|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

The Wizard of Oz

The classic 1939 MGM musical fantasy starring Judy Garland, Ray Bolger, Jack Haley, Bert Lahr, Frank Morgan, and Margaret Hamilton.

< read all 36 reviews

A Quick Tip by Count_Orlok_22

  • Jun 3, 2010
The greatest American film, the first true classic fantasy film, and the most beloved family film of all time! A virtually perfect film. Flying monkeys, gay lions, fraudulent wizards, and Gothic castles. What's not to love?! : )
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
3
Post a Comment
July 31, 2010
Scotty and I had a discussion about this one. He made up a list of musicals for one of his communities and I argued (as I tend to do about so many things) that I didn't feel that it really fell into that category. Yeah it has singing and dancing, and I did agree that it fit in there better than JAILHOUSE ROCK did which he had also included, but I just can't classify it as a musical. Not what I would call a musical at any rate. Thoughts?
July 31, 2010
It's a fantasy musical and was advertised as such when it was released. I typically place it into the classic fantasy genre when making lists and organizing my DVDs, but with the numerous song/dance numbers, the cast (almost all of which were from Broadway or movie musicals), plus the fact that it was released by MGM during their golden age of musicals are all good reasons to label it as a musical. But for me, musicals aren't a genre unto themselves like fantasy, sci-fi, horror, drama, comedy, etc.. It's more like a separate medium like stage plays, animation, etc. So you're both right and you're both wrong. That probably wasn't what you wanted to hear, was it?
August 01, 2010
It's what I expected to hear. And I suppose I'd given in already by the time I asked the question. I was just curious if you thought the same way or not. I'd call it a musical fantasy however. We could argue classifications all day (because we've almost done it in the past), comedy and horror are not genres unto themselves either as Raimi, Gordon, and a few other people have proven. But for purposes of lists I just like to try and keep it tidier. JAILHOUSE ROCK. That has ssinging and dancing. Is that a musical?
August 01, 2010
I wouldn't know, since I avoid Elvis like the bubonic plague. "Fiddler on the Roof" was a musical, though. : )
August 02, 2010
REally? (she said with fake sarcasm) ;)
August 02, 2010
No, I love Elvis. He was my hero (fake fake sarcasm, also known as real sarcasm).
August 06, 2010
You should here Big Mama Thornton sing Hound Dog just to see the way it's supposed to sound. =)
 
1
More The Wizard of Oz reviews
Quick Tip by . October 21, 2012
A great-loved musical which was a breakthrough in colorization. Made by people who were either very, very high or expected their audiences to be.
Quick Tip by . February 07, 2012
Not even remotely close to being faithful to the book but it doesn't matter, does it, with catchy-ass tunes, an unforgettable cast and fantasy beyond the rainbow of imagination.
Quick Tip by . November 18, 2011
One of the foundations to my vivid imagination. Has possibly every element in a tall tale that is closer to life than one can imagine. I have watched it more than any other movie in my life!
Quick Tip by . October 06, 2010
Iconic and influencial in many ways, a delightful fantasy adventure for the family
Quick Tip by . July 26, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
This movie is a classic for a reason. I have discovered as well than on of the best formats in which to watch it is during a local summer movie festival in a park.
Quick Tip by . July 25, 2010
Caption
This movie was made in 1939, which certainly makes it a classic vintage film. There are some variations from the book in the film that are interesting to note. Read the book and watch the film and you'll have fun  comparing the two versions.
Quick Tip by . August 24, 2010
Great film, I love the tin man. always remember, "disregard the man behind the curtain."
Quick Tip by . July 22, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
This movie is a Classic that never gets old. It brings back memories every time I see it.
Quick Tip by . July 20, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
The film was way ahead of its time, even eerie at times. Definitely a legendary classic that everyone should see.
Quick Tip by . July 20, 2010
it's a classic! you must see this before you die or else
About the reviewer

Ranked #10
Member Since: Dec 16, 2008
Last Login: Jun 7, 2012 07:25 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Count_Orlok_22
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

The Wizard of Oz is a 1939 American musical film directed by Victor Fleming (and uncredited others) from a script mostly by Noel Langley, Florence Ryerson and Edgar Allan Woolf, with uncredited contributions by others. It was based on the 1900 children's novel of the same name by L. Frank Baum, with fantasy elements. It features Judy Garland, Ray Bolger, Jack Haley, Bert Lahr and Frank Morgan, with Billie Burke, Margaret Hamilton, Charles Grapewin, Clara Blandick and the Singer Midgets as the Munchkins. Notable in its use of special effects, use of Technicolor, fantasy storytelling and unusual characters, The Wizard of Oz has become, over the years, one of the best known of all films. Its impact, however, was not nearly as strongly felt at the time of its original release.

Dorothy Gale, a 12-year-old Kansas farmgirl, is knocked unconscious during a tornado. She, her dog Toto, and the farmhouse are transported to the magical Land of Oz. She sets out on the yellow brick road to the Emerald City to ask the Wizard of Oz to return her to Kansas. During her journey, she meets a Scarecrow, a Tin Man and a Cowardly Lion, who join her, hoping to receive what they lack themselves (a brain, a heart and courage, respectively). They are pursued by the Wicked Witch of the West, who wants her dead sister's magic ruby slippers, now worn by Dorothy.

Initially, The Wizard of Oz made only a small profit due to its enormous budget, despite largely favorable critical reviews. ...
view wiki

Details

Director: Victor Fleming
Genre: Adventure, Classics, Family, Fantasy, Musical
Release Date: August 25, 1939
MPAA Rating: Unrated
DVD Release Date: 1999, 2005, 2009
Runtime: 103 minutes
Studio: Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM), Warner Bros. Pictures, Turner Entertainment
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists