|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » X-Men Origins: Wolverine » User review

X-Men Origins Wolverine

The 2009 prequel to the X-Men film series focuses on the Wolverine character.

< read all 24 reviews

The moment of truth.... ( Midnight Movies & Nachos Vol. 1 )

  • May 1, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
For young kids across the world X-Men Origins: Wolverine may be one of the coolest movies of the summer but, for me and others who have grown up in the comic & cartoon era this is one of the moments we have been waiting on for a long, long time. Needless to say waiting for this movie for so long had me entirely geeked up.

Cut to the moment of truth. The room darkens, the screen brightens and I'm tagging along for one of the greatest movie nights I have had in years. From the beginning i had a feeling that this was more of a backstory movie laying groundwork for a bigger and better sequel(The rumor-mill says Magneto). With that being said the story was told very well. Leaving enough questions unanswered, and filling in the gaps on some others.  During the movie there were lots of twist, turns and smashing action scenes that will leave you with your mouth wide open.

With every up theres a down and there are a couple of downers here. The first is that most of the movie is action but after some of the scenes before the climax were really slow setup scenes and that was a zzzz. The second was part me & part movie.

WHERE IS THE FRICKIN SUIT!!!!!!!
You go to Spider Man & Tobey is rockin the red, web, & blue. Show us the blue & yellow modern or the orange & brown throwback. Show us something!! I understand Hugh is rough & rugged jeans & no shirt choppin trees and slashing baddies and all but the costume is a huge part of the mystique of Wolverine.

Overall this is a great way to start off the summer movie season and it will be a great addition to the DVD/Blu-Ray Collection. And before I leave I want to drop an open invite for the second installment of my Midnight Movies and Nachos series for Star Trek (I'm not a trekkie just a movie lover) I will be viewing at the Bridge @ Howard Hughes Center. there is an IMAX showing May 7, 2009 @ 9:45.  For more info message me, follow me!!!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
24
Thought-Provoking
4
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
5
Post a Comment
May 01, 2009
there was a scene where I was a happy I didnt have my 6yo nephew tagging along (point blank range headshot) but the boys will love it if the have watched the cartoon. Trekker?? maybe il be on after next fri.
May 01, 2009
Oh the boys love their violence and they don't have a problem with that (nor does my daughter) she just has a problem with sex scenes. I'm the one who has the problem with exposing them to too much violence. Luckily I talked her out of taking them to see WATCHMEN!
May 01, 2009
lol I still havent seen the Watchmen. A buddy told me he slept through it so i called it a blockbuster flick. But if the boys love the violent stuff theres plenty of it and great stunts too.
 
May 01, 2009
Did the action scenes pass the ultimate audio test? Was it "pants-shakingly loud"?
 
May 01, 2009
Obviously you're not a Trekkie or you would have called yourself a "Trekker". =) Nice review. I'll probably be taking my daughter's 8 year old twins to see this so I'm wondering about how it plays for kids at the age. What do you think?
 
1
More X-Men Origins: Wolverine reviews
review by . July 17, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Spin awef-ul
I liked the X Men movies, even the Last Stand which in all honesty made the most effort to present the "mutants rights = modern day civil rights" issues that was supposed to be the X Men's comic book analogy in the real world when it debuted in the 60's.  As the movies were made, more and more emphasis is put on Wolverine who had the strongest back story of the characters in that he has none and is always on a quest to learn more about his past and top that off with an animistic …
review by . May 03, 2009
posted in Movie Hype
teaser poster
Seeking to further capitalize on the popularity of Marvel's favorite mutant group, "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" is a prequel of sorts to the X-men trilogy. I'll get right to the point, if you thought Bret Rattner's "X-Men Last Stand" was a mockery of the franchise, then "Wolverine" provides some redemption. This latest spin-off won't exactly offer anything groundbreaking but it is an improvement over Rattner's version. Director Gavin Hood‘s …
review by . July 13, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Disappointing.  I wanted to like this movie.  I really did! But by the end of it I not only wanted my money back but I also wanted to strangle Wolverine.  Yes, one of the greatest X-Men comes across as nothing more than a whiny, mopey, emo...kitten.  He spends a large portion of the film either mourning his past or his girlfriend.  Eventually you just want to scream at him "Get over it and kick some butt!"       The only saving grace of …
review by . February 05, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
There used to be two stakes in the heart to any superhero series.  The first is making a third movie with so many villains it's just hard to focus (Spider Man 3, for example) while the other is making a fourth movie.  Yet it seems there could be another stake... making a prequel.  Much of Wolverine's story was pretty much told in X2: X-Men United.  Quite a bit of it actually.  The pivotal scene in the film is just shown rather than told.  If there was anything …
Quick Tip by . July 19, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
There used to be two stakes in the heart to any superhero series. The first is making a third movie with so many villains it's just hard to focus (Spider Man 3, for example) while the other is making a fourth movie. Yet it seems there could be another stake... making a prequel.
Quick Tip by . August 05, 2010
Purely average action film that is more enjoyable the less you know of the other movies and this movie's characters. Lots of action and Hugh Jackman is awesome as always.
review by . August 28, 2009
posted in Movie Hype
I was never a huge X-Men fan, but I enjoyed the first three X-Men movies. Between Patrick Stewart, Ian McKellan, and Hugh Jackman, they had a strong cast that made the movies slightly more than just an adaptation of a comic book.     X-Men Origins: Wolverine has a lot going for it. It has a good soundtrack, strong acting (Hugh Jackman is really raw), and the effects pretty good. Unfortunately, X-Men Origins: Wolverine doesn't rise to the level of its predecessors. For whatever …
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
a good addition to the series. lots of action and some pretty good special effects. you finally get to learn more about wolverines background.
Quick Tip by . July 25, 2010
Three words... "Slow. Motion. Explosion" Decent action/comic flick if you ignore the cheese ball parts.
Quick Tip by . July 21, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
thoroughly disappointed. The hype of Gambit was disappointing. Most of the character stories and plot had nothing to do with the comic.
About the reviewer
Aaron Rawls ()
Ranked #164
Form your own opinion... Isn't that what we are here for???
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
ajrawls
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Wolverine is a 2009 Action, SciFi film by Academy Award-winning director Gavin Hood. This X-Men spin off, stars Hugh Jackman as James Logan, the mutant who eventually becomes Wolverine and struggles to find the secrets to his past. The film tells the origin story of how Logan emerged from a barbaric experiment as an indestructible mutant with retractable razor-sharp claws and awakes the pain and loneliness once forgotten. In this thriller, Wolverine battles his complex relationship with Victor Creed (who later becomes Sabertooth) and seeks revenge for the death of his girlfriend, ultimately going through the mutant Weapon X program.

Hugh Jackman appears alongside the cast of Deadpool (Ryan Reynolds), Gambit (Taylor Kitsch), John Wraith (william), Victor Creed/Sabretooth (Liev Schreiber), and Col. William Stryker (Danny Huston). The screenplay was written by David Benioff and Skip Woods. Wolverine was filmed throughout New Zealand, Australia & Canada.


Official site:
http://www.x-menorigins.com/

view wiki

Details

Director: Gavin Hood
Genre: Sci-Fi, Fantasy
Release Date: May 1, 2009
MPAA Rating: PG-13
Screen Writer: David Benioff
DVD Release Date: September 15, 2009
Runtime: 1hr 47min
Polls with this movie
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists