|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » There's Something About Mary » User review

There's Something About Mary

A comedy movie directed by the Farrelly brothers

< read all 8 reviews

Matt Dillon's finest work

  • Mar 31, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
There's a lot to love about There's Something About Mary ... from a lovely Cameron Diaz to extremely politically incorrect humor, but in my opinion, the real standout of this movie is Matt Dillon.  His characterization of the cheezy sleuth Pat Healy is a tour de force.  Sure, he runs a little hot, but he gets the job done.  Dillon's skill helped traject this film from very funny to hilarious.  In fact, as I write this review, I'm chuckling thinking about the movie and Dillon.  A deuce, deuce and a half... not bad. 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
2
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
2
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
April 03, 2009
This movie is a classic. Matt Dillon is a great actor. I also enjoyed his work in "You, Me and Dupree. I don't think he's in enough mainstream movies honestly. Enough Owen Wilson. More Dillon!
 
April 02, 2009
"You can't forget, it's a sumo culture, Ted. They pay by the pound over there. Sorta like, um, tuna. ." -- Pat Healey
April 02, 2009
Gotta love the sumo culture.
 
1
More There's Something About Mary reviews
Quick Tip by . July 14, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
This funny film is one of my guilty pleasures. It is the first time I appreciated the comic work of Cameron Diaz in a lead role as well as that of Matt Dillon. Stiller is as funny as usual.
Quick Tip by . June 03, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Just a great, memorable, gross-out comedy. Very few movies are as funny after 100 viewings .. but this stands the test of time.
review by . April 15, 2009
There are just way too many reasons why you should watch this movie.  It's Zoolander + The Notebook, if that can even be possible.    There's something for everyone!  The girls will have a great time watching the romance unfold between Stiller and Diaz.  Men will love to see topless action (Stiller's next door neighbor) and sports fans will love Diaz's little brother.  He loves baseball.    A must watch.. and a definitely a DVD to keep at home.
review by . May 30, 2006
posted in Movie Hype
"There's Something About Mary" is like many cheesey romantic comedies, except that is has more heart and more big laughs. One of the best aspects about Mary is that she is attracted to the integrity of men and not just their appearance. Ted (Ben Stiller) is an awkward teenager with braces who wins the heart of Mary (Carmen Diaz) when he shows the character and courage to defend her handicapped brother. He then garners a chance to take her to the prom, but a terrible accident cuts off their relationship, …
review by . January 30, 2004
posted in Movie Hype
I really am not a fan of gross out humor. In fact, I almost despise it. However, I have several friends and family members who urged me to see THERE'S SOMETHING ABOUT MARY. I finally have and must admit it is better than I expected, but that's not saying much because I wasn't expecting anything good.There is a lot of low-brow, crude humor in this movie. However, some of it is done tastefully enough that it doesn't seem offensive. Actually, very little of it is done tastefully. Most of it is completely …
About the reviewer
About this movie

Wiki

There's Something About Maryis one of the funniest movies in years, recalling the days of the Zucker-Abraham-Zucker movies, in which (often tasteless) gags were piled on at a fierce rate. The difference is that cowriters and codirectors Bobby and Peter Farrelly have also crafted a credible story line and even tossed in some genuine emotional content. The Farrelly brothers' first two movies,Dumb and DumberandKingpin, had some moments of uproarious raunch, but were uneven. WithMary, they've created a consistently hilarious romantic comedy, made all the funnier by the fact that you know that they know that some of their gags go way over the line.

Cameron Diaz stars as Mary, every guy's ideal. Ben Stiller plays a high-school suitor still hung up on Mary years later; the obstacles standing between him and her include a number of psychotic suitors, a miserable little pooch, and, oh yeah, a murder charge. The Farrellys' admittedly simplistic camera work, which adapts easily to a TV screen, and the fact that you'll likely laugh yourself so silly over certain scenes you'll want to replay them to see what you were missing while you were busy convulsing, make this a perfect video movie. --David Kronke

view wiki
Polls with this movie
Meet the Fockers

Ben Stiller Movies

by

American Pie - Unrated (Widescreen Collector's

Guy Flicks

by

27 Dresses (Widescreen Edition) (2008)

Chick Flicks

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists