|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Zookeeper » User review

Zookeeper

A movie directed by Frank Coraci

< read all 5 reviews

'Zookeeper' 'Two Jews On Film' Deem This Unfunny Comedy Not Bagel Worthy (Video)

  • Jul 8, 2011
Rating:
-3


By Joan Alperin Schwartz

When five different people get screenwriting credit for one film, you know something went terribly wrong.
And that's exactly what happened with the film 'Zookeeper', directed by Frank Coraci.  Five screenwriters couldn't make this film work.

When the film opens, we see Griffin Keyes (Kevin James) and his girlfriend (Stephanie), played by drop dead gorgeous, Leslie Gibb, riding horses along a beach, somewhere in Mexico.  Just as Griffin is about to propose to Stephanie, she breaks up with him.  Her reason...Griffin is a 'zookeeper' and she wants a man that is so much more than that...

Okay, so we're suppose to believe that Stephanie...this beautiful, superficial woman would spend three years of her life dating a a short, fat man, with no money and no personality. Seriously??? 

By the way, not only does Griffin get one gorgeous woman to fall in love with him...He gets two. This storyline is even less believable than the talking animals.

Yes, there are talking animals...voiced by Stallone, Cher, Nick Nolte, Jon Favreau, Maya Rudolph and Adam Sandler.

 The animals at the Franklin Park Zoo love Griffin.  When Griffin decides that the only way to win back Stephanie, is to quit his job and go to work for his brother's exotic car dealership, the animals panic.

 They decide to break their time-honored code of silence and reveal their biggest secret to Griffin - They can talk.  So to keep Griffin from leaving, they decide to teach him the rules of courtship - animal style.  Sounds cute?  Trust me - it isn't.  

 This is the first film I've ever seen where the animals are obnoxious.  Everything about this film annoyed me.  It's contrived, unorginal and so not funny.

I'm sure parents will take their kids to see 'Zookeeper' and it will make tons of money, but that won't change the fact that this film is not "bagel worthy"..  John was kinder than me and gave it 1/2 for thespecial effects.

'Zookeeper' opens in theaters Friday, July 8, 2011.
'Zookeeper' 'Two Jews On Film' Deem This Unfunny Comedy Not Bagel Worthy (Video) 'Zookeeper' 'Two Jews On Film' Deem This Unfunny Comedy Not Bagel Worthy (Video) 'Zookeeper' 'Two Jews On Film' Deem This Unfunny Comedy Not Bagel Worthy (Video)

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
July 10, 2011
I expected this. I like Kevin James but his movies are usually a hit or a miss. Somehow, I find comedies harder to review. I think with the James formula is a way to express humor when he is surrounded by hot women. I know how to treat a woman LOL!! Nice work, Joan and John!
July 10, 2011
Thanks. I found this film so insulting to my intelligence and everyone elses' intelligence on Planet Earth. LOL
July 11, 2011
I hiope you didn't lose braincells. I was surprised that you were so vocal with your hatred of this movie. Must be really bad!
July 11, 2011
I think I lost at least 12. LOL
 
July 09, 2011
Last 2 Jews I saw on a film were Siskel and Ebert...Good review !!!!!!
July 09, 2011
thanks so much. Hopefully at least one of us is prettier than Siskel and Ebert LOL
 
1
More Zookeeper reviews
review by . February 12, 2013
posted in Movie Hype
GREAT MOVIE FOR KIDS AND GREAT BLU-RAY
            ZOOKEEPER      It is no secret that I am a Kevin James fan and I guarantee that I will enjoy any thing that the man is in. I LOVED his show "The King of Queens" and have loved all of his films including his first Happy Madison film "Paul Blart: Mall Cop". Why did I love it you may ask, well because of the cast but also because my little cuz loved it. When you go to see these family films with the kids you …
Quick Tip by . February 12, 2013
posted in Movie Hype
I do recommend this flick because it is good, it may not be the best film ever depending your taste but it is good. Remember the target audience and go in with that mindset and you will like it. Take the kids as well because they will love it. The Blu-Ray is full of great special features.
review by . July 09, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
Star Rating:         Is this supposed to be a joke? Zookeeper is so unbelievably stupid that it may not have been intended as a serious movie, but rather as a prank concocted by the studio heads. Paying audiences are not the only victims, here; let us not forget the likes of Kevin James, Rosario Dawson, Sylvester Stallone, Cher, and Nick Nolte, all of whom I respect as actors. They too are getting the short end of the stick. Now that the powers that be at Columbia Pictures …
Quick Tip by . December 28, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
This was honestly one of the stupidest movies i saw in 2011 and thats saying something. Its like a bad mash up of Paul Blart, Night at the Museum, and Madagascar. The plot has big holes in it, and on top of being dumb didnt make much sense, and the one thing that really really made me dislike the whole film was the voices that they used for the animals...outright irritating!
About the reviewer
Joan & John Schwartz ()
Ranked #35
My husband (creator of the cult classic films FACES OF DEATH) andmyself (actress/screenwriter) are ex New Yorkers, see alot of films and usually disagree. So our friends decided that we need a review … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
2_TwoJewsOnFilm
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Details

Director: Frank Coraci
Genre: Comedy, Family, Romance
Release Date: 8 July 2011 (USA)
MPAA Rating: PG
Screen Writer: Nick Bakay, Rock Reuben
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists