|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » The Rocky Horror Picture Show (1975 movie) » User review

25th Anniversary Special Edition DVD (front)

A 1975 cult classic musical-comedy that spoofs American culture, science fiction, and horror films directed by Jim Sharman

< read all 9 reviews

Don't Dream It....Be It!

  • May 26, 2009
Rating:
+5
How many campy cult classics can you count on one hand that dominated the midnite cinema for nearly a decade or longer? Here is a perfect example of a musical which has never left our heads and seems to do well with each new generation. Probability suggests that rocky horror picture show will never go out of style and purchasing this DVD is the next best thing to seeing it in your local theatre on Halloween night. 

Having had purchased several videotapes through the years including a few bootlegs, none of the VHS tapes look nearly as good as this DVD. Also, keep in mind this editon includes many bonus extras & the deleted scenes many of us have been after for ages. If you are going to purchase Rocky Horror, this is the collector's dream come true.
 
For those of YOU who haven't had the experience, you obviously don't know what you've been missing through the years. Tim Curry gave the performance of his career as the mad Dr. Frank-N-Furter from the planet Transylvania who has discovered the spark of life. Yes, I'm being serious here. I don't believe Curry did anything quite so entertaining nor intriguing after Rocky.
 
In the early portion of the film, we find a young couple out for a bit of evening fun who end up stranded in the middle of nowhere with a flat tire. With nowhere to go and desperately trying to get out of the rain, they find themselves in a nearby castle surrounded by Transylvanian weirdos. I won't bother telling you the rest because you really do need to see it for yourself in order to believe it but I say you are in for a real treat. 

Without doubt, Rocky Horror is the greatest sci-fi horror spoof ever masquerading as a musical and certainly the most beloved film of it's kind. Don't dream it.... be it !!!!
Don't Dream It....Be It! Don't Dream It....Be It! Don't Dream It....Be It! Don't Dream It....Be It!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
18
Thought-Provoking
10
Fun to Read
11
Well-Organized
10
Post a Comment
June 13, 2009
I remember Rocky. I went to two showings in my life, both at midnight, holding up candles (or lighters, really) and throwing toilet paper at the sound of "Scottie"; be sure to bring an umbrella before you do the Time Warp again!

It's an "OK" film really, but the audience participation is what makes it fun. Kinda like a spoof of a spoof.   Good review.
June 13, 2009
Tha nks for the comments Scottie! I do like the audience participation myself & it's especially fun on Halloween nite at the local theatre. I always leave the theatre covered in rice, toilet paper, & toast. Not to mention soaken wet. Frak that!! LOL Appreciate the comments dude. ;-0
June 13, 2009
Yes, Frak that and all that Shat! I actually reviewed a restaurant today but it would probably only be of interest to locals. See ya, going to the movies for more review material.
June 13, 2009
I will check out the review nevertheless. So what are you going to see at the theatres?
 
May 26, 2009
Nicely done review for my favorite cult film (sure it's obvious, but there's nothing to complain about). :) Am I the only human being who loved both RHPS and Shock Treatment? Sure, the sequel's of a totally different kind, but the music and social commentary is priceless, especially in our reality tv obsessed culture. Give it another try.
May 26, 2009
Thnks again! This is one of my all-time fav films! I will give Shock Treatment another go sometime. I believe a friend of mine has it so that's prime op for me to check it out again. Glad you enjoyed the review. Cheers!!!
May 26, 2009
And when you watch Shock Treatment, think about the onslaught of reality tv and game shows and the way the Republican regimes of the '80s, '90s, and '00s used it to distract us from what's really going on. In a lot of ways, Shock Treatment was deeper than RHPS. While RHPS was a tribute/spoof of classic horror, sci-fi, and b-movies, Shock Treatment is a satire of mainstream America's obsession with tv and the shallow world of celebrities. :)
May 27, 2009
You're right! I think I might've enjoyed Shock Treatment much more or perhaps even appreciated it as being totally original had I not tried to associate the film with RHPS. RHPS has always been a classic in my book as I've loved the film since my earliest teens & I hated to draw comparisons between the two. In my opinion, this should've been a separate project altogether without Brad & Janet so as not to associate it with RHPS as they are two completely different pieces of art. You should write a review on Shock Treatment. *Hint Hint* I really do love your comments here buddy & this really does shed a lot of light on an overlooked piece of cinema. Very nice job! ;-)~
April 10, 2010
I hadn't really thought about it, but a double feature review of both "Rocky Horror" and "Shock" would be a lot of fun.
 
May 26, 2009
Rocky has it all. Great songs, wonderful acting, a very disturbed plot and fantastic one liners. Tim Curry was brilliant. In fact, everyone in this film was great, including Meat Loaf. Richard O'Brien never again wrote anything as good as this, and believe it or not, there is a sequel to Rocky. I saw it once, though, and that was twice too much. This movie will live forever, even though idiots have spoiled the old interaction at theaters. I guess, with people today, you can't do things like that anymore, but it was so much fun. Great review.
May 26, 2009
I saw that one. Shock Treatment, right? It was a piece of crap but a sequel nonetheless I suppose. Sequel but far from equal, right? Thnx for the compliment. It means a lot to me that you enjoyed my review.
May 26, 2009
I think that was the name. It was so bad that I put it out of my mind. You did good with this review.
May 26, 2009
Thanks again! Hopefully you will enjoy some of my future reviews. :-)
 
May 26, 2009
Agreed. This is a great movie. What did you think of Tim Curry in The Addams Family Reunion? I think you would like the Favorite Male Horror Film Icons game in ExhilaRATE.
May 26, 2009
For some unknown reason, never saw any of The Addams Family films. I did play that game & it was lotsa fun. Naturally I voted for Tim Curry. Thanks for the review comment. It means a great deal to me! Cheers!
 
1
More The Rocky Horror Picture Show ... reviews
review by . June 24, 2012
posted in Movie Hype
**** out of ****    Characterized by its signature catchy lyrics, dancing trannies, midnight movie stylistics, and blood-red pouty lips on the common poster; "The Rocky Horror Picture Show" was an unmistakable cult phenomenon that took the world by storm in 1975 by introducing something new: audience participation. Since it's the characters and the songs that the fans of the musical film would remember most fondly; they would often come to midnight screenings and otherwise dressed …
review by . March 16, 2011
This particular movie is a movie that everyone needs to see at least once in their lifetime. It's very fun and very campy but also very weird and at times a little unpleasant. Those unpleasant scenes and unpleasant concepts such as incest and cannibalism are the things that prevent me from giving this a 100 purely based on its camp value. That being said, this movie probably wouldn't have gotten made in this day and age and the big question it brings up is...just, why? That question can …
review by . September 10, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Pros: a visual treat for those that dare to explore     Cons: none for me     The Bottom Line:   "It's just a jump_to_the_left   And then a step_to_the_right   With your hands on_your_hips   You bring your knees_in_tight  But it's the pelvic thrust  That really drives you insane"  ~O'Brien     When I received an email from Talyseon asking me to join the write-off to pay …
review by . October 18, 2010
posted in Cult Cinema
I was ten years old when I first saw “The Rocky Horror Picture Show” at home. Those were the days of VHS, and I didn’t have access to the commercial version sold in stores. I instead watched a grainy copy my parents had taped off of cable TV some years before I was born. I pestered them for months, and they finally consented. But even then, they were convinced that I was too young. Before giving me permission, they would refer to it in whispers as “that kind of movie.” …
Quick Tip by . June 03, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Such a complete utter pile .. That I can't get enough of.
Quick Tip by . August 25, 2009
I remember seeing my first show in SF with a big V on my forehead, dancing & singing along with the show, live performers....what a blast!
Quick Tip by . August 25, 2009
posted in Movie Hype
Everyone loves a good musical, right? Me, I love a warped musical, a "Time Warp"-ed musical. Simply one of the greatest cult films ever.
review by . March 25, 2001
posted in Music Matters
Conceived, written, scored, acted and directed by a hairdresser from Hamilton, New Zealand, the stunning thing about The Rocky Horror Picture Show Soundtrack was not how accurate it is as a send up of seventies pop culture (and it was), but how, despite that, it stands on its own as a damn good rock record - funny, sure, but also sexy, bombastic, funky, swaggering and even moving in places. For all its splendour, there isn't a great deal of rock music from the time (or for that matter since) which …
About the reviewer
Brian ()
Ranked #29
I've spent years trying to make others happy & not really focusing on what's most important in my own life. Having said that, my own health & security are paramount so now I'm more … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
cenobite7
Your ratings:
May
May
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

If a musical sci-fi satire about an alien transvestite named Frank-n-Furter, who is building the perfect man while playing sexual games with his virginal visitors, sounds like an intriguing premise for a movie, then you're in for a treat. Not only isThe Rocky Horror Pictureall this and more, but it stars the surprising cast of Susan Sarandon and Barry Bostwick (as the demure Janet and uptight Brad, who get lost in a storm and find themselves stranded at Frank-n-Furter's mansion), Meat Loaf (as the rebel Eddie), Charles Gray (as our criminologist and narrator), and, of course, the inimitable Tim Curry as our "sweet transvestite from Transsexual, Transylvania."

Upon its release in 1975, the film was an astounding flop. But a few devotees persuaded a New York theater to show it at midnight, and thus was born one of the ultimate cult films of all time. The songs are addictive (just try getting "The Time Warp" or "Toucha Toucha Touch Me" out of your head), the raunchiness amusing, and the plot line utterly ridiculous--in other words, this film is simply tremendous good fun. The downfall, however, is that much of the amusement is found in the audience participation that is obviously missing from a video version (viewers in theaters shout lines at the screen and use props--such as holding up newspapers and shooting water guns during the storm, and throwing rice during a wedding scene). Watched alone as a straight movie, Rocky Horror loses a ...

view wiki
Polls with this movie
Poster

Rate Some Cult Flicks!

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists