|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Sin City (2005 film) » User review

Sin City

2005 film based on the dark and violent comic books by writer/artist Frank Miller.

< read all 21 reviews

Eye candy that tastes like Pain - Yummy!

  • Nov 9, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+5
One of the best movies of 2005, Sin City has action, horror, and spectacular visuals; all you need is a strong stomach and a twisted sense of humor. I've never read the graphic novels, so I won't be doing a comparison to those, just a review from a happy moviegoer who loves it when style and substance meld together to form a visual treat like Sin City.

The plot is simply mayhem and revenge, cops and criminals, in a dark world of concrete and sin. There's lots of blood, Tarentino style, but most of it is in black-and-white so it cuts down on the squishiness. The plot is not what you want to buy this movie for. Buy it for the absolutely spectacular and stylized photography and visuals, and the stunning performances of the cast.

Bruce Willis aptly and perfectly plays Hartigan, with his "Diehard-deadpan" style. Mickey Rourke is legend in Sin City as Marv, I doubt you will recognize him at first. The hardest, baddest, meanest, toughest, most vile criminal on the streets, and someone you can root for.

Clive Owen (King Arthur) puts his arrogantly serious handsomeness to work as Dwight, a man not to be messed with. Dwight's Valkyrie, Rosario Dawson (Kids, Alexander) as Gail, gives a stellar (and stimulating) performance in naughty lingerie and a deadly attitude. Benicio Del Toro (Fear And Loathing In Las Vegas, Traffic) is excellent as Jackie Boy, a bad cop with a bad heart and a bad attitude.

Nick Stahl (Bully, Terminator 3) is awesome. If you liked him in Bully, you will love him in Sin City as Roark Jr, later to become the golem-like yellow freak.
And who can ever get enough of Rutger Hauer? (Blade Runner, Flesh and Blood, Ladyhawke, The Hitcher, etc) Not me. I love Rutger, and as Cardinal Roark, those deadly, cold, ice-blue eyes are soulfully used.
Elijah Wood (LOTR, Final Destination, The Faculty) is excellent as the psychotic, creepy Kevin; a part that you can just tell Elijah had fun with. Jessica Alba (Dark Angel) can't act, but doesn't have to in the pretty part of Nancy. Hats off to Michael Clarke Duncan (The Green Mile, The Scorpion King) as Manute and Devon Aoki as Miho.

Sin City uses voice-over narration, a third party telling of the action you watch on the screen. This movie is as good with the sound off as it is with the sound on. Filmed mostly in black-and-white, the photography is reminiscent of Schindler's List, though 'List' used only one small splash of color and Sin City uses a bit more, the use of color is still limited to such minute and clever spatterings that the impact is still heavily felt.

Using over-the-top violence, impossible feats of heroism, strength, agility, and prowess (Watch for Marv's driving scene and Miho's flying archery) and some very black humor, Sin City achieves a horror aficionado's Zen-like state of almost-nirvana.

Really, forget the plot. It's the photography, cast, acting, FX, costumes, stylization, props, and atmosphere that, alone, bring Sin City to five stars and beyond. Sin City is a must-buy movie. Enjoy!
Sin City

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
5
Thought-Provoking
1
Fun to Read
1
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More Sin City (2005 film) reviews
Quick Tip by . June 12, 2012
This is a movie that's had steadily-declining appeal for me.  I loved this film when I first saw it in September of 2005, but as I watched it more and more, I found myself liking it less and less.  Now I've seen it enough to where I really don't see many redeeming factors in it.      So many people have gushed over Rodriguez's "comic book" visual style to match the way Frank Miller's original comics were drawn, but I'm not impressed …
review by . July 19, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
SO NOT in Las Vegas.
I just rewatched The Spirit not too long ago and for all it's goofy meandering, it's look was clearly borrowed from this movie and Frank Miller a noted comic legend who lately has had more misses then hits in his written works-was a part of BOTH movies.  Taking another look at this film reminded me how odd and frankly great the film was. The plot has a running theme of corruption and sinful people in all three of it's stories.  The first is about a hard headed street fighter …
Quick Tip by . June 13, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
Look, anybody dumb enough to LIKE this thing is simply voting for style over substance. All it has is a unique directorial style which is black and white and regularly flashes color in and out. Once the novelty of the directorial style and comic book-like appearance wear off, all you've got is just another movie about criminals with hearts of gold going on quests of redemption. The only difference is that with the constant color flashing, this one can potentially induce seizures.
Quick Tip by . October 20, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
This is a complicated rating. It is a 4 minus 3 rating. The first time through the stylized nature of the film is fantastic, but when I watched it a second time, it un-wowed me, but it's worth the first time through for anyone unless they don't like hard-boiled graphic novels.
Quick Tip by . September 24, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Probably one of the most accurate transitions from comic page to screen.
Quick Tip by . August 30, 2010
Seedy and sleazy comic noir about the bums, scum and filth in Sin City where just about everything can happen and does. Awesome if at times creepy fun.
Quick Tip by . July 20, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Love the cinematography for this film, the black and white really does well for the storyline and comic feel.
Quick Tip by . July 19, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Three tales of lowdown hitmen, cops, hookers and crazies in a ugly metropolis. Sort of like Pulp Ficition ironically enough with more flash, less pop culture and more monologing. Not bad but definitely not for all tastes.
review by . May 05, 2009
posted in Movie Hype
Theatrical Poster
WARNING: This film contains graphic stylized violence including torture, as well as sexuality/nudity, coarse language, and disturbing themes.       Only a sick and twisted mind could conceive of the warped stories that are found in the graphic novel series Sin City. Frank Miller is just such a mind. His morbid fascinations with corrupt authority figures, hypocritical religions, sleazy yet strong-willed women, and violent anti-heroes are thrust into the spotlight in his work. …
Quick Tip by . July 22, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Amazing movie that has been in my top 10 fav movies for 5 years now. the plot, script, cinematography and style are awesome. Just waiting for Sin City 2!!!
About the reviewer

Ranked #48
I want to thank Everyone for welcoming me back! :) I'm here to stay folks, my sabbatical on writing reviews is over and I'll continue to review for Lunch. It's great to be back, too! Thanks again for … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Schtinky
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Starring Jessica Alba, Benicio Del Toro, Mickey Rourke, Elijah Wood, Clive Owen, Nick Stahl, Rutger Hauer, Bruce Willis, Rosario Dawson
Directed by Frank Miller, Robert Rodriguez, Quentin Tarantino
Writer:  Frank Miller
2005

Product Description
Sin city is infested with criminals crooked cops & sexy dames: some searching for vengeance some for redemption and others both. Studio: Buena Vista Home Video Release Date: 09/01/2006 Starring: Bruce Willis Mickey Rourke Run time: 126 minutes Rating: R Director: Frank Miller
view wiki
Polls with this movie
DVD front

Comic book flicks

by

30 Days of Night (2007 movie)

Best Comic Book/Manga To Film Adaptations

by

Desperado

Favorite Robert Rodriguez Films

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists