|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

A Quick Tip by woopak_the_thrill

  • Mar 30, 2012
Ok, a friend lent me the collection and I am on episode 7. However, I am really having a hard time working through this anime series. “Sekirei” is one of those anime series that may be more at home in Japan or for pervy teenagers. The direction is pretty odd. It has several mature themes, a lot of nudity and sexual references, and yet the tempo of the series borders on comedic silliness that may seem cute, that I cannot help but roll my eyes with it.

The series is about 'sekireis' who develop their powers upon choosing their male companion. It does have a subtle commentary on how females have the power to change a world, that it is their reliance to male leadership that holds them back. It is all about these so-called “sekireis” who can either become evil or good depending on their chosen male ‘master’. It ironic that one male is so smitten with a sekirei that he would be the servant if she so chose. I guess it also conveys a message that men can be so dumb when in the presence of a beautiful woman. There is also some messages about how some women desire to be independent from a 'chosen one', probably a hint of feminism around it.

So far, the action is alright, but the anime series itself feels more geared to titillation than actually developing the potentials of the script through exciting fight scenes. The core premise seems interesting, but the way it is directed is really not a style I prefer. It is like "Naruto" blended with "Ikki Tousen". Ok, granted that I am still on episode 7, but I am not sure if I have to strength to follow through with the series. To its credit, while it is so bad and annoying, but it does leave an impression on me that it is hard to take my eyes off the screen (better than Hellgirl). My 2/5 star rating is based on my viewing of the first 7 episodes. I am really not its target audience.

Caption
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
15
Post a Comment
April 09, 2012
Guess I will skip this one.
April 09, 2012
yeah, I have 5 more episodes to go to finish season one and I cannot do it any longer.
 
March 31, 2012
I'm not touching this one with a 20 foot pole. I'm with MadPenguin here, it's anime like this that's pushing me into pursuing a career in creating comic books. Great QT!!
March 31, 2012
Hey, a career in comic books would be great! Thanks, David!
March 31, 2012
You're welcome, William!!
 
March 30, 2012
Yeah...I think I'll pass on this one.
March 31, 2012
I don't think this would be for you either, Steph.
March 31, 2012
Well, I don't mind fanservice as long as there's a good story to go with it, but wow, if that pic is any indication, even the animation and character designs don't look very good.
March 31, 2012
Agreed. I managed to see it up to episode 7, now I am wondering if I should just cut my losses and skip the next episodes.
 
March 30, 2012
Hmm. Never heard of this one, but I'm not a big follower of anime. The premise sounded kinda interesting, though ... maybe even a little sexist ... but what anime ISN'T a little sexist? LOL.
March 31, 2012
LOL! most of them are. The anime quality I have grown to love in the past have fallen to more commercial influences I guess.
 
1
About the reviewer
William ()
Ranked #1
Please "Like" Film and Movies and Keep the Economy strong....LOL!!      My Interests: Movies, Anime, History, Martial Arts, Comics, Entertainment,Cooking, Things I don't … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
woopak_the_thrill
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

You’ve seen a million shows where heroes go toe-to-toe, now feast your eyes only the only anime where hot girls with super powers settle their differences chest-to-chest!

Minato had no luck with the ladies until the day a well-rounded warrior babe named Musubi fell into his life and crushed his face with her ginormous cleavage. Hunted by a stunning pair of twin sisters, Musubi was searching for the right guy to give her a squeeze and unlock the hidden powers lurking beneath her ample assets. Minato fit the bill, and now he’s caught in the middle of a supernatural slugfest where voluptuous vixens take turns beating each others’ clothes off! Only one of these bodacious brawlers will come out on top, but the unbridled excitement of watching them go at it makes this utterly-fulfilling series the breast action-harem anime of all time!

view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists