|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Water for Elephants (movie) » User review

Water for Elephants

A 2011 movie directed by Francis Lawrence.

< read all 5 reviews

'Water For Elephants' 'Two Jews On Film' Fly High Under The Big Top With This Romantic Drama (Video)

  • Apr 22, 2011
Rating:
+4

'Water For Elephants' directed by Francis Lawrence (I Am Legend) and written by Richard LaGravenese (The Bridges Of Madison County) is based on the novel of the same name.  The book was written by Sara Gruen and was on the New York Times best seller list for over 12 weeks in 2006.

The film takes place during the Great Depression...1930's...a time when people needed desperately to escape their world of poverty...People needed a place where they could experience wonder, magic and even a little danger.  And they found that under...The Big Top.

And so did veterinary student Jacob (Robert Pattison) Jacob is  just about to graduate from Cornell Veterinary College when he gets side-tracked by a tragic accident.

 Leaving everything he ever knew or cared about, Jacob hops on a train and finds himself transported to what seems like a magical place...A place where he can forget all his pain...a place where he can be accepted....The Benzini Bros Circus.

 It's here, Jacob meets and falls deeply in love with Marlena, the beautiful, star performer of Benzini Bros and the wife of circus owner and ringmaster...August, (Christopher Waltz).

 August is a man who is charming, intelligent and charismatic.  He's also a twisted, violent tyrant who will stop at nothing to get what he wants..even if it means throwing non essential personal off of a moving train to their death.  
 
'Water for Elephants is a story of love, hope, redemption, second chances at finding happiness.  This is what I'd call...An old fashioned epic film.

 The movie is different from the book and of course, fans of the novel, may not agree with the changes the screenwriter made...But since I haven't read the novel, I went along for the ride and found it a beautiful one.

 I thought about this film long after I left the theatre.  All the performances were excellent.  Christopher Waltz however, stole every scene he was in...As did Rosie...the wonderful elephant that brought Jacob and Marlena together and gave them the courage to fight for their love and the life they deserved.

'Two Jews On Film' actually (for a change) were in agreement about this movie and gave 'Water For Elephants' 4 1/2 Bagels out of 5.  The film opens in theater, Friday April 22, 2011.      
'Water For Elephants' 'Two Jews On Film' Fly High Under The Big Top With This Romantic Drama (Video) 'Water For Elephants' 'Two Jews On Film' Fly High Under The Big Top With This Romantic Drama (Video) 'Water For Elephants' 'Two Jews On Film' Fly High Under The Big Top With This Romantic Drama (Video) 'Water For Elephants' 'Two Jews On Film' Fly High Under The Big Top With This Romantic Drama (Video)

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
May 06, 2011
I am SO HAPPY you guys loved this film! I did too, but was disapointed to see the somewhat crappy reviews it got, which I think probably kept some people away. I agree that Waltz was awesome as the wacko ringmaster. Love your reviews...keep up the good work!
May 06, 2011
Thanks so much Sheri. Really appreciate it. I was surprised that so many critics didn't like it.
 
April 22, 2011
Truth be told, I was skeptical to see this. Your review gave me some motivation to see it. You guys always have the best vids LOL!
 
1
More Water for Elephants (movie) reviews
review by . February 05, 2012
posted in Movie Hype
**1/2 out of ****    In those few circus movies both new and old, one thing appears to remain constant; the presence of a train. In my experience, it's the great circus movies that leave out this aspect; while the good, the bad, and the mediocre sub-genre entries treat the inclusion of the railway as a sort of necessity. In the case of "Water for Elephants", the new film from director Richard LaGravenese, there is a train; and it acts not only as a method of transportation for …
review by . April 26, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
Under most circumstances I love period pieces.  All of the research and work that goes into a production from start to finish that makes the film feel authentic.  Wardrobe, hair styles, make-up, props, vehicles/transportation, speech, etc.  All of the little things that can ultimately make or break a period piece if it is supposed to feel realistic.  Right off the bat we are told that "THIS FILM TAKES PLACE IN 1931", like we are being beat over the head with that fact, …
review by . June 06, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
Water for Elephants Is An Excellent Date Night Movie
Water for Elephants is an award winning film in my book. This movie is rated PG-13 and is based in the 1930's. This is a romantic drama and will last about 2 hours. This is directed by Francis Lawerence and written by Richard LaGravenese and Sara Gruen. The main stars of this film is Robert Pattinson and Teese Witherspoon and Christoph Waltz. You probably are wondering why Robert Pattinson looks familiar and that is because he has in movies such as: Twilight as Edward Cullen and in the Harry …
review by . April 23, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
Star Rating:         Water for Elephants, based on the novel by Sara Gruen, is a gloriously old-fashioned movie – a lurid romantic melodrama that plays on the emotions like a finely-tuned violin. With its visual splendor, its touches of Depression-era grittiness, and its love-struck main characters, the film has a charmingly nostalgic feel about it. It even supplies us with one of the best narrative conventions there is, namely a life story told in flashback by …
About the reviewer
Joan & John Schwartz ()
Ranked #35
My husband (creator of the cult classic films FACES OF DEATH) andmyself (actress/screenwriter) are ex New Yorkers, see alot of films and usually disagree. So our friends decided that we need a review … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
2_TwoJewsOnFilm
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

A veterinary student abandons his studies after his parents are killed and joins a traveling circus as their vet.
view wiki

Details

Director: Francis Lawrence
Genre: Drama
Release Date: 22 April 2011 (USA)
Runtime: 120 minutes
Studio: Fox 2000 Pictures, 3 Arts Entertainment, Flashpoint Entertainment
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists