|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Trick 'r Treat » User review

Will Trick 'R Treat Ever See The Light Of Day?

  • May 19, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
Poison, Drowning, Claw, Or Knife. So Many Ways To Take A Life.

Five interwoven stories that occur on the same block, on the same night. A couple finds what happens when they blow a jack o' lantern out before midnight, a high school principal has a secret life as a serial killer, a college virgin might have met the right guy for her, a group of mean teens play a prank that they take too far, and a hermit is visited by a special trick or treater.

It is said that Halloween is the night when the dead rise to walk among us and other unspeakable things roam free. The rituals of All Hallows Eve were devised to protect us from their evil mischief, and one small town is about to be taught a terrifying lesson that some traditions are best not forgotten. Nothing is what it seems when a suburban couple learns the dangers of blowing out a Jack-o-Lantern before midnight; four women cross paths with a costumed stalker at a local festival; a group of pranksters goes too far and discovers the horrifying truth buried in a local legend; and a cantankerous old hermit is visited by a strange trick-or-treater with a few bones to pick. Costumes and candy, ghouls and goblins, monsters and mayhem... the tricks and treats of Halloween turn deadly as strange creatures of every variety-human and otherwise-try to survive the scariest night of the year.

TRICK 'R TREAT may very well be one of the catchiest trailers I've come across in many a full moon. No pun intended. It's been a long time since a trailerhas really captured the essence of a fun Horror film in quite the same way & I'm literally baffled as to why this film has been shelfed for over a year. To date, we still have no indications of any projected future release dates be it straight-to-video or nationwide theatrical release. Is Warner Bros. just asleep at the wheel or can anyone lend their speculation to this query?

So far, reliable sources have confirmed that Warner Brother Home Video states there will be a DVD release but still no immediate plan of action has been implemented. In fact, we are further told the film currently is without a distributor. In the mean time, some of us may be so lucky as to catch the film at special screening festivals across the country in various venues which makes very little sense. Although crazier things have happened in the world of cinema without any reasonable explanation, I am completely lost as to why a distributor has not seen fit to snag the film & please the culminating fan base out there. Instead, we are futher subjected to more lame Horror films.
 
For over an entire year, trailers have circulated around the world everywhere & I'm almost positive you've seen one yourself. Whether you took an online surveythrough Greenfield or frequent the youtube website, TRICK 'R TREAT trailers have created quite a stir in the Horror fan community & there are a multitude of threads which have clearly shown true enthusiasm perhaps more than any other horror release in recent years. In the wake of mainly torture porn films or ceaseless Asian horror re-makes, TRICK 'R TREAT looks much like the old-fashioned horror film which could assist in rebuilding tired formulas. Again, the shelfing of TRICK 'R TREAT from the main audiences is, indeed, futile.

I have found a few reviews online thus far from satisfied customers who have somehow managed to catch TRT at Screamfest or a number of other festivals. As I might have expected, the responses have all been extremely positive & TRT seems to succesfully incorporate elements of humor & traditional spooky horror which can often prove to be a tedious film-making exercise. Viewers, however, have stated on various websites that this movie has the perfect mixture of both & really captures the essence of what Halloween is all about. Some have even made the incredible promise to purchase the film on DVD & screen it every year. If these promises are any true indication of solid fans dedication to this film, TRT may very well have a strong sales base once it's given a full DVD release to the masses.

So what should we do if anything at all? If you are like me, perhaps you are tired of waiting for those at Warner Brothers to get off their lazy asses & release the damn film as one year is long enough to wait. Should we annoy the living hell out of them? Ok, why not. Let's make hundreds of copies of letters and send one out a day. I hate that it has to come to this, but let's force these WB imbeciles to think about TRICK 'R TREAT. I sent a letter to all 4 people today, along with this article:

http://firefox.org/news/articles/2126/1/Why-...ecent-Memory/Page1.html

If you are with me on this or just love the Horror industry, here is where you can do your part & hopefully put an end to this insanity. Flood those fools at Warner Brothers with letters.

Alan Horn
President, COO
Warner Bros
4000 Warner Blvd, Bldg 3
Burbank Calif 91522
(818) 954-6000

Jeffrey Robinov
President
Warner Bros Picture Group
4000 Warner Blvd, Bldg 3
Burbank Calif 91522
(818) 954-6000

Kevin McCormick
President of Production
Warner Bros
4000 Warner Blvd, Bldg 3
Burbank Calif 91522
(818) 954-6000

Thomas Tull
Legendary Pics
4000 Warner Blvd Bldg 76
Burbank Calif 91522
(818) 954-6000

Remember, keep it evil. Keep it real.
Will Trick 'R Treat Ever See The Light Of Day? Will Trick 'R Treat Ever See The Light Of Day? Will Trick 'R Treat Ever See The Light Of Day? Will Trick 'R Treat Ever See The Light Of Day?

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
December 28, 2010
This was a really good flick
 
October 08, 2009
Same thing happened with Maurice Devereaux's END OF THE LINE. He had to wait 2 years before he could get even a dvd distributor for the film because they all wanted him to remove the scene involving the pregnant woman. Happily he didn't remove it, but that was still a ridicuously long time to have to wait for the film. He did the same thing and took it to festivals while he was waiting.
October 08, 2009
That's really a shame. I LOVE both of these films & I'm delighted that they have found a distributor for the DVD lovers of the world. I'm glad Devereaux didn't cave in & cut the footage just to appease those assholes. I think you are going to enjoy Trick 'R Treat. I just had the wonderful experience of finally seeing the film I've been waiting on for almost two years. Let me know if you should get the chance to see it. It's definitely one for the holidays & perhaps my favorite Halloween flick of all time.
October 09, 2009
It's on my list but they say here's a long wait for it. I put it at the top though.
October 09, 2009
I recommend buying it. You are so going to love this. Well, I certainly hope so or I'm no longer cenobite. ;-)
October 10, 2009
I wish I could buy it but I have to rent first these days.
October 10, 2009
I was in such a hurry to see this one that I avoided renting it & just bought a copy. After two years of waiting, I just couldn't fathom waiting much longer. I will probably write up my own review to replace the petition column sometime soon. ;-)
October 10, 2009
I just have zero cash. Looking forward to an actual review from you. I read Woop's last night.
 
October 08, 2009
Waiting is a dirty job.
October 08, 2009
Yeah, but I guess somebody has to do it. I'm just glad that I don't have to wait anymore. I went out & bought my own copy so now I can watch it anytime I so feel like it. Stay tuned for the review.
 
October 07, 2009
Hey, bud. I have no idea as to how and why I missed this write up but your question has been answered...the movie is excellent; a fitting homage to the holidays!
October 07, 2009
I wrote this as a colum for a movie site nearly a year ago. At that time, no one seemed to have any clue when this film would ever get a proper release & it pissed me the fuck off. Other than appearing during certain movie festivals, it seemed we would never see this film at a local multiplex or on DVD. I've been waiting a long time for this one & I've gone ahead with my purchase. Will be watching this one tonite bro.
 
1
More Trick 'r Treat reviews
review by . October 19, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
**** out of ****     Halloween movies are Halloween movies because they care about the popular holiday and choose to often exploit the horrors that we celebrate annually at the end of each October, and without noticing it. You've got your classic holiday flicks such as "Halloween"; then you've got your "classics-in-the-making", and oh, there are plenty of them. "Trick 'r Treat" is but one such film; a hilarious, bold, charmingly grotesque little horror flick that unfortunately …
review by . October 07, 2009
posted in Movie Hype
poster
     The Festivities of All Hallows Eve have originated from ancient times and these days, it just so happens that it is now a yearly tradition when people can dress up in costumes, kids can have lots of candy and watch a marathon of horror movies on TV. Halloween can be so cool, and Michael Dougherty adapts his own short story "Season's Greetings" in “TRICK R TREAT”; it is the best movie to pay homage to Halloween. The film is the medicine for all …
review by . July 18, 2010
       Trick ‘R Treat is the ultimate Halloween film. This film has all those elements that make it that perfect film to catch on hallows eve. Directed by Michael Dougherty, the film is based on his short film Seasons Greetings. When I first watched his short film, it left me wanting more…   About the film, the film is an anthology of four Halloween stories. What makes the film so dark and sweet is the way they are intertwined.  There is a certain …
review by . October 22, 2009
Sadly, this film got stuck in distribution hell as no one would pick it up for a theatrical release. Now, a year later and after having played very well at festivals, the film is out on DVD.      Trick 'r Treat is a horror anthology but unlike a lot of other anthologies, it's structured differently. Instead of returning to a central place between each new segment, the stories are interwoven as characters move about the town on Halloween; stars of one story appear briefly in others …
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Really enjoyed this didnt know what was going to happen in the end
Quick Tip by . October 17, 2009
Perhaps one of the best (if not the greatest) horror flick ever made about Halloween. This would make John Carpenter & others proud.
About the reviewer
Brian ()
Ranked #28
I've spent years trying to make others happy & not really focusing on what's most important in my own life. Having said that, my own health & security are paramount so now I'm more … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
cenobite7
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Trick 'r Treat is a 2008 horror film. It was written and directed by Michael Dougherty and based on his short film Season's Greetings. Originally slated for an October 5, 2007 release, it was announced in September 2007 that the film had been pushed back. Warner Bros. and Legendary Pictures released the film direct to DVD on October 6, 2009 in the US & Canada, October 26 in the UK and October 28 in Australia. However, it first appeared on 7th October 2008 in Spain, during the SITGES International Film Festival of Catalonia (Sitges Film Festival).
view wiki

Details

Genre: Horror, Action, Adventure
Release Date: October 5, 2007
MPAA Rating: R

Polls with this movie
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists