|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » The Hunger (1983 movie) » User review

Hungry For More

  • Dec 3, 2009
Rating:
+5

This had to be my first brush with both Catherine & Susan back in the day. As a kid, I suppose I was luke-warm to this one but grew to love it over the years. Is the binding of three great stars not enough to draw a person back again & again? Surely, that has some appeal to the true cult film watcher but perhaps there was something much deeper than that which made me want to re-watch this film over the years & I'm thankful now that I did. 

Be forewarned. The Hunger is a terrific film but it's rather slow paced & does take it's time to build up to that ultimate climax. If you don't have the patience for something in this vein (no pun intended), skip it & come back to it another time. On the other hand, indulge yourself if you like artsy horror with gobs of gauzy style. No, it's not self-indulgent but the creepy atmosphere alone is worth several stars.

In the opening scene, we see Peter Murphy (Bauhaus) in some cage within a night club singing the classic "Bela Lugosi's Dead". If that's not an eye & ear opener for starters, I don't know or don't care what is. then we are treated to meeting our two fiends who have been around for centuries drinking blood, of course, from the unsuspected living. Essentially, we learn very quickly that they hang out in nightclubs as swingers & then proceed to go home with their victims. After draining their victims of precious life fluid we know as blood, the bodies are cremated the following morning.

It's not long before we discover Bowie's character John is aging much too fast & he will soon depart if something is not done to slow down this aging process. In hopes of preserving himself, he attempts to locate a doctor who specializes in the field of examining or researching the abnormal aging process. At first, the doctor (played marvelously by Sarandon) ignores his pleas & leaves him in the waiting room for hours. When she returns, he has aged rapidly.

As the film progresses, both women have met in part due to the doctor's search in finding the aging young man. Miriam (played the ageless Catherine Deneuve) decides then that Dr. Roberts will be her next lover & makes it a point to seduce her in what could be one of the most erotic film scenes ever shown in a Hollywood film. From then on, it's a quest to feed the hunger & sustain immortal life once again.

Again, not for everyone but a very stylish piece of work nonetheless. Worth a rental of course but enthusiasts probably already own this one like myself.
Hungry For More Hungry For More Hungry For More Hungry For More Hungry For More Hungry For More Hungry For More Hungry For More

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
January 14, 2010
Deneuve myst be a vampire herself. it's the only possible explanation.
February 05, 2010
I totally agree. I don't know how she does it. ;-)
February 06, 2010
Vampire.
 
December 30, 2009
TASTY! I really liked this movie, despite having only seen a highly edited version on TV. Bowie is great in this type of role.
December 30, 2009
Haha! It's a great little horror flick though I can only imagine just how sanitized this must have looked on TV. The ivdeotape copy I owned was getting rather worn so I finally upgraded about four years ago to DVD. Needless to say, I felt that it was worthy investment. Hell, the opening scene with Peter Murphy alone was enough to make me want a digital copy. Thnks Orlok!
 
December 03, 2009
I like a slow burn experience, some folks can't relate which is why H-wood goes to the over-extravagant use of EFX. I need to see this. Have you seen the British series "The Hunger"? very good too.
December 04, 2009
I couldn't agree with you more Pak. I curse the day that CGI became so prevalent & wish people would go back to making films like this or The Company Of Wolves again which are huge favs of mine. Dude, I can't possibly recommend this one enough to you. This is a fantastic film that deserves repeated viewings & it certainly belongs in your collection. I've heard of the British series but I can't recall watching any of them. I will mark that down as something to check out soon. Thanks!
 
1
About the reviewer
Brian ()
Ranked #28
I've spent years trying to make others happy & not really focusing on what's most important in my own life. Having said that, my own health & security are paramount so now I'm more … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
cenobite7
Your ratings:
May
May
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki


The Hunger
is a 1983 English language horror film. It is the story of a bizarre love triangle between a doctor (Susan Sarandon) who specializes in sleep and aging research, and a stylish vampire couple (Catherine Deneuve and David Bowie).
 
The film is a loose adaptation of the 1981 novel of the same name by Whitley Strieber, with a screenplay by Ivan Davis and Michael Thomas. The Hunger was director Tony Scott's first feature film. The cinematography was by Stephen Goldblatt.
 
The Hunger was not particularly well-received on its release, and was attacked by many critics for being heavy on atmosphere and visuals but slow on pace and plot. Roger Ebert, for example, described it as "an agonizingly bad vampire movie". However, the film soon found a cult following that responded to its dark, glamorous atmosphere. The Bauhaus song "Bela Lugosi's Dead" plays over the introductory credits and beginning. The film is popular with some segments of the goth subculture, and spawned the short-lived TV anthology series of the same name.
 
The film was screened out of competition at the 1983 Cannes Film Festival.
 
Miriam Blaylock (Catherine Deneuve) is a beautiful yet dangerous immortal creature that preys on the lifeforce of humans, inviting a chosen few to be her human lovers, promising them eternal life... with a price. As the film begins, her current companion is John (David Bowie), a talented cellist she married in 18th century ...

view wiki

Details

Director: Tony Scott
Genre: Horror
Release Date: 29 April 1983 (USA)
MPAA Rating: R
Screen Writer: Ivan Davis, James Costigan
Runtime: 97 minutes
Studio: MGM/UA, Peerford Ltd.
First to Review

"Hungry For More"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists