|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Whiteout » User review

Whiteout

A movie directed by Dominic Sena

< read all 5 reviews

Dismal script, dire acting. And there are also some bad points.

  • Dec 29, 2009
  • by
Rating:
-4
I knew when the opening scene had Kate Beckinsdale getting into a shower that it was the only thing they could do to get the audience's attention. It's pretty much downhill from there, descending into a TV episode set in snow. Lacking the supernatural element of the almost-as-bad "The Last Winter" and trying to salvage the best bits from The Thing and that episode of the X Files set in Alaska, it's a mish-mash of ludicrous plot points and terrible dialog. The best part is when Kate gets two fingers amputated - I never thought I'd say that.

Every twist is signaled from a mile off and there are so many "why did they do that?" moments that it robs the picture of any tension, suspense or surprise. Kate B sleepwalks her way through the role and Tom Skerritt is starting to look more like Kris Kristoffersen every day. The whiteout scenes suffer from unnecessary CGI injection, and fail to convey any sense of the beauty of the locale. Then there are endless technical flaws that will have you rolling in the aisles (the wind gives Kate B frostbite in 10 seconds flat but in every scene the character have no face mask and are unaffected). This film might make a good drinking game (1 shot every time something unbelievable happens).

This, fellow Lunchers, is one stinky movie.

>> SPOILERS BELOW >>

In the final scene, they use batteries from a potentially life-saving radio to escape - when they could have use the ones from a flashlight. Not very likely, methinks. And if you didn't get Skerritt as the bad guy from almost the first scene, you may have just been in the bathroom.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
December 30, 2009
I'll be honest, I know this will be a bad flick; I know it would really grate on my nerves but I will still rent this...why you ask? Because for no other reason than Kate Beckinsale. She is a goddess! LOL I know it is lame, but I am just being honest. Thank you for the warning and nice write up!
December 30, 2009
Why do you think I rented it? :-)
December 30, 2009
ok. I feel better now. ha-hah
December 30, 2009
Lol - this is a savagely bad film. I was saying to my wife how these films set around the arctic always fail to make it look good. It's like a murder-mystery in the Carribean that doesn't make you want to go on vacation. Weird.
 
1
More Whiteout reviews
review by . February 20, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Despite the numerous bad reviews director Dominic Sena’s “WHITEOUT” had received I decided to give the movie a rent and see just how bad a movie can really get. I liked Sena’s work in the film “KALIFORNIA” and even tolerated the brainless action flick called “Swordfish”. Sure, the director took time off and if this film is any indication, he definitely needs to get back on the saddle since it is obviously a sign that he is all ’rusted out’ …
review by . May 06, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Kate Beckinsale, Tom Skerritt - cool setting but it adds up to near nothing. Even the basic script was decent but the execution took care of that. A lot of poorly and overdone CGI didn't help much either nor did the actual cause of everything add up. Or the storyline - which in parts was silly.     In total a really bad movie in a nice package. Kate and Tom could do nothing to salvage what was or wasn't there.
Quick Tip by . February 20, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
All I can say is this was a terrible and confusing movie. Not recommended!
review by . September 12, 2009
posted in Movie Hype
Did you know in Antartica there's a storm that comes by in which you can't see even six inches in front of you and it's called a "Whiteout" because you can't see anything but white?  Did you know the title of the movie really doesn't have anything to do with said storm at all?  It's true.  It just happens to take place in Antarctica during this storm, but it's hardly a huge plot device or anything like that.  The trailer for the film makes it look like  something …
About the reviewer
James Beswick ()
Ranked #13
Lunch.com's "token Brit".
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
jbeswick
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

A lone U.S. marshal stationed in Antarctica is drawn into a shocking murder investigation. With only three days until winter, she must solve the crime before the continent is plunged into darkness and she is trapped with the killer.Genres:Action/Adventure, Thriller and Adaptation Release Date:September 11th, 2009 (wide) MPAA Rating:R for violence, grisly images, brief strong language and some nudity. Distributors:Sony Pictures Releasing, Warner Bros. Pictures Distribution See Full Details
view wiki

Details

Director: Dominic Sena
Release Date: September 11th, 2009 (wide)
MPAA Rating: R
DVD Release Date: January 19, 2010
Runtime: 1 hr. 41 min.
Studio: Warner Bros. Pictures Distribution
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists