|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Television Shows » Reviews » Modern Family: Pilot » User review

Modern Family (Episode 1)

The first episode in Season 1

< read all 7 reviews

Modern Family - Pilot

  • Feb 19, 2010
Rating:
+5
 Remember the first time you saw "Modern Family"? for me it was love from first sight (or from first episode). The moment that sealed the deal for me was Cam presenting baby Lily to the family with "The Lion King" song in the background.

The pilot episode introduces us to three family units: The traditional family, the 
Dunphys, mom, dad and their three kids, the older-man hot young woman and her son, the Pritchetts, and the modern style family, the gay couple, Mitchell and Cam, and their newly adopted baby Lily.

Modern Family is all about taking every day family situations to the extreme and making us laugh:

For the Dunphys it is dealing with parenting the kids: While SuperNanny would have probably chosen a different education method, Clair and Phil punish Luke by shooting him with the BB pistol, after Luke shot his sister with it.

For the Pritchetts it is dealing with a growing child, Manny, the your lover, who is dealing with a crash on the mall worker. Although he has so many female fans out there, things do not go well for Manny, "I gave her my heart, and she gave me a picture of myself as an old-time sheriff", so Gloria needs to cheer him up, and Jay tries to remember how to be a father to a teenager again.

For 
Mitchell and Cam it is getting used to having a baby at home and telling the rest of the family about the adoption. "The Lion King" is probably the best strategy to do so.

The pilot episode got great reviews, Mary McNamara of the LA Times commented "Just when we were thinking it couldn't be done, ABC's Modern Family has single-handedly brought the family comedy back from the dead...Modern Family is sharp, timely and fresh, complicated enough to be interesting but with a soft, sweet center". And I agree, after seeing the pilot, Modern Family is the family to be with every Wednesday night.

Some great quotes from this episode:

Gloria: We’re very different, he’s from the city, he has big big business and I come from a small village, very poor but very very beautiful. It is the number one village in all Colombia for all the, what’s the word?
Jay: Murders.
Gloria: Yes, the murders

''I'm the cool dad. That's my thing. I'm hip. I surf the web. I text. LOL: laughing out loud. OMG: Oh my God. WTF: Why the face?''

Cameron: Yes, I've gained a few extra pounds while we were expecting the baby... but that's science. You can't fight it.

Check out more about Modern Family at our Modern Family Fansite

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
March 02, 2010
This is one of those shows that are funny, the text is written in a a very smart yet humorous way. Its great to see Ed O'Neill do something he is good at. Its so nice to see something great on and something fresh to the eyes and ears. Maybe we can see some guest characters from past time shows Ed O'Neill was in with....hmmmmm Christina Applegate or Kate Segal,,,,will be good to them come in as guest characters. Lets keep this shows going.
March 02, 2010
I'd love to see Christina Applegate visiting Modern Family.
 
February 23, 2010
Excellent review. I was completely hooked when I saw the pilot. I love this show. The writing and acting are fantastic. What really took me by surprise is how good of an actor Ed O'Neil is. Great delivery. Who would have thought Al Bundy could be so nuanced?
 
February 19, 2010
WTF... why the face. great quote!! i was literally lol'ing when he said that. I love that character... the actor is so good and i don't understand why i haven't seen him anywhere else before... he's really good.
 
1
More Modern Family: Pilot reviews
review by . April 09, 2010
posted in Modern Family Fans
I have to imagine that writing a good pilot has got to be one of the hardest things in TV writing.  You not only need to lay the foundation and develop all of the characters, but you need to do it in a way that is still interesting.  And if you can't do it, then your show is toast... talk about pressure.        The creators of Modern Family did such a great job and got this show off to such a great start.  Let's just hope they can keep it going for many years …
Quick Tip by . December 29, 2010
posted in Modern Family Fans
A "normal" family full of bratty kids and bewildered parents, an older man with his smoking hot wife and her son and a gay couple who adopted a Asian baby all have adventures that intertwine.
Quick Tip by . April 09, 2010
posted in Modern Family Fans
Thank goodness for this pilot, otherwise I wouldn't have all these great quotes & laughs!
Quick Tip by . March 31, 2010
posted in Modern Family Fans
FINALLY sat down and saw this show. Totally worth the hype!
Quick Tip by . March 18, 2010
posted in Modern Family Fans
Best ever first episode. Most shows start slowly until they find themselves. Modern Family hit the ground running!
Quick Tip by . March 04, 2010
posted in Modern Family Fans
it was a fantastic pilot. I really set up the entire series so well and left me wanting to learn more about each and every character.
About the reviewer

Ranked #505
Entrepreneur with more than 10 years of experience in product management and project management (Boaz Cohen).      Founder of Modern Family Fansite.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
boazcn
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this online video

Wiki

The pilot episode of the television series Modern Family, written by Steven Levitan and Christopher Lloyd and directed by Jason Winer, premiered on ABC in the United States on September 23, 2009. The pilot introduces viewers to three sets of people who make up a single family. The episode is shot in a mockumentary style, with a cameraman following the characters around their everyday lives and interviewing them characters at various intervals. It cuts between the experiences of the three separate units before they all come together at the end of the episode. Jay's family tries to function despite the age difference between himself and his wife. Claire's family tries to punish their son and watch over her daughter and her new boyfriend. Mitchell tries to hide the fact that he and his partner Cameron have adopted a daughter in Vietnam from his family until Cameron invites Mitchell's family without consulting him (which is revealed to be the other two families).

Reviews for the pilot episode compared Modern Family to shows such as Married...with Children, Frasier, Malcolm in the Middle and, most strongly, Arrested Development. In the United Kingdom, reviewers saw similarities between Modern Family and Outnumbered.



Plot
The episode begins at the home of Phil and Claire Dunphy and their three children Haley, Alex and Luke. Claire and Phil shout up the stairs to the children and, when Haley emerges, Claire tells her that her skirt is too short. Phil, however does ...
view wiki

Details

Original Video Uploader: YouTube
Lists with this online video
Polls with this online video
Modern Family: Benched

Modern Family Episodes

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists