|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Star Wars: Episode V - The Empire Strikes Back » User review

Star Wars: Episode V - The Empire Strikes Back

The 1980 Irvin Kershner-directed sequel to the original Star Wars film.

< read all 13 reviews

Star Wars: Episode V- The Empire Strikes Back

  • May 2, 2011
  • by
Rating:
+5
This is the best of the bunch people, admit it. I love it, personally, when a great movie is followed up by an equivalent or better sequel, and Empire Strikes Back is definitely better than A New Hope, which was still a masterpiece of science fiction all the same. Empire Strikes back still has the entertaining chase scenes (unlike the consensus says), but its also a tad bit darker than the first one with the same visuals and the same sense of wonder and excitement, of course with that legendary twist. It also features a strong story and strong performances, making it a fantastic movie and probably my favourite science fiction movie ever made.

The film starts at the new rebel base in the Hoth system. After Imperial troops enter the base, Luke and R2 have to separate from Han, Leia and Chewbacca to go to the Degoba system to find Yoda. Han and Leia have to navigate through an asteroid field and find themselves in the beautifully painted Cloud City. I won't really explain too much more of the plot, except that Luke learns his true parentage and Han's debts finally caught up with him. I really don't want to reveal the film's big spoiler either for those of you who haven't seen the film.

However, I would consider the film to be a masterpiece of storytelling. In fact, I consider the entire trilogy a masterpiece of storytelling. The film is also full of wonderful quips, especially from Han, and I was laughing while also being ensnared in the story. Pretty much all that can be said for the story in this film can be said in my review of the first film, so I'll move on to the iconic scenes, and this film has a lot of them.

This film easily has the most memorable stuff in it, from Harrison Ford slicing open his tauntaun to keep Luke warm to Darth Vader revealing to Luke that....sorry, almost revealed the big spoiler there. Anyway, nothing can really be said about the iconic scenes except that you need to see them for yourself because everyone should see these movies. The special effects are definitely an improvement over the first one, but are still way ahead of anything else that was being created back in the 1980's. The film's special effects include, as well as the fantastic creatures, the fantastic city (or planet) landscapes, especially cloud city. Anyway, I don't want to risk belabouring this point because most of what can be said has been said in my review of the first film, so moving on.

I feel the need to mention this. I knew the big twist, I had seen the movie before, but by the time that scene came along, I still didn't see it coming. I can only imagine how the people in the theatre reacted hearing it for the first time. The subsequent "noooooo" from Mark Hamill is also easily the most epic "noooo" in cinema history. I know that every single film that has a twist ending owes that to Psycho, and may I say, Psycho spawned a great twist.

In fact, this film definitely made cinematic history. It's the best of all the films and easily had the most memorable material in it. I hope that I haven't repeated myself or given anything away, but hey, this is my review! Anyway, this series has my total recommendation as a trilogy of must-see films and the best science fiction series ever (that is including the prequels). All in all, nothing can be said for this film except the fact that it's perfect. There's not a single thing wrong with it.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More Star Wars: Episode V - The Emp... reviews
review by . August 24, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Learn about the inspiration for George Lucas'
I was a freshman in college when I took my new girlfriend, (now married for over 30 yrs.) to see George Lucas’ 1977 film “Star Wars: Episode IV - A New Hope.”  This movie literally blew our minds!!!  Audiences were not used to the great special effects this film introduced to the world!  Even more compelling for me was the story.  The movie had a visceral magnetism that took hold of me.  It was only years later when I found out why that was, and the answer …
review by . September 26, 2009
posted in Movie Hype
Luke is trapped by the evil Lord Vader
We need to have more movies out now "ruined."      How ironic is it that the best of all Star Wars movies is the one that elicited a tantrum from George Lucas and how he thought the movie was awful with the way others in charge put it together and turned it into one of the finest pieces of sci fi ever?      What else is ironic is that ESB was initially panned when released and is now looked back on as a masterpiece.  People I've talked to continually …
review by . July 06, 2009
posted in Movie Hype
After the unprecedented success of Star Wars, it only made sense for there to be a sequel.  George Lucas himself had stated there would be three films.  The second film in the trilogy: "The Empire Strikes Back," is often considered the best Star Wars film.  It is also one of the darkest and most character driven of the entire saga.  George Lucas, however, opted not to direct.  Rather he hired a director named Irvin Kershner to direct the Star Wars sequel. …
Quick Tip by . September 25, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
The most awesome thing with "Star Wars" on the label. Time has proven it to be a classic.
Quick Tip by . August 08, 2010
Nice foreshadowing, good twists, immersive world. This is what Star Wars is meant to be---not the prequels and new Lucas-schlock.
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
posted in MovieSucktastic
Darth Vader is out to capture Luke Skywalker and corrupt him and drive him to the dark side. Takes what the first movie had and made it run deeper and turns up the drama. A great sequel. Also has the benefit of being the one of the original series to not suck completely by it's special edition.
Quick Tip by . May 22, 2010
posted in Forbidden Planet
2010 is the 30th anniversary of this great space adventure! Watch this film! There is no try!
review by . January 18, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
What I love about The Empire Strikes Back is that it's such an original sequel to A New Hope. Also, unlike the other episodes of the original trilogy, all of the revisions/alterations to Empire I think make it better. The ships look much better and more realistic (no more grey boxes around TIE Fighters). Cloud City on Bespin evokes more beauty. This is as close as we'll ever get to seeing a restored version of the original movie.
review by . January 18, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
What I love about The Empire Strikes Back is that it's such an original sequel to A New Hope. Also, unlike the other episodes of the original trilogy, all of the revisions/alterations to Empire I think make it better. The ships look much better and more realistic (no more grey boxes around TIE Fighters). Cloud City on Bespin evokes more beauty. This is as close as we'll ever get to seeing a restored version of the original movie.
Quick Tip by . January 07, 2010
Finest Star Wars outing expands more on it's characters and has plenty of eye candy and drama for fantastic sci fi entertainment.
About the reviewer

Ranked #126
Member Since: Nov 29, 2010
Last Login: Apr 23, 2012 10:20 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Stephanie_Smith19
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Star Wars Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back is a 1980 space opera film directed by Irvin Kershner. The screenplay, based on a story by George Lucas, was written by Leigh Brackett and Lawrence Kasdan. It was the second film released in the Star Wars saga, being followed by Star Wars Episode VI: Return of the Jedi, and the fifth in terms of internal chronology.

The film is set three years after the destruction of the Death Star. Luke Skywalker, Han Solo, Princess Leia Organa, and the rest of the Rebel Alliance are being pursued by Darth Vader and the elite forces of the Galactic Empire. While Han and Leia are chased across the galaxy by the Empire, Luke studies the Force under Jedi Master Yoda. Vader is secretly plotting a trap for Luke that will lead to a fierce confrontation and a shocking revelation.

Following a difficult production, The Empire Strikes Back was released on May 21, 1980, and received mixed reviews from critics, although it has since grown in esteem to become one of the most well-regarded chapters of the saga and one of the most highly rated films in history.[3][4][5] It earned more than US$538 million worldwide over the original run and several re-releases, making it the highest grossing film of 1980. When adjusted for inflation, it is the 12th highest grossing film of all time in the United States.

References
...
view wiki
Polls with this movie
Movie poster

Best Science Fiction Films

by

Return of the Jedi

Star Wars Flix

by

Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace

What's the Best Star Wars Movie?

by

First to Review

"Satisfied."
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists