|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » The Gingerdead Man » User review

The Gingerdead Man

A 2005 horror-comedy film starring Gary Busey and directed by Charles Band.

< read all 8 reviews

SO OUT THERE IT IS FUN PLUS BUSEY SAVES THIS

  • May 13, 2010
Rating:
+3
THE GINGERDEAD MAN

I am a huge B movie fan and a fan of Charles Band and his Full Moon Pictures love the low budget style they bring. This one is one of those that you have to go into this knowing what you are getting and accept it. Gary Busey is indeed the Gingerdead Man; yes a gingerbread cookie with a killer attitude. This is absolutely not a classic and is absolutely pure low budget greatness, I love it. Plus I like the fact that the film is set in Waco Texas which is like little over an hour away from me.

The Leigh family is killed in a robbery by a madman played by Busey except the little girl of the family. She sends him to jail with her testimony at court and he eventually goes to the chair. His mother says she will get revenge and after receives her son's ashes her plan takes place. She takes them to the bakery that Sarah Leigh owns and works at and gets it mixed into the gingerbread mix. Once the cookies are cut [this one in particular is bigger for some reason] and baked the fun begins as does the killing.

Let me say from jump that the special effects for this film are as funny as the idea of this movie. The Gingerdead man looks cool and Busey is absolutely brilliant as the cookie, the writing favors him a lot. Writers August White and William Butler came up with a crazy idea some horrible dialogue and some funny one liners for the baked good. Charles Band is a producer and director for this one and while nowhere near earlier classics it is kinda funny.

As for acting every one other Busey and his voice over and lead Robin Sydney need some work, some pretty bad stuff. Our lead shows that she can carry herself for the entire film but that is about it, also that one guy she hooks up seems like he is older than the character he plays. But overall the deaths are ok but are really funny because of how bad the film kinda is. I thought this film was funny and did not regret buying it, in fact part 2 [passion of the crust] here I come.
SO OUT THERE IT IS FUN PLUS BUSEY SAVES THIS SO OUT THERE IT IS FUN PLUS BUSEY SAVES THIS SO OUT THERE IT IS FUN PLUS BUSEY SAVES THIS SO OUT THERE IT IS FUN PLUS BUSEY SAVES THIS SO OUT THERE IT IS FUN PLUS BUSEY SAVES THIS SO OUT THERE IT IS FUN PLUS BUSEY SAVES THIS

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
15
Thought-Provoking
15
Fun to Read
15
Well-Organized
15
Post a Comment
August 02, 2010
Do you kill him by dipping him in a giant glass of milk until he gets soggy and crumbles?
 
May 28, 2010
I've liked a lot of the Full Moon flix but I've avoided this one like the plague. Maybe I should give it a try just so I can watch the second one--PASSION OF THE CRUST? That's the best title pun I've heard this week.
 
May 13, 2010
These types of movies will never get a decent budget, it will never become mainstream--but it definitely has its charms as a silly, cheeky horror movie. I love Ginger Bread so I guess the villain in this movie is at a disadvantage since I will eat him! LMAO
May 13, 2010
I was thinking the same thing, he looked half way yummy.
 
May 13, 2010
I can't believe somebody else actually saw this.  Furthermore, I can't believe that there's a part deux (this is the first I've heard of it!).  Fortunately, I'm a B movie fan, too, so I think that the quirks of the film are pretty awesome.  This was so bad that it was almost good.  Almost ;)  Thanks for sharing!
May 13, 2010
They should make a horror movie with the same concept called "The Ice Cream Man" or "The Cheeseburger Man"--and have me star as the monster hunter. LOL
May 13, 2010
Do you really want to deal with a mutant ice cream cone or cheeseburger with a butcher knife? I would hope that it would have as terrible a name as The Gingerdead Man... ;D
May 13, 2010
Indeed there is a second film, the "Passion of The Crust".
May 14, 2010
LOL! I think "Haagen Slash" and "Burger Kill" can be catchy now...I would just eat the monster mutant food! mwahahahah. I bet you'll help too, Lady Devora :P
May 14, 2010
Not if either of these things kill me first.... ;P
 
1
More The Gingerdead Man reviews
Quick Tip by . August 02, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
This was obviously not a good time in Gary Busey's life.
Quick Tip by . August 02, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Greatest Movie About a Holiday Cookie.ever. So bad and yet so funny!
Quick Tip by . May 03, 2010
posted in MovieSucktastic
It's called The Gingerdead Man & The Gingerdead Man is voiced by crazy mofo Gary Busey. Need I say more?
review by . March 19, 2006
posted in Movie Hype
Full Moon has done it again. They've turned out a formula movie that's worth watching, at least to B horror movie fans. The plot is simple- guy robs bakery killing the father and son owner, but lets the daughter live- the daughter testifies against the killer- killer gets executed- killer's deranged mother has his ashes mixed in with cookie dough at the offending bakery- possessed cookie goes on a killing spree.     The puppet work is fun to watch and some of the special effects …
About the reviewer

Ranked #7
I basically am just a normal person obbsessed with Mixed Martial Arts, pro wrestling, movies of all kinds, music of all kinds, books of all kinds, and of course foods of all kinds. Just trying to keep … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
FM_ALEX
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Gingerdead Man is a 2005 horror-comedy film starring Gary Busey. It is followed by Gingerdead Man 2: Passion of the Crust. The Gingerdead Man was released on DVD by Shoot Productions.
view wiki

Tags

Details

Director: Charles Band
DVD Release Date: November 8, 2005
Runtime: 71 minutes
Studio: Wizard Entertainment

First to Review

"Run, Run Fast as You Can...."
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists