|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » The Bodyguard » User review

The Bodyguard

A movie directed by Mick Jackson

< read all 6 reviews

Review of The Bodyguard

  • Mar 7, 2009
Rating:
+5

When this movie first came out the critics panned it mercilessly and frankly I just can't understand why. I thought it was fabulous. Kevin Costner plays an ex-Secret Service agent hired to protect a spoiled, difficult to get along with diva receiving death threats. Whitney Houston portrays the spoiled starlet to perfection. The chemistry and interplay between Houston and Costner was electric. The music in the movie was also great.

There are really some key elements that made this movie extremely good. First, I thought the acting was top notch by all involved. The supporting cast really played their characters well, as did the stars. Secondly, the editing was outstanding. The movie and plot move along at a fast pace. There is not a dull moment in the entire movie. And finally, the plot was plausible (for the most part) and the mystery - who is the hit man - slowly reveals itself. Having watched the movie several times, there a several foreshadowings.

Overall I found it a most entertaining movie both as a mystery, a thriller, and love story.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
2
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
March 07, 2009
I like it too. I like most of Costner's movies, even the ones the critics hate. Thanks for the comment!
 
March 07, 2009
Critics seem to hate this b/c it's a bit melodramatic. The movie's emotional pitch has to match Whitney Houston's grandiose vocals! I agree w/ you, I love it! Watching this movie takes me back to grade school, listening to Salt 'n' Pepa and Boyz II Men. Good times, good times.
 
1
More The Bodyguard reviews
Quick Tip by . July 18, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
I liked this movie It has been a long time for me since I seen it but I would enjoy watching it that is for sure!
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Love this film. It is a very dramatic and beautiful love story that always brings tears to my eyes.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
It is a very formulaic movie with wonderful music. Whitney should have just stuck to the singing because her acting leaves a lot to be desired. Kevin Costner puts in a strong performance, though.
Quick Tip by . March 20, 2010
Kevin Costner didn't do badly in this maudlin chick flick. The music is much better than the film. Rent.
review by . July 18, 2004
posted in Movie Hype
When this movie first came out the critics panned it mercilessly and frankly I just can't understand why. I thought it was fabulous. Kevin Costner plays an ex-Secret Service agent hired to protect a spoiled, difficult to get along with diva receiving death threats. Whitney Houston portrays the spoiled starlet to perfection. The chemistry and interplay between Houston and Costner was electric. The music in the movie was also great.There are really some key elements that made this movie extremely …
About the reviewer
About this movie

Wiki

Details

Director: Mick Jackson
Genre: Romance, Drama, Thriller, Music
Release Date: 25 November 1992 (USA)
MPAA Rating: R
Screen Writer: Lawrence Kasdan
Runtime: 129 min
Polls with this movie
27 Dresses (Widescreen Edition) (2008)

Chick Flicks

by

First to Review

"Outstanding"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists