|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Twin Peaks: Fire Walk with Me » User review

1992 film directed by David Lynch

< read all 3 reviews

Who Killed Laura Palmer?

  • Oct 10, 2009
Rating:
+5

During my freshman year in high school, I would often skip drama rehearsals after school or speech & debate just to watch David Lynch's Twin Peaks on TV. Oh, come on. Give Peaks a chance, would you? Ok, I know Peaks was for geeks but I love anything that David Lynch makes & this show was no exception to that rule. I was determined to watch every single episode starting with the pilot show. Although I don't feel like we ever truly understood Laura in the television show, Lynch granted us a true blessing when he unleashed Twin Peaks: Fire Walk with Me in theaters just a few years after the show was taken off the air.

Naturally, Lynch is not always well-received sad to say & Cannes supposedly gave him the big thumbs down on this one although I loved every second of it. Finally, we are introduced to the infamous Laura Palmer & we can see just exactly who she was right before her untimely death. I was actually a bit shocked at how different the movie was from the original television show but Lynch never fails to amaze me. Without the confinements or restaints of television, Lynch's imagination is free to run wild & explore unchartered territories in the grand scheme of things & he has quite a story to tell.

In the performance of her career, beautiful Sheryl Lee plays the beloved homecoming queen Laura Palmer who spends her final days descending into a vortex of sex & drugs before succumbing to her inevitable death at the hands of Bob. Mind you, this is not a walk-through role by means & Sheryl Lee gives an intense if not honest portrayal of a young woman slowly losing her grip with reality. I actually found myself  speechless while watching Laura take this plunge into the virtual unknown & felt emotionally numb for a long time after the film ended.

I became so immersed in the sory of Luara Plamer that I actually went searching through used book bins after seeing this film to find "Secret Diary of Laura Palmer", which was actually written by David's daughter Jennifer. Although this was a rare find, I was determined to read it while the film was still fresh in my mind. Sufficed to say, the diary was a poignant piece of writing that only serves to show what a disturbing life this young woman had. In first person, the books recounts specific details of her mental torture & anguish at the hands of a completely mysterious entity named "BOB". 

Sadly, what struck a nerve with me back then & still bothers me somewhat today is how much young women fall into the pitfalls or trappings much like Laura Palmer only to find themsevles well past the point of no return. In fact, some people I've known in my life remind me very much of Laura unfortunately so this film was by no means an easy watch. 

Lynch's Fire Walk With Me was originally intended to be a prequel to his infamous TV show & he had originally filmed four hours of material. Much to our dismay, the film was edited due to some rather graphic violence which disturbed some Cannes viewers. I had originally hoped this missing footage would one day resurface on a special edition DVD but nothing has made it's way into the light so far. There is almost another rumor that I cannot substantiate which suggests Fire Walk With Me was meant to be the first of three films. 

Although I can't recommend this film enough to lovers of great or Lynch enthusiasts, I still hope that one day we will be granted a special edition of this great film which it rightfully deserves.         

    
Who Killed Laura Palmer? Who Killed Laura Palmer? Who Killed Laura Palmer? Who Killed Laura Palmer?

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
11
Thought-Provoking
11
Fun to Read
11
Well-Organized
9
Post a Comment
October 13, 2009
I still have to catch up on the series. I'm what you might call an occasional Lynch fan. I loved "Mulholland Dr." and his earlier stuff, but sometimes his work comes off as being too unfocused for my tastes. Have you reviewed "Blue Velvet" here?
October 13, 2009
It's quite possibly one of my favorite TV series of all time but the movie seems entirely different. Haven't reviewed Blue Velvet as of yet but might do so somewher down the road. I have about three pending reviews to finish up on.
 
October 11, 2009
Loved Sheryl Lee in VAMPIRES and BLISS...extremely sexy homo sapien. Nice review. So what's your favorite film by Lynch?
October 13, 2009
I like Sheryl Lee. I've seen a few of her films such as Backbeat & of course this one. I think she's very attractive too. Hmm, favorite Lynch film. That's tough. I love Blue Velvet, Eraserhead, & Mulholland Drive. I do like Wild At Heart, Inland Empire, & Lost Highway although those were kinda disappointing. It's difficult to rank Lynch films.
 
October 11, 2009
I loved the series up til the point where I realized he wasn't going anywhere in particular.
October 13, 2009
It's often hard to see which direction Lynch is taking with his endeavors but I used to think this was the most innovative show on TV. I really missed it after it was gone. :-( Do you like his films better or his TV shows>
October 13, 2009
Films definitely. He's more of an artist though than a film maker perse and sometimes I don't really think he IS going anywhere in particular in the sense that others are. He didn't really have some sort of master plan for what TWIN PEAKS was all about set up in advance--I think it just sort of "happened" in the sense that artists like Warhol used to have Happenings back in the day.
October 13, 2009
I do love his work although much of it is very avantgard so to speak or abstract which means obviously "multiple meanings" & that's ok by me I suppose. I don't know specifically where he is going with certain films & he does't usually give away many clues which can be frustrating at times. Then again, maybe that's the beauty of the artwork. It's hard to say.
October 13, 2009
It is frustratng. It's also the reason PEAKS could never last on TV for very long. Nice while it did though. NORTHERN EXPOSURE did a little PEAKS tribute once. The doctor was looking through his binoculars and commented that he thought he's seen a woman carrying a log around.
October 13, 2009
Yeah, I remember that. I had a friend who loved NE & had pointed that out to me which I thought was cool.
October 13, 2009
I think after that he said something about suddenly having this strange craving for a piece of cherry pie! =)
 
1
More Twin Peaks: Fire Walk with Me reviews
review by . August 31, 2009
Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me was a prequel/reboot of the short lived television series that was created by David Lynch and Mark Frost. The film chronicles the last seven days of the life of Laura Palmer. She was a tragic figure who wished her life could have been different. But family secrets and a wild lifestyle brought and end to all of that.       The film begins with a similar case a year before the events of Twin Peaks. A murder in a small town that's the opposite number …
review by . February 15, 2010
It anwsers the questions left by the series but this fire walk is less than moving....
It's unique in it's storytelling and plot, it's original in it's line of mind bending twist and psychological tricks but falters in it's acting, script which causes an extremely original an engrossing story to stall out halfway through the film. But I will say this in favor of the film David Lynch's "Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me" is every bit as twisted, demented and mind boggling as you would expect from the creator of one of the most original and twisted series of all time.   …
About the reviewer
Brian ()
Ranked #29
I've spent years trying to make others happy & not really focusing on what's most important in my own life. Having said that, my own health & security are paramount so now I'm more … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
cenobite7
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

A prequel/reboot of the Twin Peaks story.

Filmed at over 4 hours but was edited down to 2.

Was meant to be the first of three films.
view wiki
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists