|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring (New Line Platinum Series 4-disc Special Extended DVD Edition) » User review

DVD front

This expansive 4-disc DVD set takes viewers further into "The Fellowship of the Ring".

< read all 8 reviews

One ring to rule them all

  • Nov 29, 2003
  • by
Rating:
+5
Long had fans of J.R.R. Tolkien's "Lord of the Rings" novels waited for a film worth making. The first in New Line Cinema's adaptions of Tolkien's novels, THE LORD OF THE RINGS: THE FELLOWSHIP OF THE RING is just that. In fact, it is the best film since about 1994.

Elijah Wood plays Frogo Baggins, the young Hobbit who discovers that his Uncle Bilbo's (Ian Holm) magic ring is actually the source of a wild hunt which involves elves, orcs, and other creatures of Middle-Earth. After being informed of the nature of this seemingly indestructable ring from wizard Gandalf (Ian McKellen in one of his greatest roles), Frodo sets out for Rivendell while being chased by the hooded Ringwraiths. When finally he narrowly escapes death and arrives at the city of wonder, it is decided that a group of people shall bring the earth to Mt. Doom and destroy it - led by young Frodo. Thus the first live-action adaption of J.R.R. Tolkien's "The Fellowship of the Ring" hits full-thrust.

Peter Jackson's THE LORD OF THE RINGS: THE FELLOWSHIP OF THE RING is a beautiful masterpiece of fantasy adventure, filmed in gorgeous New Zealand to give it that ancient, mystical feeling. Jackson's directing is terrific; he also scripted.

As a matter of fact, the script is the film's only problem, and a slight one at that. Tolkien fans may find themselves disappointed, as about 1/5 of the novel has been deleted from the film; for those people, I recommend the Extended Version. But true die-hard Tolkien/LOTR fans will find a gorgeous film.

Terrific special effects, terrific direction, terrific acting, terrific film. Of course, there is also Howard Shore's finest achievement as a score and some beautiful contributions by new age favorite Enya.

The first installment of THE LORD OF THE RINGS is unmissable. If you have not seen it, you have no idea what you're missing. It is, possibly, the greatest film of all-time. Leave it to one "Ring" to rule them all.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More The Lord of the Rings: The Fel... reviews
Quick Tip by . June 02, 2010
Good stuff. Even though Glorfindel didn't make it into the script ;)
Quick Tip by . September 30, 2009
posted in Movie Hype
The singular most impressive film series in history takes viewers deeper into Peter Jackson's epic "The Fellowship of the Ring" in this DVD!
review by . February 25, 2004
I was not especially taken with Peter Jackson's films, but was sufficiently intrigued by them to read the story, and wasn't especially swayed by that either - Tolkein's masterwork is a heavily over-written linear, episodic chaser providing the context for a devoutly catholic (and therefore fairly block-headed) rumination on good and evil - the sort of thing you don't see too often in these post modern times (and three cheers for that). What did impress me, though, was Tolkien's complete universe …
review by . January 02, 2003
I must admit that the first time I saw Lord of the Rings, I fell asleep.. assuming that my falling asleep meant I didn't like the movie, I didn't attempt to watch it again until I saw this DVD set and figured it was a great value for the price.WOW, what I missed! I'm glad that I never actually saw the original theatrical version, because this extended version of the film is true to the book I knew and loved as a kid.While 4 DVD's seems like a lot to watch (and you probably WON'T watch them all in …
review by . November 10, 2002
posted in Movie Hype
There are DVDs. There are special edition DVDs. There are special edition DVDs loaded with extras. Now, there is THE LORD OF THE RINGS: THE FELLOWSHIP OF THE RING SPECIAL EXTENDED DVD EDITION. I don't think there has been anything like this in home viewing ever. It has been suggested that this Special Edition set is the closest thing one can actually get to having been a part of the movie and I would have to agree.It will take a person about two weeks of 4 hours of viewing each day to get through …
About the reviewer
Tom Benton ()
Ranked #353
Aspiring high school English teacher with dreams of filmmaking and a strong taste for music.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
TomBenton
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Specially created for home viewing, over 30 minutes of new and extended scenes were added by director Peter Jackson, including new music by Howard Shore.

Hours of bonus features
Packaging featuring conceptual sketches
A 12-page companion booklet
Exclusive DVD-ROM content
view wiki

Details

Director: Peter Jackson
Genre: Action, Adventure, Classics, Drama, Fantasy
Release Date: December 10, 2001 (U.K. Premiere); December 19, 2001 (U.S. Premiere)
MPAA Rating: PG-13
Runtime: 208 minutes
Studio: New Line Cinema, Wingnut Films
Polls with this movie
DVD front

The Best Fantasy Films, Part I

by

First to Review

"Incredible."
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists