|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » The Brown Bunny » User review

No Funny Bunny

  • Dec 4, 2009
Rating:
+5

Warning: This review may contain some spoilers for the uninitiated.
 
For those readers remotely familiar with Vincent Gallo's Buffalo 66, I need not really say much to pat the man on his back. Buffalo '66 film had layers of dark humor, lots of heart, & quirkiness to make us fall in love with his craft.

Gallo returns with a another love story of sorts but there is really no dark humor or quirkiness here whatsoever. This time around he introduces us to a lonely, lost soul by the name of Bud Clay traveling solo on the highway after just finishing a bike race. Along the way back to California, he meets three different women who all appear to be lacking what it seems he longs for. Love.

In between the meetings of these three unique women, we see many long shots of driving while hearing rather somber music while often iinclude shots of rain which prolong this deep feeling of sadness that our protagonist can't seem to shake.Thus, Brown Bunny is essentially a lugubrious ballad placed on film about the journeys we sometimes make only to find that we can never go back to what we once had. Gallo shows us how much we really want to have hope even though our heart has all but convinced us that there is literally no hope to be found.

Contrary to what reviewers have written, Brown Bunny is a very soft if not slow moving film with very tender scenes much like some of the moments in Buffalo '66. Although the ending will burn you for a long time, the film does have a tremendously huge heart & the ideas Gallo presents here will stay with you long after the final frame.  

Brown Bunny itself has two basic meanings although I'm sure each viewer will pick up something totally different. Bud Clay's girlfriend left a pet bunny with her mother when she moved to California & never came back for it. My interpretation: Bud felt like he'd abandoned his love interest when she needed him the in the most crucial moments. Also, Clay had given his girlfriend a chocolate bunny for Easter which she had eaten completely (or so we learn through dialog) & thrown up shortly afterwards. In the most heartfelt dialogue between the two main characters , we learn that he kissed her anyway because he truly loved her even after she vomited.
 
And now the part you've been waiting for. There is a very graphic oral sex scene at the end of the film (the last ten minutes to be exact) but I personally didn't feel this took anything away from the film. The ending was intended to be very dramatic, emotional, & raw. Highly recommended!
No Funny Bunny No Funny Bunny No Funny Bunny No Funny Bunny

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
9
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
9
Post a Comment
January 14, 2010
Boy have I read a lot about this one!
February 05, 2010
I'll bet! This one stirred up a lot of controversy between Gallo & Ebert. Since then, there have been some films that made it to the box office which were as graphic if not moreso but none bust Hell wide open anymore than this one. I really liked this film. The tone of the film was soft for the most part.
February 06, 2010
Yeah, soft.
 
December 06, 2009
Groovy. Had you heard all about the original version of this versus the current available version. Apparently, it makes all the difference.
December 08, 2009
I think I read about it somewhere but I can't imagine this film without the infamous controversial material. I honestly think Gallo did a fine job & to monkey with the ending would ruin it. Kinda like how adding additional footage to Donnie Darko kinda messes up the film for me. Sometimes it's best to leave good enough alone.
December 08, 2009
I like the Director's Cut of "Donnie Darko" more than the original. As for this film, the original cut isn't actually available on DVD, so unless you saw it at Sundance or Cannes, then you are watching the new shorter cut.
December 08, 2009
I bought the first Donnie Darko when it was released on DVD. I was told that a lot of people didn't get it so the director went back in to add some footage to it & the dvd was re-released. I've avoided that cut like the plague.
December 08, 2009
No, the actual reason for the director's cut was that Richard Kelly had always intended that those scenes be included, but after they sold the distribution rights to Fox, Fox felt that the film wouldn't do well, so they cut out that footage to shorten the length. Kelly simply restored it and added some newly recorded audio that he couldn't afford the first time around.
December 08, 2009
I still like the film either way but the original DVD I bought still has that special place in my heart.
December 09, 2009
So, you haven't actually seen the director's cut? I've got a review for it on my profile page if you want my take on it.
December 09, 2009
I'll check out your review soon then. Thnks!!!
 
December 04, 2009
Dude, that's the way I prove my love for a woman...a french kiss right after she vomited! (what a way to find out what she had for dinner) LOL! I still need to see this, arthouse cinema rocks!
December 04, 2009
I am so with you on that bro. Think I wouldn't want to taste those doritos, margaritas, & that last slab of beefy enchilada? Haha! Woo, this is a must for you to rent. It's an arthouse classic for our times. Hail Vincent Gallo!! Woopak, you are awesome dude!!!!
 
1
About the reviewer
Brian ()
Ranked #28
I've spent years trying to make others happy & not really focusing on what's most important in my own life. Having said that, my own health & security are paramount so now I'm more … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
cenobite7
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Details

Director: Vincent Gallo
Genre: Drama, Romance
Release Date: August 27, 2004
MPAA Rating: Unrated
Runtime: 1hr 33min
First to Review

"No Funny Bunny"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists