|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Speed » User review

Speed

A 1994 movie starring Keanu Reeves

< read all 4 reviews

My brain can beat your bomb.

  • Sep 11, 2010
Rating:
+4
Speed.  An action movie with little violence but high on thrills and spills.  Other movies try for bigger and better or more accurately messier and more extreme.  Yes I know this is coming from the guy who just lauded Machete for it's bloody carnage, slicings and gooey cellphones but thats a different kind of action movie.  Speed does have some shooting but it's action comes from it's thrills and suspense plus a little bit of suspension of disbelief.

In LA, a mad bomber is trying to extort money from the city with the threat of blowing up his bombs in public places.  The cops are called in led by Joe Morton and with underlings Keanu Reeves and Jeff Daniels.  The duo outsmart the crazy bomber played by Dennis Hopper and Hopper commits suicide, or so it seems as a day or two later, A bus explodes in front of Reeves and he gets a call from Hopper who tells him another bus is rigged with a bomb and he wants even more money then before or THAT bus goes up in smoke too.  Finding the bus after a chase of the freeway, Reeves is warned by Hopper:  No one gets off the bus or he'll blow it up and once the bus is over 50 mph, the bomb is armed and if it drops below 50 the bus will also explode. 

Reeves is able to get ONTO the bus where he meets a motley assortment of normal people: hard working construction Joe, annoying and overly worried woman, out of town tourist idiot, Mexican stick up guy and hot quirky lady who is of course Sandra Bullock.  This was her breakout role and even she was in other movies that came before her chemistry with Reeves is good and she does get some memorable lines and the movie plays to her acting talents.  Unlike All About Steve where her comic talents were wasted by acting giddy and stupid.  UGH, enough of that movie.

Most of the movie follows trying to keep the bus MOVING through LA going 50 mph or more, keep the bus from crashing into and killing people and how to outsmart the bomber and save the passengers.  The movie has action but instead of always needing to resort to guns, it's ideas and thoughts that save the day.  Reeves and Morton need to deal with the bus moving through the city and Daniels needs to find who the bomber is and track him down.

Heres one thing I love about this movie,aside from Reeves making a smart ass remark that his boss turns a sour eye too in the face of danger and dead citizens, Reeves the hero cop and Joe Morton the boss GET ALONG!!  No shouting across desks or how Reeves is out of control and Reeves even gets complemented for his ingenuity by his boss in a couple of scenes.  Refreshing and nice to see that not all cops and their captains are always at odds.

Speed made a bundle, was critically lauded and helped erase Reeves "Whoa!!" image before the Matrix put it back into his lexicon and public image.  In the wisest move of his career, Reeves backed out of the sequel while after some more movies and on a career high, Bullock made the sequel which is a bomb of a different kind.
My brain can beat your bomb.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
9
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
9
Post a Comment
October 25, 2010
Man I can't even remember the last time I watched this one, great review.
October 25, 2010
It's been a while for me too but I've seen it so many times I still remember it well.
 
September 12, 2010
John, I loved this movie! This is an awesome thrill-packed action movie and it was fantastic how it made the premise simple and explored each and every possible peril. Too bad the sequel sucked, but not as much as critics said it did. I loved this one and UnderSiege 2! Nice review!
September 12, 2010
Right on. This like Fargo to me is one of those movies that people need to see again to remember how great it is since they have been forgotten about by many.
 
1
More Speed reviews
Quick Tip by . September 12, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Great action movie for Keanu Reeves that hes plenty of action and tones down the gore mostly for a solid action film. Dennis Hopper, Joe Morton and Sandra Bullock in her breakout role also star and play they're parts well.
Quick Tip by . September 12, 2010
While it's been put aside by biggerer and betterer movies, watch this one again and tell me that it still isn't a calssic action movie that has thrills and keeps the splatter down.
Quick Tip by . September 12, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Entertaining movie if you don't think about reality. Keanu is great eye candy and does a good job of keeping the intensity of the situation going through out the film. Bullock does a good job of playing someone thrown into a stressful situation by chance. To her credit she does not over act the part.
About the reviewer
John Nelson ()
Ranked #8
Born in Wausau Wisconsin. Move at an early age to Ventura California and lived for 8 years. Growing up in a big city landscape didn't prepare me for my next move: Archbold Ohio with a population of … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
TheJohn
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Speed is a 1994 American action/thriller film directed by Jan de Bont, and set in Los Angeles. It focuses on an LAPD officer, Police Officer IIIJack Traven, who tries to arrest an bomber/extortionist. After the bomber escapes, he sets up a bomb on a city bus which Traven boards and must keep moving above 50 miles per hour (80 km/h) or the bomb will explode. The film stars Keanu ReevesDennis HopperSandra Bullock,Joe Morton and Jeff Daniels. In 1995, it won two Academy Awards for Best Sound and Best Sound Effects Editing.

Plot:

Police Officer III Jack Traven and his partner Police Officer III Harry Temple, a veteran with over ten years on the force, are explosives experts in LAPD SWAT. A disgruntled retired Atlanta bomb squad sergeant, Howard Payne, is holding a group of thirteen office workers trapped in anexpress elevator for ransom. Charges have already taken out the cables, and Payne wants $5 million or he will blow the emergency brakes. Jack and Harry manage to rescue the hostages before Payne sends the elevator plummeting to the basement. They find Payne in a freight elevator. Payne manages to hold Harry hostage, but after a brief standoff, Jack follows Harry's insistent urging to "shoot the hostage" to take him out of the equation. Payne escapes and sets off a small explosion in the parking garage that knocks Jack unconscious ...

view wiki
Polls with this movie
28 Days

Sandra Bullock Films

by

Poster for the movie

Dennis Hopper Movies

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists