|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » The Bounty Hunter (2010) » User review

The Bounty Hunter

Action & Adventure, Comedy, and Mystery & Suspense movie directed by Andy Tennant

< read all 4 reviews

Send Out A Bounty For The Guy Who Dreamed Up This Movie!

  • Jul 26, 2010
Rating:
+1
How can one review a movie when one already knows that the movie is going to be bad? Well, I always go in with no expectations and I usually allow a movie to instill my emotions. Such is the case when I gave “The Bounty Hunter” a rent. I know it was going to be a mediocre watch at best (it bombed in the box-office), but since I think Jennifer Aniston is pretty hot even in her 40‘s, I decided to give it a try. I knew that all I was going to get from the film was the assured sex appeal of Jennifer Aniston but I still felt that I wasted my time watching it. God, how this movie needed a different director.

Nicole (Jennifer Aniston) is a journalist who has received a tip about a hot story that involves a mysterious suicide. Unfortunately, this tip comes at a very awkward time, as Nicole is due in court to address another matter. She skips out on the hearing to meet with her ‘snitch’ which in turn results with a warrant for her arrest. Enter Milo Boyd (Gerard Butler) a former cop turned bounty hunter who gets assigned to bring in Nicole for skipping on her bail. Milo is also Nicole’s ex-husband….boy, this is such a dream. Catching your ex and taking her to jail. But things get more complex, as the story Nicole is running threatens to endanger them both; there is also the creepy stalker (Jason Sudeikis) who is just so obsessed with Nicole’s good looks.

                    Jennifer Aniston as Nicole in "The Bounty Hunter."

                   Gerard Butler and Jennifer Aniston in "The Bounty Hunter."

“The Bounty Hunter” is directed by the director of “Hitch” and “Sweet Home Alabama”, Andy Tennant. The man has some hits under his belt so I thought maybe that the movie wasn’t as bad but for some reason, I just couldn’t connect with the film. This film relies on a simple formula; romance, a crime caper that should exude major sexy charisma throughout. For some reason, it just doesn’t work. I guess the director was just stuck in limbo that he threw in the set ups for laughs but lacked the timing or efficiency for those laughs to actually become funny. I smiled at some scenes but I never laughed; it sure is also a little bad when you direct with a ‘cartoonish’ style but you just couldn’t get the viewer to get into the ‘cartoonish’ humor. It also doesn't help the movie much when the script is so predictable that it telegraphs the key points of its narrative.

                  Jennifer Aniston as Nicole in "The Bounty Hunter."

                      Gerard Butler as Milo and Jennifer Aniston as Nicole in "The Bounty Hunter."

The plot does try to add some intricacies, such as the suicide, Milo’s gambling issues, and Nicole’s stalker; but for some reason, I just really didn’t care about all that since they weren’t developed as part of the main plot between Milo and Nicole. It seems like those elements were just there to make the movie longer and it does; the set ups feel really manufactured, the scenes feel quite forced and unnecessary. It would’ve been a better idea if they took those subplots and actually made them a strong part of the development of its two main characters. But nope, the direction goes to depend on the chemistry between Aniston and Butler, and the bad guys just get in the way of the childish ‘staring contests‘.

                           Gerard Butler as Milo and Jennifer Aniston as Nicole in "The Bounty Hunter."

Yes, Aniston is very sexy (she looks awesome for a 40+ year old woman) and my lady friends say Butler is also sexy (this, I have no opinion of). But the problem is, despite their sex appeals, the two never connects as ‘sexy’. Much of the movie is about Nicole and Milo trying to outwit each other, they seem to act like two kids arguing as to whose fault it was why they got divorced and when the time does come that they should begin to connect as sexual partners, they act like spoiled children. I know, perhaps this was the direction’s intention, but note to Hollywood: be smart sexy, not annoying sexy. Aniston and Butler are capable performers, but they just weren’t guided by a steady hand in its direction. The film has a simple plot, how can you mess it up?

So, amid all the gunplay, all the innuendoes and all the humor, I find myself not caring about “The Bounty Hunter”. A film like this can succeed with the ability to make its viewers swoon and revel in the adventure; but it just couldn’t do this simple thing. The love story couldn’t stay erect and the humor overstays its welcome. There is just no heat in the film and it is a vital thing for beautiful folks with petty issues.

Skip It. [1 Out of 5 Stars]
This is a Lunch.com Exclusive Review











         
 
 
Jennifer Aniston is HOT...But This Movie Is NOT!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
30
Thought-Provoking
29
Fun to Read
30
Well-Organized
29
Post a Comment
September 14, 2010
Trust a man to fall for a woman's good look (& sexy body), LOL... boys will be boys ;-)
September 14, 2010
he-heh. Hey, a woman doesn't have to be super-pretty as long as she has a good heart and you are attracted to each other. ;P
 
July 29, 2010
Wow, you make this sound like "My Super Ex-Girlfriend" a movie that has so much potential that if fails terribly with a good idea. Jennifer Aniston is sexy but why do movies keep pushing her as this comedic movie super actress. She ISN'T funny. I don't care that she was on Friends (talk about unfunny). I still have yet to see Gerard Butler in anything and I am still tempted to see this. I will rent it but I will not buy this. That movie Gerard did with Katherine Heigel I hear was terrible and offending to both sexes. I've seen a little of it and I'm not about to disagree.
July 29, 2010
Super-Ex-GF for me actually had some charming moments, however, cliched...this movie was just one of those things that...I couldn't even feel anything. At least some movies provoked an emotion--love or hate, this one was...I don't even care to feel if I liked it or not; it was that impressively bad. I like Butler since 300 and Aniston is very hot; but it just wasted that factor. This was maybe a prime example of a director not even caring about the project or maybe being forced into doing it. Haven't seen that movie with Heigl either but I don't think I want to now.
 
July 29, 2010
This movie looked awful. What's happened to Gerard Butler's career?!
July 29, 2010
No idea. It boggles my mind how he ended up in this movie and the one with Katherine Heigl. By the way, I am trying to decide what to review for review # 500...one of my favorite comic book movies, an anime or a comic book? I think I'll sleep on it!
July 29, 2010
I think I have an idea. You've yet to review a certain director who worked with Toshiro Mifune on a regular basis (hint, hint). LOL! That wasn't very subtle.
July 29, 2010
that was not subtle at all. LOL! that won't be a first review in the site though....
July 29, 2010
So, it'll be the definitive one!
July 29, 2010
that is true. That will take a lot of work. We'll see how I feel...I think # 500 may be delayed for awhile. LOL!
July 29, 2010
I could always bug you for those "Watchmen" and "The Dark Knight Returns" reviews too. ; )
July 29, 2010
"Watchmen" is actually really easy for me to review....now. ;)
July 29, 2010
Why is that?
July 29, 2010
because I just re-read it two weeks ago LOL!
July 29, 2010
Oh.
July 29, 2010
I took out the original 12-issue series (not the collected book) out of my collection to read. God, the art looks better on regular paper.
 
July 27, 2010
Great review!! It's a shame it didn't work, Aniston is a cutey, but haven't really seen anything good from her since Friends.
July 27, 2010
I actually sorta thought "the BREAK UP" was decent and "He's Just Not That Into You" was good (but she wasn't a lead). This was real disappointing, you can just see it was the direction and the screenwriter's mistakes that took this movie down.
July 27, 2010
I forgot about the Break Up - it was OK and Aerin you're reading my mind as I was thinking the exact same thing! It's too bad, cause she rocked in her Rachael character on Friends. It's a shame this movie could not have been better.
July 29, 2010
I knew you'll notice that, Aerin! LOL!
July 29, 2010
hells yes! I love it..that means someone is actually really reading...even my funny remarks LOL!
 
July 27, 2010
Glad i skipped this one, great review man.
July 27, 2010
you made the right move, buddy.
 
July 26, 2010
OH MY GOD!  A solid "1".  I called Ripley's... he didn't believe me.  He's supposed to be doing that "Believe it or not" crap, right? 

But yeah, I haven't seen this one and I don't plan to.  Unless it's on HBO or something and I happen to sit down and watch it.  The buzz on this one was really just that bad.
July 27, 2010
You are funny, bud! I know my 1 star ratings are as rare as my full 5 star's. Yep, see this one when it plays for free or if you have no other station on Tv...LOL!
 
1
More The Bounty Hunter (2010) reviews
review by . March 21, 2010
Run far away from The Bounty Hunter ... Far.
Jennifer Aniston is looking a little tired these days.  Fortunately for her though, the attempted humour in her latest starring vehicle, The Bounty Hunter, is infinitely more unoriginal than she is, so you don’t necessarily notice her worry lines so much.      I don’t really blame her for worrying though.  There is no way she could have been making this movie and thinking it was actually going to turn out well.  I’m sure it sounded great when …
review by . July 13, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Based on its plot, The Bounty Hunter would seem like another Mr & Mrs Smith [Blu-ray] - a married couple at each others' throats - literally. However, it doesn't work nearly as well. Frankly, for a romantic comedy, there's not much romance or comedy.The twists and turns aren't very exciting. Jennifer Anniston's acting is lifeless. As a movie, it's not horrible viewing, but I wouldn't recommend it.
Quick Tip by . June 11, 2010
I found it funny, sexy, and entertaining. Forget the box office and "official" reviews. I liked it.
About the reviewer
William ()
Ranked #1
Please "Like" Film and Movies and Keep the Economy strong....LOL!!      My Interests: Movies, Anime, History, Martial Arts, Comics, Entertainment,Cooking, Things I don't … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
woopak_the_thrill
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

The Bounty Hunter is an action-romantic comedy film directed by Andy Tennant, starring Jennifer Aniston and Gerard Butler. The story centers on a bounty hunter (Butler) hired to retrieve his ex-wife (Aniston), who has skipped bail. The film was released in the United Kingdom and United States on March 19, 2010.

Source

Poster art for "The Bounty Hunter."
view wiki

Details

Director: Andy Tennant
Genre: Action, Adventure, Comedy, Mystery
DVD Release Date: July 13, 2010
Runtime: 110 minutes
Studio: Columbia
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists