|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

David Bowie

A musician born in London

< read all 4 reviews

A Quick Tip by cenobite7

  • Mar 15, 2011
  • by
Not unlike Alice Cooper, Bowie is nothing less than an icon who managed change the sonic face of Earth AND influence legions of artists or bands. David won't be forgotten.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
12
Post a Comment
September 08, 2011
I have mixed feelings on Bowie. Sometimes I think he took the whole glam thing a bit too far and should have focused more on the music and less on his makeup. Other times he comes through brilliantly.
September 08, 2011
I tend to lean more towards the high end of brilliance with Bowie. Although the wiki suggests something slightly different, I've always thought Bowie was ahead of his time rather than being trendy or a hipster. Even now, people still can't really grasp the true enigma of Bowie & his musical gifts. Even his most radio-friendly tracks or most widely recognized work is still phenomenal next to the junk that floods radio stations these days. I think the only trendy aspect of Bowie was perhaps his take on fashion which I've always felt was just an extension of Warhol so to speak. I could be wrong. My opinion & speculation of course. ;-)
September 08, 2011
That and the fact that Bowie placed a great deal on sexuality, homo-eroticism, and androgynous fashion, which he exploited to get fame and attention. Most people who knew him argued that his so-called "bisexuality" was just a publicity stunt to make him seem like a hip, modern outsider.
September 08, 2011
Well, yeah. Homo-eroticism & sexuality helps sell records for the most part. It's part of the whole "piece of cake" idiom which most rock stars employ as their claim to fame so to speak. However, that's forgivable when we examine all that he could bring to the musical forefront & all that his followers could gain simply from listening. What impressed me most was his ability to combine musical genres & actually experiment with countless pop sounds versus being content with mediocrity which is often the flavor of the day in pop music. I particularly love his Alladdin Sane record which fuses pop rock with cabaret. I'm not sure it will ever be considered quintessential Bowie per se but it's an awesome album. I think you would love it Sean!
 
May 25, 2011
Love David Bowie! Nice QT!
September 08, 2011
Thanks Adrianna!
September 17, 2011
Welcome. :)
 
March 17, 2011
Amen squared ;p
March 29, 2011
I've gone through cassette tapes, records, and cds. I should never be without some medium as far as Bowie is concerned. ;-)
March 29, 2011
No, no you shouldn't. OH and The Man Who Sold The World's original cover is one you have to have on vinyl- it rocks! I can't believe it was so controversial. The other must have vinyl is: The Rise And Fall Of Ziggy Stardust And The Spiders From Mars, IMHO!
March 31, 2011
I wish I could say I had some vinyl of Bowie. The artwork alone is amazing and would be worth collecting. You mentioned two of my favorite Bowie albums. I also once had teh soundtrack to Cat People by Gorgio Moroder and David Bowie. I love that song!! ;-)
April 03, 2011
Ooooh that's a goodie!
April 04, 2011
I do have a Japanese import copy of Alladin Sane which I love. I don't think there was anything much in the lines of extras except for the Japanese booklet of lyrics to compliment the English. That was very cool. There was, however, a little card inset which was signed "I love you" by David. Sadly, I can't tell whether it's hand signed or if it's a re-print. I love the piano arrangements on this cd and that cabaret feeling mixed with a bit of glam. Lady Grinning Soul is one of my all-time favs. ;-)
 
March 15, 2011
Amen.
March 29, 2011
Thanks Deb. You're my musical kindred spirit. Our tastes are quite similar so it should come as no surprise that you love BOWIE also. ;-) How have you been?
March 29, 2011
Why, of course! And I've been doing well, how about you? :)
March 31, 2011
Good here. Thanks for asking! ;-) I haven't been online as much as I would like but life isn't bad.
 
1
More David Bowie reviews
Quick Tip by . May 01, 2012
Musician, Actor, Artist, and so much more. This guy wasn't just kissed by one muse, he was kissed by all of them.
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
the andorgynous one. So hot when not like this.
About the reviewer
Brian ()
Ranked #28
I've spent years trying to make others happy & not really focusing on what's most important in my own life. Having said that, my own health & security are paramount so now I'm more … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
cenobite7
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this musician

Wiki

The cliché about David Bowie says he's a musical chameleon, adapting himself according to fashion and trends. While such a criticism is too glib, there's no denying that Bowie demonstrated remarkable skill for perceiving musical trends at his peak in the '70s. After spending several years in the late '60s as a mod and as an all-around music-hall entertainer, Bowie reinvented himself as a hippie singer/songwriter. Prior to his breakthrough in 1972, he recorded a proto-metal record and a pop/rock album, eventually redefining glam rock with his ambiguously sexy Ziggy Stardust persona. Ziggy made Bowie an international star, yet he wasn't content to continue to churn out glitter rock. By the mid-'70s, he developed an effete, sophisticated version of Philly soul that he dubbed "plastic soul," which eventually morphed into the eerie avant-pop of 1976's Station to Station. Shortly afterward, he relocated to Berlin, where he recorded three experimental electronic albums with Brian Eno. At the dawn of the '80s, Bowie was still at the height of his powers, yet following his blockbuster dance-pop album Let's Dance in 1983, he slowly sank into mediocrity before salvaging his career in the early '90s. Even when he was out of fashion in the '80s and '90s, it was clear that Bowie was one of the most influential musicians in rock, for better and for worse. Each one of his phases in the '70s sparked a number of subgenres, ...

view wiki
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists