies" category. However, I do have some very long reviews coming up that should cause quite a stir. Reviews # 130-150 will be a blast, if I ever get around to finishing them...
July 30, 2009
Hehe. Just kidding dude. Even so, I would be interested in reading your take on this film & of course the 'lengthy" ones that we can expect to see in the future. I am currently fresh out of ideas for items to review. I'm getting tired of falling into that Horror niche & so I'm writing reviews on celebrities as well as food now. LOL
July 31, 2009
Well, I'd love to see you review some music or books, you know. Something out of the ordinary.
August 04, 2009
I wrote one review for the novel Yargo. I really had a good time with that one but not sure which ones I will review next. I am also in the process of debating which artists or groups to write about in the wonderful world of music. ;-)
 
July 26, 2009
Okay, yeah, it's gonna go on the list.
July 28, 2009
It's certainly worth a look. You may not be ready to purchase but a rental is definitely in order I think. Please let me know if you enjoy it.
July 29, 2009
It's on the list although I can't say for sure when I'll ge to it. I move things around daily, depending on my mood. Although I usually try to have a foreign film (usually Bollywood because they're just short of 3 hours long) for the weekend.
July 29, 2009
I haven't seen much of the Bollywood films but I should check out a few. There was a curb market not too far from my old home run by a family from Pakistan that sold DVDs for around $5. They were usually very funny films often with the element of Horror. I don't know where you can get them online but they were an entertaining batch of films for sure & I believe you would've loved them. Since I moved away, I think the store closed which kinda sucks.
July 29, 2009
I'm currently trying to sample various leading men. I've found that I like Shah Rukh Khan a lot, lots of charm, not so much in the looks department. For awhile I confused Amitabh Bachchan with Abishek Bachchan--I'm getting better with names now which makes reading the NetFlix blurbs a lot easier. I thought they were the same guy. It seems like everybody in Bollywood is named either Kapoor, Bachchan, Roshan, Khan, or Kumar. They actually joke about this is OM SHANTI OM.
July 30, 2009
Oh wow, you really know the names. I haven't done my homework on Bollywood cinema yet so I've some catching up to do for sure. I've always been a fan of indies or Foreign cinema as a genral rule of thumb and knew that we were missing so much good stuff here in the states. The question up until recently was just where to go in hopes of attaining some of the good stuff.
July 30, 2009
I'm starting to pick up on the outside fringe. I still like the fluffy fun stuff, but I have seen some of the more serious stuff too. In OM SHANTI OM there's a scene where 25 or some stars come to a party and they all get a little dance segment. I only recognized 3 or 4.
July 30, 2009
So, does anything in Bollywood resemble Slumdog Millionaire aside from some of their musical numbers?
July 30, 2009
Very little. There wasn't even a musical number in SLUMDOG.
July 30, 2009
Well, just the ending where the credits are rolling. That dance number was entertaining although I didn't really think it fit with the movie atmosphere.
July 30, 2009
It was just the credits. I don't know everybody got so upset about that. It was just the actors having fun. It did show that everybody can dance though. The credits for OM SHANTI OM has nearly everyone associated with the film dancing down the red carpet--best boys, make up department, scores and scores of people all dancing.
 
July 25, 2009
Heard a lot about this, even Trashie there gave it high marks. However, woopak doesn't do musicals. I liked Sweeney Todd until they started singing... great review anyhoo.
July 25, 2009
I think you might still find this entertaining even though you don't do musicals. I'm not much of a musical fan myself but this was one of the more original feats in 2008 that really grabbed my attention. Give it a whirl sometime man. ;-) Thanks a million for the compliment bro.
 
1
More Repo! The Genetic Opera reviews
review by . April 29, 2011
posted in Cult Cinema
"Repo: The Genetic Opera" is one of the worst musicals ever to hit theaters. Directed by "Saw II" helmer Darren Lynn Bousman, the film is a hybrid of "Saw" and "The Sound of Music", with visually ugly and narratively clumsy results. This movie is a mess from start to finish, hoping to catch our attention with talented actors in bad roles, bad music that never had potential, and CGI that might just look pretty if this disaster could have gotten the "gothic horror" look right.    I …
review by . September 22, 2010
posted in Cult Cinema
Pros: unique, catchy songs, interesting story and characters, universal themes      Cons: dark, bloody, uneven pacing, difficult to follow layout      The Bottom Line: This is opera as you've never seen it before!      Plot Details: This opinion reveals minor details about the movie''s plot.    In the not too distant future, an epidemic threatens humanity causing organ failures. GeneCo arises as the savior of the …
review by . September 22, 2010
Pros: unique, catchy songs, interesting story and characters, universal themes     Cons: dark, bloody, uneven pacing, difficult to follow layout     The Bottom Line: This is opera as you've never seen it before!     Plot Details: This opinion reveals minor details about the movie''s plot.   In the not too distant future, an epidemic threatens humanity causing organ failures. GeneCo arises as the savior of the human race by developing …
review by . August 10, 2010
Time shall unfold what plaited cunning hides (King Lear 1.1)
"It's almost Shakespearean," I said.   "Comedia de l'arte," Lady Dinwhistle replied.   "Grand guignol."   I was out of theatre references so I turned my attention back to the movie.  I got an A in high school drama but there was no use in trying to one-up a girl with a degree in musical theatre.  To my relief Lady D was fully engrossed in Repo! and wasn't listening to me anymore.      There's …
review by . February 26, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
I thought the title sounded cheesy, but a friend with similar tastes recommended it so highly I had to rent it. Then I had to buy it. Now I just had to buy it in blu-ray in addition to the soundtrack, that is how addicted to this musical I am! When I first heard the title, I thought it was something to do with Repoing cars, but it is body parts, which makes all the difference. I am a gore fan, and there is plenty to go around. Add to that a brilliant musical score that has something for everyone, …
About the reviewer
Brian ()
Ranked #28
I've spent years trying to make others happy & not really focusing on what's most important in my own life. Having said that, my own health & security are paramount so now I'm more … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
cenobite7
Your ratings:
May
May
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Repo! The Genetic Opera is a 2008 United States rock opera-musical film directed by Darren Lynn Bousman. The film is based on a play written and composed by Darren Smith and Terrance Zdunich.

The film opened in a very limited release on November 7, 2008. Originally, it opened on seven screens in the United States cities of Pasadena; Chicago; Mobile; Charlotte; Kansas City; and Toronto and Ottawa in Canada. The film took in $3,250 per screen on its opening day. It also had a limited Canadian release, playing in Toronto from November 21-27, 2008. A 22-track soundtrack was released online on September 30, 2008, with an extended version containing 38 tracks released almost exclusively for download on February 20, 2009. The DVD and Blu-ray were released January 20, 2009.

To coincide with the film's release, Bousman, Smith, and Zdunich, as well as various cast members, did a touring version of the film. Principal cast and crew also did extensive Q&A sessions following each screening. Because of strong ticket sales, a second and third touring session were added, in addition to a British tour across four locations. A Repo! Road Show was announced on January 28 in 10 cities. This show will be similar to the Repo! Road Tour, except it will be almost completely fan-run.

view wiki

Details

Genre: Music, Musical
Release Date: September 19, 2008
MPAA Rating: R
Screen Writer: Terrance Zdunich, Darren Smith
DVD Release Date: January 20, 2009
Runtime: 98 minutes
Studio: Twisted Pictures, Lions Gate
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists