|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Seven Brides For Seven Brothers » User review

Seven Brides for Seven Brothers

1954 motion picture starring Howard Keel and Jane Powell

< read all 2 reviews

A Musical That Works

  • Mar 14, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+3
I'm typically not a big fan of musicals but Seven Brides for Seven Brothers works. The story revolves around seven brothers scratching a living out of a farm in the Oregon Mountains in the 1800's. Adam, the oldest brother, goes to town one day and comes back with a wife - Mille, played by Jane Powell. Poor Millie finds herself playing the role of cook and washer woman for the seven ruffians and immediately puts her foot down and sets out to make the uncouth group a respectable bunch. She plays the role of big sister and mother and is really, more so than Adam, the focal character in the movie.

The boys, being boys, are lonely and set out to find themselves wives. Adam comes up with a harebrained scheme to kidnapped the girls they've set their hearts on and indeed, they do so. It is also a bit of harebrained plot device but it works here.

The music and dancing in this movie are excellent. And taken as a semi-comedic musical the movie works well and is quite entertaining.

While the sets seem a bit dated, it was released in 1954, the quality and sound on this DVD is excellent. The "The Making Of..." special feature was also quite interesting and good addition to the DVD.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
5
Thought-Provoking
2
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
2
Post a Comment
January 02, 2010
This is indeed a great musical. I remember watching it as a kid, and have seen it numerous times as an adult.....fantastic dancing. They're expensive to make, but perhaps musicals will make a comeback some day. It would be nice for the young people to know that something other than vampires and the "shoot em ups" exists. As far as the Sound of Music, it's one of the all-time greats. Glad you enjoy it and thanks for sharing.
January 02, 2010
Thanks Donna!
 
January 02, 2010
This is one of my wife's favorite musicals. As such I have seen many more times than I would care to. It 's Ok but just not my cup of tea.
January 02, 2010
In general I have to say I'm not that big a fan of the genre myself.
 
March 18, 2009
Its only lately that I've come to appreciate musicals myself, but my father was always dragging us to see them when we were kids back in the drive-in days. That's where I first saw this one. Its nice that they've finally put films like this out in letterboxed editions because in previous incarnations it looked more like 4 BRIDES FOR 4 BROTHERS. This isn't really one of my favorites (too much orange hair going on), give me Gene Kelly any day.
March 19, 2009
My friends can't believe I actually like The Sound of Music. :)
March 19, 2009
I like MOULIN ROUGE. I love the way Baz Luhrman sed existing pop songs and showtune etc. But WEST WIDE STORY is probably my favorite non Gene Kelly musical. And I get a very large charge out of Bollywood flix too.
 
1
More Seven Brides For Seven Brother... reviews
Quick Tip by . August 24, 2010
Loved this film, and I am not a lover of the musical genre. Probably my second favorite musical. Great acting by all, the music and score is just superb!!! Love that baritone voice of Richard Kiel's. "Oh those sobbin women."
About this movie

Wiki

Seven Brides for Seven Brothers is a musical film released in 1954. It was directed by Stanley Donen, with music by Saul Chaplin and Gene de Paul, and lyrics by Johnny Mercer. The script (by Albert Hackett, Frances Goodrich, and Dorothy Kingsley) is based on the short story The Sobbin' Women, by Stephen Vincent Benét, which was based in turn on the Ancient Roman legend of The Rape of the Sabine Women. The film was a 1954 Oscar nominee for Best Picture.

The film is particularly known for the unusual choreography by Michael Kidd, which makes dance numbers out of such mundane frontier pursuits as chopping wood and (most famously) raising a barn.

The film's story is about a backwoodsman named Adam Pontipee and his new bride Milly, who marries him after knowing him for only a few hours. On returning with him to his cabin in the mountains, Milly is surprised to learn that Adam is one of seven lumberjack brothers living in the same cabin. The brothers have been named alphabetically from the Bible: Adam, Benjamin, Caleb, Daniel, Ephraim, Frank (short for Frankincense, the Bible supposedly having no names beginning with F- due to Hebrew using "Ph" instead, as in Phineas -- however, Felix, Festus and Fortunatus are all mentioned in the Bible), and Gideon. All of the brothers have red hair and are well over six feet tall; except Gideon who is younger and shorter than his brothers.

Milly teaches Adam's rowdy, ill-behaved younger brothers manners and social mores, including how to dance. ...

view wiki

Details

Genre: Music, Musical
Release Date: July 22, 1954
Runtime: 102 minutes
Studio: M-G-M

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists