|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Trent Reznor

American musician

< read all 1 reviews

A Quick Tip by RabidChihuahua

  • Mar 20, 2012
Simply put, I hate Trent Reznor.  This guy is a self-absorbed ego-maniac with practically no musical merit.  His main project, Nine Inch Nails, is merely electro-industrial gone through a pop filter and topped off with painfully obvious, angsty lyrics that you'd find in any angry 15 year-old's notebook (other industrial-pop hack Marilyn Manson is equally worthless). 

Going back to Reznor's massive ego, he had the nerve to say in an interview with Spin Magazine in March of 1992 that Front Line Assembly was "textbook, monotinous industrial," (1) as if NIN is anything brilliant.

Skip Reznor's musical pap and go for some of the prime works of Skinny Puppy, Front Line Assembly, Godflesh, Ministry, and Swans.

Works Cited:

(1) http://www.mindphaser.com/?page_id=92 (What did Trent Reznor say about FLA?)
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
8
Post a Comment
March 21, 2012
Ok--now this phrase got me cracking up: "... topped off with painfully obvious, angsty lyrics that you'd find in any angry 15 year-old's notebook" LOL!
March 22, 2012
Glad I could get a laugh out of you. Just curious, did you get a chance to listen to those Godflesh albums I recommended?
March 23, 2012
all I can say, buddy, is that I am very grateful that you recommended those cds. I am always playing them in the car! thanks!
March 23, 2012
You're welcome!! And great to see someone else who now enjoys the brilliance of Godflesh.
 
March 21, 2012
Your assessment of Reznor as an obnoxious, self-obsessed solipsist is spot-on, but I don't agree that he's entirely untalented. To be sure, he's a dedicated hack as a songwriter, but has exhibited some skill as a producer (perhaps the most self-congratulatory post to be occupied in the entertainment industry) and considerably less as an instrumentalist of decidedly limited (though evident) talent.

He's a riot, claiming that to his ears, there's "something musical about noise" after dismissing Einstuerzende Neubauten as "unlistenable," then signing them to his aptly-named vanity label Nothing to unsuccessfully distribute Ende Neu for a few years.

A brief anecdote: whilst living in New Orleans, a former acquaintance and his wife saw the nigh-dwarven Reznor in public many times, surrounded by his entourage. Once, whilst this couple were viewing a film in a theater, Reznor entered with his designated group of hangers-on, sat behind her and set his feet on the back of her seat, drumming to her back and speaking loudly to his friends while doing so. In response, she sat up and turned to glare at him, and he simply stared at the screen as though she wasn't there. Stories abound regarding Reznor's charming deportment, but this is my personal favorite of the lot.

That the teenage moi actually enjoyed his first two albums - and similar releases by the Wax Trax set who Reznor imitated, among others - is a matter of perpetual embarrassment for me, and among my greatest unintentional lapses of taste.
March 22, 2012
Damn, that's a pretty messed up story about Reznor's rotten personality. Just makes me hate the guy even more.

Why the hell would he claim that Ende Neu is unlistenable then try to distribute their material?
March 22, 2012
Well, Reznor's honest (re: stupid) opinion doesn't concur with his transitory ambitions as a minor distributor. Never mind that Neubauten's music has actually been relatively accessible to anyone with a rudimentary familiarity with modern German culture since Haus der Luege, and that their thematic riddles require only slightly more intelligence to decipher than those most cryptic devised by Reznor's beloved Bowie. So much sturm und klang is unlistenable to a man who presents himself as a purveyor of brutal angst to the MTV set, yet recoils in revulsion at the first sound of an act who - along with Throbbing Gristle, Whitehouse, Merzbow, Cabaret Voltaire, etc. pioneered the intersection of popular music and severe noise.

Whether Reznor would have signed EN for a single album's distribution had their sound not mellowed so much by the mid-'90s is debatable, but he needed them more than they he; aside from The The, godforsaken Marilyn Manson and Nine Inch Nails, EN were the only truly prominent act to be afforded exclusive promotion in North America (Autechre and Squarepusher were only distributed stateside by Nothing). Incidentally, EN sold more copies of Ende Neu via their independent Potomak label and mailing list than Nothing ever did with limited advertisement in print and on MTV.
 
1
About the reviewer
David Kozak ()
Ranked #23
I'm a morbid cynic who thinks very, very differently from most other people. Chances are, if the majority says X is the greatest in its category, I'll disagree with that notion, because I tend … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
RabidChihuahua
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this musician
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists