|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Tropic Thunder » User review

Tropic Thunder

A movie directed by Ben Stiller

< read all 18 reviews

Like Zoolander, it gets funnier with repeated viewings

  • Apr 29, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+3
Tropic Thunder is a guilty pleasure - much along the lines of Zoolander in that it's packed with witticisms and caricatures that take a few viewings to go from very funny to absolutely hilarious. My wife hated this film by the way, and it's definitely not for everyone - but if you have a bizarre sense of humor, you'll like it. Rather than re-hash the plot, I'd like to quote my favorite parts without giving anything away: 

- Tom Cruise as the Producer (Les Grossman) is in his best role ever. Forget Born on the Fourth of July or any of that serious stuff - this is pure gold. Basically, none of the quotes are clean enough to repeat, but he has some of the best dialog since Lee Ermey in Full Metal Jacket. 

- The entire subplot about actors who depict mentally challenged characters in order to get Oscars is genius. It's a shame this was seen as offensive since the fun is being poked (savagely) at Hollywood rather than people with disabilities. The Simple Jack character is a masterful blend of Rain Man, Forrest Gump and I Am Sam. 

- Robert Downney Jr's scenes are all downright hilarious (the "you people" scene was great). He's one of the most talented actors around these days, and it's uncanny how he can play Russell Crowe playing "Kirk Lazarus". 

Needless to say, this is one for the DVD collection. There's a saggy 20 minutes towards the end that slows the pace a little but otherwise it's pretty much non-stop laughs all the way.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
2
Thought-Provoking
1
Fun to Read
1
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
April 29, 2009
Hm, I was a little iffy, but I did LOVE LOVE LOVE Zoolander. Ok, you won me over!
April 29, 2009
Yes - give it a shot! Fave Zoolander quote: "How do expect them to learn to read when they can't even fit in the building?!". Lol
 
1
More Tropic Thunder reviews
review by . September 28, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Thunderously Hilarious.
Warning   If your easily offened (or have no sence of humor) do not watch this film.               OK so were do I begin, how about the fake trailers at the begining or how bout Tom Cruises awesome dancing skills (sarcasm).      What ever the case likeTopic Thunder is similar in storyline to Malibu's Most Wanted its about a group of actors who think they are filming a movie in the jungle, but are completely …
Quick Tip by . October 01, 2010
Good fun to watch with the guys, though definitely odd.
Quick Tip by . August 09, 2010
A good comedy is paced like a good action film, and the (laughable?) turns to drama(?) in the final third made me shrug and not care.
Quick Tip by . July 18, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
This movie was great i loved it! I would watch it again if I had it myself.
Quick Tip by . July 14, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
This is a great parody on the art and hype of movie making.
Quick Tip by . July 14, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
RD Jr. was great...but Cruise steals the show as Les Grossman. Will we see a LG movie?!
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
all these great actors and such a terrible movie it has its funny parts might as well just watch the previews
Quick Tip by . December 17, 2009
Just seen this film and it was odd to say the least - watchable but not particularly funny ha ha.
review by . September 16, 2008
While Ben Stiller's latest comedy film, Tropic Thunder isn't a perfect film it is one of the better comedies to come along this summer (although, when your competition is comprised of films like The Love Guru, maybe this is damning it with faint praise). It's long, it doesn't always work, and one gets the feeling that Stiller and company applied an "everything but the kitchen sink" approach when it came to the material, but there are still enough funny bits and solid performances to make the whole …
Quick Tip by . August 21, 2009
if i didn't know that Robert Downey Jr was in this film, i wouldn't have been able to pick him out. this started much better than it ended.
About the reviewer
James Beswick ()
Ranked #13
Lunch.com's "token Brit".
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
jbeswick
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

It's not really a knock to say that nothing inTropic Thunderis funnier than its first five minutes, so sly that--especially for people watching in theaters--you don't realize right away theyarethe opening minutes of the movie. This outrageous comedy begins with a series of fake previews, each introducing one of the main characters in the film-proper (not that there's anything proper about this film) and each bearing the familiar logo of a different motion picture studio: Universal, DreamWorks SKG, et al. Such playing fast and loose with corporate talismans verges on sacrilege, but it's an index of how much le tout Tinseltown endorses the movie as a demented valentine to itself. The premise is that the cast of a would-be "Son of Rambo" movie shooting in some Southeast Asian jungle get into a real shooting war with drug-smuggling montagnards. Don't ask--though the movie does have an answer--why such highly paid, usually ultra-pampered personnel as superhero Tugg Speedman (Ben Stiller), Mozart of fart comedy Jeff Portnoy (Jack Black), hip-hop artist Alpa Chino (Brandon T. Jackson), and five-time Oscar-winner Kirk Lazarus from Aus-try-leeah (Robert Downey Jr.) should be running through the jungle unattended and very vulnerable. It matters only that the real-life cast has a high time kidding their own profession and flexing their comedic muscles. Bonus points go to Stiller for co-writing the script (with Justin Theroux) and directing, and to Downey,...
view wiki

Details

Director: Ben Stiller
Release Date: 13 August 2008 (USA)
MPAA Rating: R
Screen Writer: Ben Stiller, Justin Theroux
Runtime: 107 min
Polls with this movie
Meet the Fockers

Ben Stiller Movies

by

First to Review

"Thunder in the Jungle"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists