|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Super (movie) » User review

Super

A 2010 film written and directed by James Gunn.

< read all 4 reviews

Reviewed: Super [2010]

  • May 17, 2011
Rating:
+3
 TBA - 96mins - Action/Comedy/Drama - 10th June 2011

Right from the off the premise of this movie appeals to me. I was happy with Kick-Ass and the slightly more realistic approach that they made their 'super' hero take and with Super this promise of an even more ordinary man coming off the streets to fight crime made me want to watch it as soon as possible.

Frank (Rainn Wilson) is just your ordinary bloke living an altogether uneventful life with few happy memories- 2 to be precise. He lives with his beautiful wife Sarah (Liv Tyler), a recovering drug addict, and works as a burger flipper in a diner. When Sarah relapses and leaves him for Jacques (Kevin Bacon), the local drug dealer, Frank is devastated and believes she was stolen from him.

A chance viewing of a religious hero The Holy Avenger (Nathan Fillion) on TV implants the 'Good Vs. Evil' concept into his mind and before long Frank has an epiphany deciding that justice must be delivered, not only to Jacques but to all wrongdoers who happen to cross his path.Seeking inspiration for his new identity he travels to the local comic book store where he meets Libby (Ellen Page) who inadvertently helps him on his way. Whereas Batman had the gadgets, Spider-man had the web and Superman could do most anything, Frank's creation- The Crimson Bolt takes the best weapon award of all time with, that's right, a monkey wrench!!

The reality of the characters, much like the wrench, hits home on more than one occasion and for the people, me included, who initially compared it to Kick-Ass well you could not be much further from the mark. This film stands on its own and is a lot grittier giving the viewer an insight into the potential of the warped human psyche whilst toying with depression and other emotions too. This is the 'deHollywoodized' version and it would only take a small step for you to imagine this on your local news channel in the real world.

Although Wilson gives a very solid performance it is Page that I was more surprised and fascinated by. Having mostly featured as her 'Juno' type character in other works it was refreshing to see her in a slightly different role you will not have seen her do before bringing out an anxious and psychotic personality which becomes even more extreme after she dons her Boltie sidekick attire.

No super movie would be complete without a scene with POW and WHAM making an appearance on the screen at some point but where this is usually reserved for punches, The Crimson Bolt gets use out of them when wielding a shotgun. A nice touch if I do say so! Expect the humour to follow a similar vein right through until the end.

This is a superhero comedy but it delivers so much more on top. James Gunn really delivers (especially after Slither) and I will be keeping an interested eye on his next project. This will definitely be getting a second viewing from me and I'm already looking forward to it.

For further reviews feel free to check out: http://www.fanaticalaboutfilms.com or follow this site on Twitter @ FAbFilms

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
May 18, 2011
This sounds like a fun one! Thanks for sharing :)
 
May 17, 2011
real fun review to read! I liked this film quite a bit also and I too like "Kick Ass". Great movie! I have featured your review.
May 18, 2011
Cheers. Am still trying to work out if I like this or Kick-Ass better- damn them for being so similar and different at the same time!
May 18, 2011
heh. I have to say "Kick Ass" as a comic book was a lot better since it was similar to this one. I had fun with the movie version, but I have to admit I was more impressed with this one. I thought the script was much more ambitious and darker when it came to its humor. Have you seen Defendor?
June 11, 2011
I watched the Defendor a few days ago. Am kinda surprised how many of these types of films are popping up at more or less the same time. It also managed to be its own film and although I liked it, I preferred Kick-Ass and Super.
 
1
More Super (movie) reviews
review by . April 10, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
Remember....With Great Depression Comes No Responsibility!!
Once Stan Lee hosted the reality series “I Wanna Be a Superhero” and Mark Millar together with John Romita Jr. had created the groundbreaking comic cult hit “Kick Ass”, I knew from the get-go that it would inspire several movies about the “normal guy who wants to be a superhero” deal. One was 2010’s “Kick Ass” movie adaptation which I admittedly enjoyed; despite the fact that I wondered if its filmmakers had even read the comic in the first …
review by . May 23, 2012
posted in Movie Hype
**** out of ****      Nerdy nobody Frank (Rainn Wilson) loses his wife Sarah (Liv Tyler) - a recovering drug addict - to strip club owner Jacques (Kevin Bacon), who lures her in through the promise of truly out-there narcotics. Frank wants this man - who intimidates him by barging in to his house one morning and trying Frank's not-so-famous eggs (which he insists are amazing) - arrested for what he perceives to be wife theft, but the police won't listen, since he has …
review by . April 06, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
Star Rating:         Super is the film Kick-Ass so thoroughly failed to be: A perverse and engrossing superhero satire. That it’s absurd, bipolar, and overwhelmingly violent, there can be no question. But if you stay with it, you may find that there is a method to writer/director James Gunn’s madness. There are moments that are intensely funny, moments that are not funny at all, and moments so gloriously bizarre that describing them would hardly do them …
About the reviewer
James ()
Ranked #191
I, like so many others, am a film lover with my own blog. Feel free to drop on by and have a read.      Website:http://www.fanaticalaboutfilms.com      Site Twitter: … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Fanaticalaboutfilm
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

SUPER is a 2010 American dark comedy written and directed by James Gunn, starring Rainn Wilson, Liv Tyler and Ellen Page. It was filmed between December 9, 2009 and January 24, 2010 in Shreveport, Louisiana with additional shooting at director James Gunn's home in Los Angeles, California (the comic book store shown in the movie is a real store, ComicSmash, in Studio City, CA). Being a low-budget independent project, everyone involved in the film was paid scale (the minimum allowed by the Screen Actors Guild). The film premiered at the 2010 Toronto International Film Festival and it was released in the United States on April 1, 2011. The film is officially unrated.
view wiki

Details

Release Date: April 1, 2011
Screen Writer: James Gunn

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists