|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » The Count of Monte Cristo » User review

A disgrace to a legendary book

  • Jun 2, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+2

As I sat down to watch this in 2002, I expected to witness all of the action, emotion, and suspense of the book. I hoped to see a a film that would grip me and remind me of my love for the story- instead, I got this piece of junk.

It was a good movie, yes. It did sort of hold true to the book, yes. However, as I watched the plot go from wrong to worse, I became more and more disappointed, until the end of the movie, with a scene of a frantic, reckless duel between Edmond and Ferdinand. The book comes nowhere close to this, nor would the well-educated Count of Monte Cristo engage in such a terribly fought battle. I was upset.

Plot aside, the cinematography was well done, and the story came together nicely, if not accurately, to pull up the same feelings of betrayal as the book. However, this comparison is not even worth mention, truly, as they are two entirely different stories after Dantes's trip to the Chateau d'If.

If you are in the mood for a cinematic Count of Monte Cristo experience, I suggest the anime series "Gankutsuou" AKA "The king of the cave". It's a wonderful futuristic, sci-fi interpretation of the book that plays almost perfectly in sync with the book, compared to this movie.

I would suggest watching this movie, but know that it is not, and doesn't come close to being, the book.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
2
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More The Count of Monte Cristo reviews
Quick Tip by . June 21, 2010
Best film version of this classic yet!
Quick Tip by . June 21, 2010
One of my absolute favourite novels. Recommended for everyone.
Quick Tip by . June 12, 2010
Not entirely legit, but guilty fun!
Quick Tip by . June 06, 2010
Can I recommend the French version starring Gerard Depardieu? It is terrific entertainment and very true to Dumas' plotline.
Quick Tip by . June 04, 2010
This book should have a five out of five. Why Doesn't it? Any way this books deals with revenge, trust, and friendship. Is revenge worth it? Does revenge help and or fix anyones problems? P.S. There are at least three movie versions of this book they are all good.
review by . November 15, 2008
The Count Of Monte Cristo
If you have ever read Dumas's classic The Count Of Monte Cristo, you will be disappointed in this movie. If you haven't, then perhaps you enjoyed this haphazardly scripted piece of tripe, but I found that it bordered on offensive the way it strayed from the novel.     TCOMC has always been my absolute favorite revenge novel, a place where revenge is cold and bitter and immensely satisfying to savor. The movie made it quick, painless, and silly.     Removing …
About the reviewer

Ranked #1489
I am a student at Oberlin College in Oberlin, Ohio working on a Japanese degree. I hope to learn about literature, and share my knowledge on the subject with everyone!
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Mouaijin
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Starring James Caviezel, Guy Pearce, Richard Harris, Luis Guzman
Directed by Kevin Reynolds
Writer:  Jay Wolpert
Based on the classic novel "The Count Of Monte Cristo" by Alexandre Dumas
2002

Product Description
Jim Caviezel (HIGH CRIMES) and Guy Pearce (THE TIME MACHINE) give sizzling performances in THE COUNT OF MONTE CRISTO -- the greatest tale of betrayal, adventure, and revenge the world has ever known. When the dashing and guileless Edmond Dantes (Caviezel) is betrayed by his best friend (Pearce) and wrongly imprisoned, he becomes consumed by thoughts of vengeance. After a miraculous escape, he transforms himself into the mysterious and wealthy Count of Monte Cristo, insinuates himself into the French nobility, and puts his cunning plan of revenge in action. This swashbuckling thriller will have you sitting on the edge of your seat until the last ounce of revenge is exacted.
view wiki

Details

Director: Kevin Reynolds
Genre: Action, Drama, Adventure
Release Date: January 25, 2002
MPAA Rating: PG-13
Runtime: 2hrs 11min
Studio: Touchstone Pictures, Spyglass Entertainment
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists