|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » The Matador (2006) » User review

The Matador (Widescreen Edition) (2006)

Action & Adventure movie directed by Richard Shepard

< read all 5 reviews

Early Almodovar Work

  • May 16, 2009
Rating:
+4
This maybe one of the most brilliant, if not unsettling Almodovar films I've ever seen. Here we have Almodovar's statement or tribute to guilt, sex, & death which may prove to be very gratifying to those who appreciate very dark comedy. Others may quickly find themselves literally out of their element when watching this bizarre masterpiece.
 
Note: Newcomers to Almodovar's work may want to try something a bit more tame such as Volver, All About My Mother, or Women On The Verge Of A Nervous Breakdown unless you are a complete cinema daredevil. If that be the case, have at it! Come join the party!

Where do we begin? There are scenes are bloody bullfights, attempted rape, & serial killings laced with wicked humor sporadically throughout the entire film. In fact, the opening scene of the film is quite a shocker which depicts either a snuff film or an extreme horror film that may put off potential viewers. Sounds interesting, right?
 
Matador basically involves two serial killers in completely different occupations who essentially kill just for the fun of it. In the midst of this craziness, we have a young man who secretly desires to be a bullfighter but strangely faints at the site of blood. Trust me, things get even zanier when the two serial killers meet atlast & the ending is anything but what you'd expect.

Again, not a film for everyone but it's definitely one of the lesser known Almodovar films worth checking out.
Early Almodovar Work Early Almodovar Work Early Almodovar Work Early Almodovar Work

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
4
Fun to Read
1
Well-Organized
4
Post a Comment
November 20, 2009
damn. This was exceptionally great! I can't believe I haven't reviewed this one, this is a mistake I need to rectify quickly! Hey, have you seen the erotic satire JAMON JAMON? For some reason, after I read your review, that movie came to mind.
November 21, 2009
If you liked Jamon Jamon, I would be willing to bet a dollar to a donut that you love this one! It's perhaps one of the darkest, most erotic film I've seen thus far from Almodovar. Dude, get this one if you haven't seen it already! It's freaking amazing & me thinks Woo would like it if for no other reason than Assumptna Serna.
 
May 20, 2009
I'm usually not into the really violent stuff because it always seems to include real violence against animals which I've never been able to handle. While the reast sounds do-able, the bull fighting kind of kills it for me. Have you ever seen SANTA SANGRE?
May 20, 2009
This was definitely not one of his more light-hearted films but it's entertaining for the most part. You might enjoy this one. I have always wanted to watch Santa Sangre because I love Jodorowsky films. I just wish someone would give it a proper DVD release. That one would more than likely go in my personal collection based upon what I know about the film.
May 20, 2009
Its almost impossible to even rent a copy of that film. Thank god I kept my VHS. This movie might be a go for me, but not if there is cat death. You didn't say if any cats bit the dust.
May 20, 2009
I know, I can't seem to find VHS copies of that one anymore anymore. I wish I'd jumpred on the bandwagon years ago & purchased one from the local retailers. Nope, there are no scenes of cat deaths. There is one scene where a bullfighter is gored but it's not too graphic. ;-)
May 20, 2009
I don't care if a bull causes gory damage to a man because the man had a choice about whether or not he was going to be there. The bull didn't. Thanx for the cat info. This is now going on my list.
June 11, 2009
Almodovar is unique. I don't think there are many directors out there I can compare him too but this is a great film. Plus, you get to see a much younger & more attractive Antonio Banderas too which is reason to watch. Right? LOL
June 11, 2009
ALWAYS a good reason for me. I think my favorite Banderas though might be THE 13th WARRIOR just because its a genre film.
June 12, 2009
Just about anything with Banderas is watchable I think for the most part. I do love his work with Almodovar. Another one to add to your ever growing list is Law Of Desire which is also great if you can find it.
June 12, 2009
What's that like?
June 17, 2009
Oh, Karen this one is freakin' incredible though I may be a bit impartial to Almodovar films or films with Banderas. ;-)~
June 18, 2009
Well, other than that. I was hoping for something a little more concrete to keep me from having to look up a capsule review.
June 18, 2009
Law Of Desire is sort a dark comedy that definitely focuses on the trangressions commited all for the sake of love. Some people will go to great extremes to find love & I think this film shows you just how dangerous love truly is. I didn't want to tell you too much for fear of spoiling your viewing experience. :-) I do hope you will give it a try though.
June 18, 2009
That's enough of a hint for me. Thanks.
 
1
More The Matador (2006) reviews
review by . July 02, 2007
I see that it's tough for actors who play cultural icons to get work once they end that phase of their careers. George Reeves committed suicide after failing to find work after his 50's portrayal of Superman on TV. Adam West never got a good role after the campy '60's "Batman." Even Sean Connery had a period of obscurity after his James Bond period. This brings us to Pierce Brosnan, another James Bond: movie-star handsome, perfect in the role of the urbane, suave, and emotionally distant Agent 007. …
review by . June 14, 2007
posted in Movie Hype
When I saw the preview for this movie I just had to see it. I don't know why but it just looked funny and entertaining. Maybe it was seeing Brosnan acting like a complete nut in every scene. The movie is about a bored and lonely assassin Julian Noble (Brosnan) who ends up stalking a traveling salesman named Danny Wright (Greg Kinnear). The thing is that Julian met Danny at a bar in Mexico and likes his personality so now he wants to be friends. Julian has bigger problems though like he can't finish …
review by . August 24, 2006
Now this is an unusual and quite enjoyable movie, with Pierce Brosnan like you've never seen before and with Greg Kinnear giving a hilarious and touching performance, best for both in a long time. I loved the quirky conversations, the no bs jokes, the bright color schemes, the glow of cardamom yellow, aqua and flame red in the background, flower beds and their drinks. This movie is full of flavor, shades and produces quite a few chuckles, but also has some nice moments that make it an enjoyable …
review by . July 07, 2006
THE MATADOR is one of those surprising films whose title seems to suggest something entirely different from the story it tells - until the viewer has the pleasure of viewing this fast paced, immensely entertaining comedy and 'Matador' takes on a whole new meaning!    Richard Shepard wrote and directed this story of a hitman (Pierce Brosnan in one of his finest roles) on the skids who happens to meet a sweet nice guy (Greg Kinnear) whose business is so on the skids that he has …
About the reviewer
Brian ()
Ranked #28
I've spent years trying to make others happy & not really focusing on what's most important in my own life. Having said that, my own health & security are paramount so now I'm more … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
cenobite7
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Pierce Brosnan gives one of his finest performances inThe Matador, a low-key buddy comedy with an agreeably sinister twist. Light-years from his former James Bond image, Brosnan is unshaven, unnerved and unpredictable as freelance assassin Julian Noble, who encounters desperate businessman Danny Wright (Greg Kinnear) in the bar of a modern Mexico City hotel. Danny is intrigued when Julian reveals that he's a "facilitator of fatalities," and his wife "Bean" (Hope Davis) is equally fascinated when Julian shows up unexpectedly, six months later, at Danny's home in Denver. Having lost his touch as a reliable hit-man, Julian needs Danny's help with "one last job," but the logistics of Julian's lethal profession (involving an employer played by Philip Baker Hall) are secondary to writer-director Richard Shepard's offbeat, slightly uneven character study, which gives Kinnear and Brosnan a memorable opportunity to riff on their established screen personas. In making Julian a likable yet tormented drifter who's made a habit of "running from any emotion," Brosnan creates an edgy yet sympathetic character as mysterious as he is fun to be around; if you're going to befriend a hired killer, you could do far worse than a guy like Julian. As Brosnan plays him, he's worthy of a sequel, butThe Matadoris the kind of entertainingly quirky movie that's a hard act to follow.--Jeff Shannon
view wiki

Details

Director: Richard Shepard
Genre: Action, Adventure
Screen Writer: Richard Shepard
DVD Release Date: July 4, 2006
Runtime: 96 minutes
Studio: Weinstein Company
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists