|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » The Sound of Music » User review

The Sound of Music

A 1965 film directed by Robert Wise and starring Julie Andrews.

< read all 10 reviews

I OBSESSED over this movie when I was little..

  • Dec 29, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+5
So while most children were obsessing over Disney movies like Cinderella and The Little Mermaid, I was watching The Sound of Music every weekend. In addition to the Disney movies I should add.

Maria, a nun, is sent to be the governess for all seven children of the vonTrapp family.  They've been known to misbehave and dislike their previous governesses, but Maria wins them over by taking them to the countryside and teaching them about music.

The widowed father, Captain, is currently dating a baroness Elsa, and it set to be married to her soon.  However, the feelings between Maria and the Captain are obvious and inevitable.  The Captain then gets called back to military duty, but as he doesn't want to serve the Reich, he tells them that there is a VonTrapp family musical performance he must attend. At the end, he along with his seven children and Maria flee to Switzerland.

I honestly can't tell you why I'm so obsessed with this movie, but I think it may have to do with the house that they lived in (can I have that house please) and the music - which you'll remember for life and just start busting out in song in the middle of nowhere. It's a fun musical with such a good story.

Regardless, I think this is a great movie for everyone to watch once... the musical is also phenomenal (and I was the only person there my age that was squealing with excitement).. but that's a whole diff story.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
13
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
1
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
March 08, 2009
while i like the sound of music as well, being just a tad older...i like musicals like gigi, guys and dolls, south pacific and so on..
 
January 18, 2009
I always liked the movie, but after I went to Salzburg and stood on the frozen lake behind that beautiful house, I now love it and definitely squeal with delight along with you. Thanks for all your comments, Stephanie!
 
January 14, 2009
it's a quality film. when I was home for christmas we found it on the telly (which thrilled my mom, who immediately started singing along) since it had been a long time since any of us had seen it. however, i was surprised how overacted the whole thing is. still good, tho
 
January 13, 2009
I too LOVE LOVE LOVE this film... like among my top handful of all time favorite movies. I've probably seen it several hundred times. Currently, I'm so excited to share it with my two year old daughter. Teaching her all the songs takes me back again to how moving and universal the themes of this movie are.
 
January 13, 2009
Excellent review! I'm impressed that someone your age can enjoy such a fine film. Now just imagine what the folks at HGTV could do with that house. And they wouldn't be far from the source for the granite countertops. Talk about "House Lust"!
 
1
More The Sound of Music reviews
Quick Tip by . August 24, 2010
Loved this film, and I am not a lover of the musical genre. I was an army brat in Germany when this film debuted and we actually went to Salzburg Austria and saw the Von Trapp family mansion. Great acting by all, the music and score is just superb!!!
Quick Tip by . July 25, 2010
Caption
The Sound of Music is one of the best classic musicals. I never tire of watching it as it nicely incorporates the musical interludes with the storyline.
Quick Tip by . September 25, 2009
Never appreciated this movie when it came out but I find that as I get older I enjoy it more and more.
Quick Tip by . September 24, 2009
A Classic film. The music is everlasting and the story is simple yet wonderful and lovely. Must Watch!
Quick Tip by . September 24, 2009
posted in Movie Hype
A Classic film. The music is everlasting and the story is simple yet wonderful and lovely. Must Watch!
review by . December 01, 2005
posted in Movie Hype
This lovely new 40th Anniversary 2-disc edition of THE SOUND OF MUSIC is a real treat. But, for those in a quandry about buying yet another DVD release of the film (following the "Five Star" 2-disc edition), I say, buy this version but keep the old one too, because it has some great extras that were not ported onto this new edition (more about that later).    THE SOUND OF MUSIC is of course based on the long-running 1959 hit Broadway musical that originally starred Mary Martin. …
review by . December 13, 2005
Most of you know what the movie is about, so we won't rehash that. While the movie sometimes gets a ribbing for it's too sweet of a story, things aren't always rosy as the family encounters the Nazis. Anyway, Twentieth Century Fox "climbed every mountain, followed every rainbow" and created the two-disc 40th Anniversary Edition DVD of the Oscar-winning film South of Music. The cast reunites for the first time in 20 years to celebrate and share memories, old and new.    Julie …
review by . November 06, 2001
posted in Movie Hype
Pros: scenery, music     Cons: some of the story     The Bottom Line: I still highly recommend it, however.           The Oracle says: Richard Haydn has a Bacon number of 2.    Richard Haydn was in Adventures of Bullwhip Griffin, The (1967) with Roddy McDowall    Roddy McDowall was in Big Picture, The (1989) with Kevin Bacon ***      First of all let me say that you could probably …
review by . May 28, 2000
Pros: Great songs and drama     Cons: It is a long movie so plan for it     Children really love this movie; when my two daughters were young they would watch this movie over and over again. This movie was made back in the 60's and really I don't know of another movie that I can compare it to. If you have never seen this movie before, then I suggest that you pick it up. You and your children will really enjoy this movie. There are several fabulous songs that …
About the reviewer
Stephanie Zhu ()
Ranked #154
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=3201141    http://misszhulaneous.blogspot.com/    http://twitter.com/stephaniezhu    I hate passive aggressive … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
stephaniezhu
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

The Sound of Music is a 1965 musical film based on the booked The Story of the Trapp Family Singers by Maria von Trapp.

Maria (Julie Andrews) is a nun who has been called to be a governess for the seven children of the widowed Captain.  The children (Liesl, Friedrich, Louisa, Kurt, Brigitta, Marta, and Gretl) have been known to hostile to previous governesses, but Maria wins them over when she takes them away for a day and teaches them about music and singing.

During this time, the Captain is seeing Baroness Elsa and is set to marry her that summer.  However, she does not get along well with the children and the Captain and Maria's affection for each other cannot be unseen and Elsa eventually leaves the picture.

The Captain is then called back to the serve in the military, but delays this by attending the Salzburg Music Festival where the von Trapp family is performing.  During the closing of this performance, the Captain, his seven children and Maria flee Austria to Switzerland.
view wiki
Polls with this movie
American Beauty

Oscar Winning Movies

by

(I'm a) Yankee Doodle Dandy

40 Classic Broadway Show Tunes

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists