|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » The Raid: Redemption » User review

The Raid: Redemption

A movie directed by Gareth Evans

< read all 4 reviews

And Please Remember To Enjoy Yourselves

  • Apr 16, 2012
Rating:
+5
In the middle of Jakarta's slums lies an impenetrable apartment complex which is a safe house for the city's most dangerous murderers, killers and gangsters. The crappy apartment block has been considered untouchable to even the police. It all changes when an elite team is tasked with raiding the building in order to take down the notorious crime lord Tama Riyandi who runs it and ultimately resides at the top of this insane game of death. Getting ready to tackle this risky and dangerous layered complex rookie officer Rama (Iko Uwais) and a 20 man SWAT team, led by Sergeant Jaka, arrive at the apartment block under the guidance of Lieutenant Wahyu.

So just to start off I have to admit that after viewing this film I really have no interest or will to go see any other movie coming out this year. This is not because The Raid wasn't good but I honestly don't believe there is anything coming out right now that can top this films perfection. I was so happy because out of the many foreign films I have seen this was my first in the theaters and it did not disappoint.

The cinematography and the direction was insane and awesome, it heavily reminded me of "Breaking News" which had perfect action direction and camera work. The premise behind it reminded me of Bruce Lee's "Game Of Death" in that there is a building with many levels and they had to fight their way up and it gets harder and harder as they move up. The soundtrack was extremely fitting and perfectly designed by Mike Shinoda and placed well, giving the film more excitement and giving the scenes a boost of feeling. Also I have to say the dialogue was great, clever, villainous, and funny at times. There was literally never a dull moment and the acting was flawless especially from the villains.

Iko Uwais was a great artist in merantau between his acting and fighting skills he was right where you would expect a young martial artist in his first feature film to be. I couldn't help but notice, in my opinion the choreography was a bit sloppy at times in that film and not as original in some scenes as I was expecting. Some of the things I felt weren't anything new. Still, the story and the fighting together made the film good and there were little weaknesses. I had noticed with his fighting style "Silat" he can look a bit off but in fact he is gaining the upper hand, something like Jackie Chan in the "Drunken Master". What really impressed me with this film was how Iko not only learned from his mistakes and flaws in Merantau but he built himself into a stronger actor and martial artist.

The fight scenes were incredible and unbelievable, in a film genre I thought may have trouble without Tony Jaa and with Donny Yen almost being the only other recognized martial arts star outside of the genre addicts, I thought there was nothing new that would surprise us. I saw some knife skills I never witnessed in my life. It was like they took the elevator scene from Merantau and exploded it into genius works within these box sized hallways. They built on the strengths of Uwais and his Silat style. I was also so happy to see Yayan Ruhian return. I never realized how small he is but honestly it doesn't even matter cause that guy packs a huge punch, and kick as well.

I think this film will be extremely hard to outdo and reading about Tony Jaa returning soon is exciting and I hope he see's this film so he can give his fans something amazing and keep this genre roaring. Iko Uwais is surely on the rise and will become a legend by the time he is done with his career. I was so happy and excited to see this entire team put brilliance into completing an entire movie and making it balanced and not dependent on just the fight and action. This film is a must see and I don't think I will go see another movie in the theater until I buy this and watch it again.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
15
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
15
Well-Organized
15
Post a Comment
November 25, 2012
This is a very nice review.
 
April 25, 2012
Wow. So good that it makes you not want to see others that will probably fall short? You've made me keen to see this one. Thank you.
May 05, 2012
no problem man I am serious about that comment as well lol it was just so damn good I couldn't wait to see it again.
 
April 17, 2012
I heard that Jaa's may not be coming back anytime soon--he joined a Buddhist monastary or so I heard. Nice one, Sonic! Glad this movie made you write a review....
April 17, 2012
Thanks pakman, Yea I'd heard that myself and I hope he didn't go back but I read not to long ago he was out of this and planned on returning to do The Protector 2 with Yanin from chocolate but who knows the media makes stuff up so much.
 
1
More The Raid: Redemption reviews
review by . April 10, 2012
posted in ASIANatomy
Ultra-Violent Indonesian Action Film Finally Takes U.S. Cinemas By Storm!
I’ve been so disappointed with the recent flurry of Hollywood commercial films that I had to once again use my nose to find a great movie amongst the independent/foreign film circuit in my local neighborhood theater. This is how I came across the Indonesian Action film called “The Raid: Redemption” (Indonesian title: “Serbuan Maut” translates to "The Deadly Attack"). This is the second collaboration between fight choreographers Iko Iwais and Yayan Ruhian after …
review by . September 16, 2012
posted in Movie Hype
**** out of ****    In one of the darkest corners of Jakarta, Indonesia there is a run-down apartment complex that houses a plethora of criminals, drug addicts, killers, and the crime lord Tama Riyada (Ray Sahetapy). His kingdom has remained unscathed due to the unsuccessful attempts on the part of the local police to smoke out the place and its inhabitants (his tenants), although the authorities - a Lieutenant Wahyu (Pierre Gruno) in particular - have had enough of Tama's supposed …
review by . April 23, 2012
posted in Movie Hype
Star Rating:         The Raid: Redemption is unwatchably bad – a film that has no ambition other than to be noisy, aggressive, and relentlessly violent. Watching it is a little like being trapped in an arcade game and having absolutely no control over it. The characters, developed solely on shallow and overused clichés, are essentially targets in a shooting gallery, most of them serving no purpose apart from awaiting their cue to die in a savage attack. …
About the reviewer
Keith A Jones ()
Ranked #138
Member Since: Aug 15, 2010
Last Login: Sep 9, 2013 04:22 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
liago4
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

  • The Raid: Redemption
  • Opened March 23, 2012 (Limited 3/23) | Runtime:1 hr 41 min
  • R Strong Brutal Bloody Violence and Language
  • Information for parents: Common Sense Media says not for kids.
  • Rama, a member of a special forces team, arrives at a rundown apartment block with a mission to remove its owner, a notorious drug lord. The building has become a sanctuary to killers, gangs, rapists and thieves seeking accommodation in the one place they know they cannot be touched by the police. When a spotter blows their cover, Rama and his team must fight their way through every floor and every room not just to complete their mission but to survive their bloody ordeal.
  • Cast: Iko Uwais, Joe Taslim, Doni Alamsyah, Yayan Ruhian, Pierre Gruno, Ray Sahetapy, Tegar Satrya, Iang Darmawan
  • Director: Gareth Evans
  • Genres: Art House/Foreign
  •  
  • Poster art for "The Raid."
  • from wikipedia.org:
  • The Raid: Redemption (Indonesian: Serbuan maut) is an Indonesian martial arts action film directed by Gareth Evans and starring Iko Uwais which was released worldwide in March of 2012. This is the second collaboration of Evans and Uwais after their first action film, Merantau released in 2009. Both films showcase the traditional Indonesian martial art Pencak Silat. The fight choreographers of The Raid are Iko Uwais and Yayan Ruhian who also worked on Merantau. The US release of the film features music by Mike Shinoda of Nu Metal band Linkin Park and Joseph Trapanese.
    After ...
  • view wiki

    Details

    Director: Gareth Evans
    Genre: Action, Crime, Thriller
    Release Date: Mar. 23, 2012 (limited), April 13, 2012 (Nationwide)
    MPAA Rating: R
    Screen Writer: Gareth Evans
    © 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
    Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
    ()
    This is you!
    Ranked #
    Last login
    Member since
    reviews
    comments
    ratings
    questions
    compliments
    lists