|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Yogi Bear » User review

Yogi Bear

An upcoming 3-D live-action/CGI film adaptation of the iconic Hanna-Barbera cartoon series, The Yogi Bear Show, due for release on December 17, 2010.

< read all 3 reviews

Yogi entertains the whole family

  • Dec 11, 2010
Rating:
+4
Disclaimer: I received free pre-release screening tickets courtesy of Boston Parent Bloggers, but I was not part of the press and in no way obligated to write a review - so this is strictly my opinion. Minor spoiler alert!

Yogi Bear was our introduction to a few firsts. It was our first ever 3D experience, it was our two year old daughter's first time at the movie theater, and it was the first time we saw anything Yogi related. With that in mind, I don't have anything to compare to when it comes to the 3D experience and the original Yogi Bear Show. 

The first five minutes into Yogi Bear I was getting accustomed to watching something in 3D and making sure my two year old doesn't get scared by anything. Turns out she loved it, perhaps more than I did! I think the movie makers created a great experience for kids age 2 to 12 (not that I actually recommend television for two year olds), but it didn't have much to offer to adult enthusiasts of animated movies. Yogi Bear cannot be compared to the likes of Pixar films such as Ratatouille. It is very different not only because it is part reality, part animation, but the plot line is very basic and dialog remains at the elementary level in my opinion. Save for a couple of cheesy moments, it was enjoyable. I am easy to please though, in a way - just like my two year old!

The scenery was quite breathtaking! I wish they showed a little more of it. Perhaps the intention was for the scenery not to compete with the movie itself. You could make an entire documentary just about the natural setting of New Zealand where this was filmed. 

The acting and voice-overs were great, though there was a moment or two of awkwardness where the acting wasn't quite convincing. I'm not sure if that was intentional, but it made me cringe. The portrayal of typical politicians was oh so true in our times. The movie presented the important concept of park land conservation in a very simple way for young viewers to understand. Those neon orange crosses on trees are all too familiar to me as we've had quite a few trees in our wooded neighborhood cut down in the past year. There is nothing inappropriate and only one kiss at the end - nothing new for my daughter since she sees me and my husband kiss all the time!

As for the 3D experience, I expected a little more - even though this was our first time. It seemed as though there were more 'edge of the seat' 3D effects at the beginning of the movie and then they tapered off by the end. There were plenty of laughs and snickers for young and old alike, but I would recommend Yogi Bear for the younger preschool and elementary crowd. My two year old sat through the whole thing, beginning to end!

PS: Gotta love Evergreen Park! ;) Watch it and you'll know what I'm talking about!
Yogi entertains the whole family Yogi entertains the whole family

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
20
Thought-Provoking
20
Fun to Read
21
Well-Organized
20
Post a Comment
December 14, 2010
This sounds so cute and very cool that you got to see it before it came out! I've loved Yogi Bear since I was a kid and I can't wait to see him in 3D on the big screen. Thanks for sharing, Anastasia!
December 15, 2010
You're welcome Debbie!
 
December 14, 2010
Great review! If I have to sit for my niece, I'll take her to see it and maybe just the regular version since she's seen the other 3-Ds that might take away from her enjoyment of this film. Thanks!
December 14, 2010
Welcome!
 
December 14, 2010
My parents actually asked us if they could take our daughter (9) and son (3) to see this film when it comes out. It will be my son's second film at the theater and his second in 3-D. His first was "Megamind" and my wife took him and our daughter. I was at work. I just hope that I haven't ruined his movie-going experience since both of the films he's seen have been in 3-D. Great review!
December 14, 2010
Thanks, I think they'll like it!
 
December 12, 2010
Yeah I want to see this even more now, excellent review.
December 13, 2010
Thank you!
 
December 12, 2010
great review! It is always nice to see an advance review in this COL and I am glad that this movie delivered to your expectations. I don't think this is my kind of movie but I'll rent it once it comes out! Thanks, Anastasia!
December 12, 2010
You could do that but I'm not sure how interesting it would be without the 3D effects. I hope they'll have the DVD released in 3D! You're welcome!
 
December 11, 2010
Nice review!  Sounds like a decent flick to take the youngsters to. I loved the TV show when I was a kid.   
December 12, 2010
Thanks!
 
1
More Yogi Bear reviews
review by . May 01, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
Half a star out of ****     There's a fine difference between a child's mind and a child's imagination, although the people who pieced together this ugly trash-fest of a movie seem to only have the first one. Here's a film that, alas, does not destroy my childhood; because I don't want to be a clich├ęd fanboy by saying so. But even so, there's something endearing about watching a cartoon, starring a cocky bear and his little side-kick trying to steal "pick-a-nick baskets" from …
Quick Tip by . December 11, 2010
Might be going to a preview screening this morning, so stay tuned for a review! :)
About the reviewer
Anastasia B ()
Ranked #23
I am a woman, a wife, a mother, a daughter, a sister, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a Christ follower, an Interior Designer, a blog author, a cook, an artist, an eco-conscious consumer, a nature lover, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
EcoMama
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki


Yogi Bear is an upcoming 3-D live-action/CGI film adaptation of the iconic Hanna-Barbera cartoon series, The Yogi Bear Show, due for release on December 17, 2010. It will be distributed by Warner Bros.  with Hanna-Barbera Productions. It will be the first movie development of a Hanna-Barbera property produced without the assistance of Bill Hanna and Joe Barbera, who died in 2001 and 2006 respectively.
 
Eric Brevig is the director, and Donald De Line, Karen Rosenfelt and Tim Coddington are the producers, with Lee Berger, Jim Dyer, Andrew Hass and Jon Berg as the executive producers. Dan Aykroyd stars in the film as Yogi Bear. Principal photography began in November, 2009. Preceding the film will be a new 3D short with Wile E. Coyote and Road Runner titled "Rabid Rider".
 
Jellystone Park has been losing business, so greedy Mayor Brown decides to shut it down and sell the land. That means families will no longer be able to experience the natural beauty of the outdoors—and, even worse, Yogi and Boo Boo will be tossed out of the only home they've ever known. Faced with his biggest challenge ever, Yogi must prove that he really is "smarter than the average bear" as he and Boo Boo join forces with Ranger Smith and a documentary filmmaker named Rachel to find a way to save Jellystone Park from closing forever.
 
On October 2, 2008, it was confirmed that a live-action/CGI Yogi Bear movie was in the works. It is currently in ...
view wiki

Details

Director: Eric Brevig
Genre: Family
Release Date: Dec. 17, 2010
MPAA Rating: PG
Screen Writer: Brad Copeland, Joshua Sternin
Studio: Warner Brothers
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists