|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

The Runaways Movie

The 2009 biopic about the infamous all-girl punk band.

< read all 3 reviews

A Quick Tip by Count_Orlok_22

  • Nov 9, 2010
Ultimately I wasn't surprised by what I thought of this film. Nor was I disappointed, though my expectations weren't very high. While Kirsten Stewart is fantastic as Joan Jett, Dakota Fanning just wasn't believable as Cherie Currie. It also didn't help that the film gives no focus to the other members of the band. Hello, Lita Ford was in The Runaways and she's barely mentioned here. In addition, the screenplay reinvents much of the real story and somehow the true punk rock essence of The Runaways is missing in action. Having said that, I still enjoyed it for what it was, but I'd much rather have had a VH1 Behind the Music episode instead.
Caption Caption
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
3
Post a Comment
February 25, 2011
I liked the film, but like you, I was let down by the fact that the film kind of brushed off the rest of the band. I did like Fanning's portrayal of Currie more than Stewart as Jett. Maybe it's because I kept seeing Bella Swann instead of Joan.
February 25, 2011
And another thing: I thought Tatum O'Neal did a great job with her brief portrayal of Currie's mom.
 
November 09, 2010
This one's still in my queve; I had to bump it down more than once. Good to know that it wasn't a total disappointment.
November 09, 2010
Yeah, most of the faults can be attributed to the casting and the screenplay. I would have preferred a less commercial film; more gritty, more character driven, and more accurate to the band's history.
 
1
More The Runaways (film) reviews
review by . June 06, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
Their appeal was by no means elusive. Assembled by one of the most notorious hitmakers of popular music's brief history, five teenage girls (three among them at least as comely as canorously deft) performed and recorded jagged, chugging rock music that gushed aimless, exuberant sex and rebellion. During their 44-month existence, The Runaways teased, smoked, snorted, drank and rocked a course through hundreds of venues in the United States, United Kingdom and continental Europe to exuberant fans …
review by . March 25, 2011
A while ago I stumbled across a link to The Runaways soundtrack.  That day  I sat and listened as it repeated.   I could not get enough of the music.  The release of the music video, "Cherry Bomb" gave me a sneak peak of some of the expected film footage and got me excited, so excited I had to see the film.  Unfortunately, for me, the only highlights of this film was the soundtrack and observing the obscure crowd that attended the screening.    …
About the reviewer

Ranked #10
Member Since: Dec 16, 2008
Last Login: Jun 7, 2012 07:25 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Count_Orlok_22
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Via imdb website

The Runaways (Neon Angels) is based on lead-singer Cherie Currie's book 'Neon Angel' - a reflection of her experiences as a rock star, but also delivering a strong anti-drug warning to teens and others. David Bowie's "Space Oddity" serves as a metaphor for the narrative-- a slow countdown, a surreal but spectacular rise to fame, then alienation and burnout - a long long way from home.

The movie chronicles THE RUNAWAYS from 1975 - 1977; formed by teenage girls living near Hollywood, CA., and heavily manipulated by their manager Kim Fowley as 'jailbait rock' (all the girls were 16 or younger when the band recorded their first album). The band ultimately succeeds on their own merits as musicians, becoming the first all-girl rock-band to ever break into the world of arena-filling hard rock acts.
view wiki

Tags

Movies, Drama Movies, Dakota Fanning, Kristen Stewart, Joan Jett, Lita Ford, Kim Fowley, Micki Steele, The Runaways, Peggy Foster, Cherie Currie, Jackie Fox, Sandy West

Details

Genre: Drama
Release Date: April 9, 2010
MPAA Rating: R
Runtime: 106 min
Studio: River Road Entertainment
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists