|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Waterworld » User review

Waterworld

1995 film directed by Kevin Reynolds and Kevin Costner

< read all 7 reviews

Overpriced, overblown, and underwhelming. 21%

  • Jul 6, 2011
Rating:
+1

I got interested in Waterworld after seeing the Angry Video Game Nerd attack the Waterworld game for the Virtual Boy (he'd attack the VB along with the movie itself). I finally went to the local Family Video in December of 2008 to see how bad it was for myself and much to my surprise, it wasn't the abomination legions of people make it out to be, but that's not really saying much.

The plot is that the polar ice caps melt and flood the entire world, creating the setting we know as in the title. The few survivors from the flooding live on islands made of junk and live primitive lifestyles. A guy known as the Mariner rescues Helen and her supposed daughter, Enola, from the Smokers, a group of infamous looters. Enola, has the key to finding "Dryland" tattooed on her back and the Deacon, leader of the Smokers, will stop at nothing to get Enola.

BAD ACTING AND WRITING

It's all to clear that no effort was put in making the actors in this film act in a convincing manner. Examples would be Kevin Costner as the Mariner and Dennis Hopper as the Deacon, the former acts in a very stale and monotone manner while the latter hams up every scene he's in. While I'm at it, it's all too clear that very little (if any) of this movie's gargantuan $175 million budget went to good script writing because some of the lines in this are downright laughable (and not intentionally humorous). An example would be when the Mariner confronts the Deacon on the Exxon Valdez, the Deacon says one of the most horrid lines in a “serious” film ever:

“I thought you were stupid, friend, but I underestimated you. You're a total frickin' retard!!”

The Deacon is supposed to be the villain, yet the above line makes him sound like angry second grader on the school playground.

LACK OF ORIGINALITY

One of Waterworld's biggest problems is that just about everything in it runs parallel to The Road Warrior, a MUCH superior film in just about every way. Again, I don't mind films that are derivative so long as they contribute something to the film that makes you come back again and again (again, using Event Horizon as an example of this), but Waterworld gives you nothing in return for its lack of originality and bad acting. The Mariner's character is no different from Max's character in The Road Warrior since they're both drifters who only care about personal gains. Lord Humungus from The Road Warrior has an army of savages who want gasoline and the Deacon has an army of savages who seek out a tattoo on Enola's back because it's supposed to lead them to dry land. The scenes in Waterworld feel ripped off as well since towards the beginning, the Mariner is held prisoner and sentenced to death by the people on the Atoll, but the Deacon and his cronies assault the island, allowing the Mariner to escape. Sounds an awful lot like when Max was taken prisoner by Papagallo's settlers and Humungus's assault on their settlement allowed Max to break loose and help beat back the attack. Even the ending of the film feels ripped off The Road Warrior, but I won't give it out since I don't want to spoil The Road Warrior for you.

APPPEARANCE

I do give the set designers of this movie a lot of credit because they worked really hard to build the floating islands and other props, and it's also more amazing than Avatar considering they had little to no computer effects in the film. However, any true film fan never lets movies slide by only on great visuals and brilliant set designs.

MORE UNINTENTIONALLY HUMOROUS MOMENTS

There were some scenes in this film that made me laugh unintentionally (other than that horrid line from the Deacon at the end). There was a scene where Helen was naked and pointed a harpoon gun at the Mariner, but the Mariner just drops the boat mast on Helen and whacks her with an oar. There was also a scene where the Deacon gets one of his eyes damaged and puts in a prosthetic one and says to one of his crew members “It does look like s***.” Another is when Enola causes a lot of trouble on the Mariner's boat and the Mariner throws the brat into the ocean.

FINAL WORD

Trust me on this one, you really shouldn't watch this aquatic drivel, go watch Mad Max and The Road Warrior instead, both of which accomplished A LOT more with only a tiny fraction of Waterworld's budget.

 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
9
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
9
Post a Comment
July 30, 2011
This movie sucked, great write-up!
 
July 06, 2011
This movie almost sank like a stone...but I have to admit, there are worst movies than this out there...LOL! nice review.
July 06, 2011
I certainly agree there's much worse movies out there, a good example being the other Dennis Hopper bomb Super Mario Bros. I only watched that one once back in early 1994 and have cringed heavily from it ever since.
 
1
More Waterworld reviews
review by . June 27, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
PeeWorld, with Kevin Costner, no it's not redundant.
To this day, this one dystopian future action movie still has a reputation as being one of the most notorious movies ever.  At the time, it had the biggest budget for a movie and the results on the screen were less then stellar: a giant water tank housing rusty boats and sets.  Really.  Does that look like it's worth the 100 million plus dollars this cost?  No it doesn't.  Add on top that it's only an average movie and well, you have a reputation that not even …
Quick Tip by . January 03, 2012
posted in Movie Hype
Given how much water is involved in the flick I expected to need to make several trips to the bathroom. I didnt but the movie was so bad I really really wanted to have to go.
Quick Tip by . May 04, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
Caption
WATERWORLD was released in the mid-nineties to great suspicion in the world-wide press: "What? A motion picture cost $200 million to make?" While the flick certainly doesn't look like a $200 million film on the screen, WATERWORLD delivers precisely what it promised: a loner meets girl, girl falls in love, loner performs some heroics, and girl stays on dry land because the loner can't stand the feeling of solid earth under his webbed feet. It's popcorn film time, people. Don't …
review by . April 24, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Post Apocalyptic Individualism At Its Finest
Waterworld is one of those movies you kinda had to be there to fully unappreciate.  Think of it is the inherent opposite of James Cameron’s scifi smash Avatar.  I’m convinced that viewers who weren’t lining up in theaters (or in my case killing the battery of their Chevy Blazer at the drive-in) in 1995 in effort to see what all the negative hype was about will likely breeze through this film with a shrug of the shoulders and a quote to the effect of “it wasn’t …
Quick Tip by . August 30, 2010
posted in MovieSucktastic
Big Budget yawner that it's best not to ask too many questions about and enjoy the long and numbing action scenes. Would have worked better if it cut down the action and delved into more about how these people live and the movie hints at it here and there.
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Infamous 1995 big budget film about how the ice caps melted and the world is underwater. Kevin Costner is a sea farrer out to survive and Dennis Hopper is a pirate leader looking for dry land. Really goes into left field and ignores the obvious questions you'll ask yourself while watching but hey, if you want stuff blowing up, it'll deliver.
About the reviewer
David Kozak ()
Ranked #28
I'm a morbid cynic who thinks very, very differently from most other people. Chances are, if the majority says X is the greatest in its category, I'll disagree with that notion, because I tend … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
RabidChihuahua
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki



Waterworld
is a 1995 post-apocalyptic action science fiction film. The film was directed by Kevin Reynolds and co-written by Peter Rader and David Twohy. It is based on Rader's original 1986 screenplay and stars Kevin Costner, who also produced it. It was distributed by Universal Pictures.

The film release was accompanied by a tie-in novel and video game, and also two popular themed attractions at Universal Studios Hollywood and Universal Studios Japan based on the film, called Waterworld: A Live Sea War Spectacular, which are both still running as of 2009.

Cast
Kevin Costner as The Mariner
Dennis Hopper as The Deacon
Jeanne Tripplehorn as Helen
Tina Majorino as Enola
Michael Jeter as Old Gregor
Gerard Murphy as The Nord
R.D. Call as Enforcer at the Atoll
Jack Black as Smoker Plane Pilot
John Toles-Bey as Ed, Smoker Plane Gunner
Robert Joy as Ledger Guy
John Fleck as Smoker Doctor
Kim Coates as Crazed Drifter
Sab Shimono and Leonardo Cimino as Elders of the Atoll
Jack Kehler as Banker
Rick Aviles as Gatesman at the Atoll
Sean Whalen as Bone
Lee Arenberg as Djeng
Robert LaSardo as Smitty
William Preston as Depth Gauge
Chris Douridas as Atoller

 
Plot summary
The setting of the film is the distant future, although no exact date is given. (Suggested as 2500.)[1] The polar ice caps have completely melted, and the sea level has risen many thousands of feet, covering virtually all the land.
 
An antihero, known only as "the ...
view wiki

Details

Genre: Sci-Fi, Fantasy

Polls with this movie
Poster for the movie

Dennis Hopper Movies

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists