|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Sin City

2005 film based on the dark and violent comic books by writer/artist Frank Miller.

< read all 21 reviews

A Quick Tip by RabidChihuahua

  • Jun 12, 2012
This is a movie that's had steadily-declining appeal for me.  I loved this film when I first saw it in September of 2005, but as I watched it more and more, I found myself liking it less and less.  Now I've seen it enough to where I really don't see many redeeming factors in it.

So many people have gushed over Rodriguez's "comic book" visual style to match the way Frank Miller's original comics were drawn, but I'm not impressed by this at all.  The problem with this film is that it seems like Rodriguez banked on the idea that people would like this only for its "unique" cinematography, female eye candy, fast vintage cars, and tales of revenge against over-the-top bad guys.  While I like tales of revenge and pretty ladies, they can't save a film with extremely bland characters and storylines, and the stiff acting in some areas don't help, either (especially Jessica Alba).

I think it's quite frustrating that people will be quick to slam the cinematic pap generated by the likes of Michael Bay and Roland Emmerich yet give Rodriguez's movies a free pass, even when they're fundamentally similar for the fact that Bay's, Emmerich's, and Rodriguez's movies are all style and no substance.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
6
Post a Comment
June 15, 2012
I liked this since it was quite faithful to the source material but I can see your points.
 
June 13, 2012
As perhaps the most faithful among adaptations of sequential art to living action, Sin City is necessarily a triumph of style over substance. Miller wrote the comic as an homage to pulp noir, never denying that its triumph was that of lurid visual sensation, not any profundity of theme or character. Why anyone would expect more of either the comic or its filmic version, I really don't know.

Jessica Alba is no one's excuse for a good actress, but my primary objection to her inclusion in this cast is that she scarcely resembles Nancy Callahan as illustrated in the comic. Notwithstanding this dearth of likeness and her own stiff performance, objections to her and perhaps two other lesser cast members are minor quibbles in a broader scope acknowledging a dream cast selected by Rodriguez and Miller, nearly all of whom are ideal for their roles. Bona Cristo, they coaxed a good performance from Josh Hartnett - a miracle!

No one will argue that Rodriguez's films are dumb, flashy entertainment, but they're of a sort in which no small modicum of craftsmanship and ingenuity have been invested. To compare Rodriguez's one-dimensional yet slick and cunning and technically superior genre offerings to those of Bay and Emmerich - who clumsily append CG to every other sequence of movies that are appallingly, offensively stupid - is to do him some grievous disservice. Do not confuse my defense as merely that of one Latino spurred by pan-ethnic ingroup loyalty to shield another. Rodriguez's offerings are silly, but not without some distinct character and craft. Bay and Emmerich churn out expensive, willfully moronic, culture-killing trash to a growing public of bottom feeders.
 
1
More Sin City (2005 film) reviews
review by . July 19, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
SO NOT in Las Vegas.
I just rewatched The Spirit not too long ago and for all it's goofy meandering, it's look was clearly borrowed from this movie and Frank Miller a noted comic legend who lately has had more misses then hits in his written works-was a part of BOTH movies.  Taking another look at this film reminded me how odd and frankly great the film was. The plot has a running theme of corruption and sinful people in all three of it's stories.  The first is about a hard headed street fighter …
Quick Tip by . June 13, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
Look, anybody dumb enough to LIKE this thing is simply voting for style over substance. All it has is a unique directorial style which is black and white and regularly flashes color in and out. Once the novelty of the directorial style and comic book-like appearance wear off, all you've got is just another movie about criminals with hearts of gold going on quests of redemption. The only difference is that with the constant color flashing, this one can potentially induce seizures.
Quick Tip by . October 20, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
This is a complicated rating. It is a 4 minus 3 rating. The first time through the stylized nature of the film is fantastic, but when I watched it a second time, it un-wowed me, but it's worth the first time through for anyone unless they don't like hard-boiled graphic novels.
Quick Tip by . September 24, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Probably one of the most accurate transitions from comic page to screen.
Quick Tip by . August 30, 2010
Seedy and sleazy comic noir about the bums, scum and filth in Sin City where just about everything can happen and does. Awesome if at times creepy fun.
Quick Tip by . July 20, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Love the cinematography for this film, the black and white really does well for the storyline and comic feel.
Quick Tip by . July 19, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Three tales of lowdown hitmen, cops, hookers and crazies in a ugly metropolis. Sort of like Pulp Ficition ironically enough with more flash, less pop culture and more monologing. Not bad but definitely not for all tastes.
review by . May 05, 2009
posted in Movie Hype
Theatrical Poster
WARNING: This film contains graphic stylized violence including torture, as well as sexuality/nudity, coarse language, and disturbing themes.       Only a sick and twisted mind could conceive of the warped stories that are found in the graphic novel series Sin City. Frank Miller is just such a mind. His morbid fascinations with corrupt authority figures, hypocritical religions, sleazy yet strong-willed women, and violent anti-heroes are thrust into the spotlight in his work. …
Quick Tip by . July 22, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Amazing movie that has been in my top 10 fav movies for 5 years now. the plot, script, cinematography and style are awesome. Just waiting for Sin City 2!!!
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
Loved it!
About the reviewer
David Kozak ()
Ranked #22
I'm a morbid cynic who thinks very, very differently from most other people. Chances are, if the majority says X is the greatest in its category, I'll disagree with that notion, because I tend … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
RabidChihuahua
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Starring Jessica Alba, Benicio Del Toro, Mickey Rourke, Elijah Wood, Clive Owen, Nick Stahl, Rutger Hauer, Bruce Willis, Rosario Dawson
Directed by Frank Miller, Robert Rodriguez, Quentin Tarantino
Writer:  Frank Miller
2005

Product Description
Sin city is infested with criminals crooked cops & sexy dames: some searching for vengeance some for redemption and others both. Studio: Buena Vista Home Video Release Date: 09/01/2006 Starring: Bruce Willis Mickey Rourke Run time: 126 minutes Rating: R Director: Frank Miller
view wiki
Polls with this movie
DVD front

Comic book flicks

by

30 Days of Night (2007 movie)

Best Comic Book/Manga To Film Adaptations

by

Desperado

Favorite Robert Rodriguez Films

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists