|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Politics » Reviews » Obama's 2010 State of the Union Address » User review

Obama's 2010 State of the Union Address

An address that was presented by President Obama on January 27, 2010, to a joint session of Congress.

< read all 5 reviews

America deserves more than incredible Oration skills.

  • Jan 28, 2010
  • by
Rating:
-3

I see what he is saying but I am hundreds of miles from home because his philosophy of gov't tanked my job at home.
Helping small business is great, I ran one for 10 years but without manufacturing or something to market we might as well be a 3rd world country. We are a nation of consumers. We built that habit of consuming because of the manufacturing boom after WWII. It's real hard to be a consumer if you have no job. I have watched furniture factories, garment factories, paper mills, electronics factories, car factories and now research facilities close or stop.
I am in a high tech, research field. I am seeing the people in my business scared for their jobs. These are highly educated people with years of experience that don't know if their job will be there in 6 months. I am educated. I have 3 children in college as I write this that are also going to be highly educated. Yet it takes more. How much more, I don't want to find out. My son is planning on moving after college because of the work situation. My daughter may not get a choice. I am in the same boat, along with lots of people I know who are uprooting and moving because their job disappeared.
The education plans burn me up.
At my kid's university you have professors that are on the job 7 days a week. They have an overburdened workload with under funded facilities. I don't know what institution is making a killing from college tuition but it isn't the state colleges. You want to lower tuition, tap into the money the SEC and other conferences make on the football. Now there's some money. But the physics dept., biology dept. and the math dept. usually run on a hope and a prayer.
If you want schools to improve then it's your job as a parent to participate in some form. The state of Alabama cut their public school money to the point of school closures and curriculum not being bought. Now you are going to punish them more because they can't perform to high standards. How in the world we got to the point in our society that we lay the responsibility of success or failure of our child in life on a gov't run institution is beyond me. Homeschool or don't homeschool. You are still the parent and therefore still in charge. You pay taxes; you buy whatever they are selling to bring in money. Know what is going on and help make the school a better place.
I would have thought that the lessons from other completely socialist nations would have taught us that if you sit idly by and wait for the gov't to fix things you are in real trouble.
Flowery speeches won't make prosperity happen. So far the actions taken haven't helped much. I don't care if he promises me a million dollars. It's all hot air until I see results. Right now it isn't looking good in the results dept.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
21
Thought-Provoking
24
Fun to Read
16
Well-Organized
24
Post a Comment
February 02, 2010
 The mess we are in today is the result of  cumulative lack of vision on the part of our political leadership for the past 60 yrs. In the leadership vacuum, an ongoing battle for power has emerged between the political parties whose main agenda has been to get elected or re-elected. Barack Obama has the vision to lead this country in the 21st century but is hamstrung by the vested interests and demigogery in BOTH political parties. The rank and file citizen is omitted from the legislative equation except to be manipulated at election times. Barack Obama was elected to be President of ALL THE PEOPLE and must carry the issues directly to the populace and listen to our response. He needs our constructive opinions and we must support his efforts in our behalf.  We can't wait  for another political messiah to solve our problems and cure our ills. America was built on the notion of political freedom. Let's exercise it and take responsibility for this country's future. Stan Payson
 
January 29, 2010
YES YES YES. Just look around you and see everything falling apart while the banks pay record bonuses. Great review.
 
January 28, 2010
It might have been a bit more helpful if he had actually been allowed to implement any of his plans rather than be stalled by the loyal opposition which has been acting like a spoiled child for the past year. Most people are only concerned about job losses when it finally comes down to the point where it affects them. It's a problem hat's been over 20 years in the making but we only choose to see it now. As a Democrat and a genuine socialist I'm constantly embarassed and annoyned by the label of socialist that everyone is so eager to slap on Obama who clearly middle of the road except for that silly little health care plan. I'm also still royally pissed at Clinton for even deigning to say "NAFTA' much less be responsible for it--it's such an unDemocratic thing to do that the party will forever bear the stigma. There are many reasons for are current unemplyment problems and one of them is this supid computer I'm using right now. Computerization has either eliminated, or caused the outsourcing, of more jobs than people are willing to recognize because they love them as if they were part of their family. And those jobs will never come back. They could, but who's willing to admit the problem or take a step backward just so that others can have a job? I'm on a disorganized rant. I should just pack it in.
January 29, 2010
Thanks.
 
January 28, 2010
I'm with you on this one. Mr. Obama was no more qualified to be President than Sarah Paiin. His inexperience and heavily progressive leanings are quite apparent and in my view that does not  bode well for the future.  The American people might have figured that out if the media had bothered to ask him any tough questions during the campaign.  It would have been interesting to hear his response to these two simple questions.  "Why do you want to be President?'"  and "Why do you feel you are qualified to be President?"  Those two questions have derailed many potential Preisdential bids. Scott Brown was just the tip of the iceberg. Democrats are going to pay a huge price at the ballot box this November.
 
1
More Obama's 2010 State of the Unio... reviews
review by . January 28, 2010
President Obama: Leader With A Moral Compass
I personally don't believe there's such a thing as 'clean coal'. Nor do I believe there is such a thing as 'safe nuclear energy'.      Nevertheless, I want to know how we would recognize in real-time a President who would become beloved of the People; a President who would go down in history as a 'Great Man'.       One man; Commander in Chief, and public servant to 300 million people who together, make up what we call the United States …
review by . January 28, 2010
   I don't know if it is the current situation in my personal life, my current age or my ever growing concern for this country as well as the rest of the world, that has made me pay more attention to political matters than ever before. Like many, I listened to President Obama's State of the Union address on January 27, 2010 and thought I would express some opinions here.The speech was very well written although I have always wondered how much of any presidential …
review by . January 29, 2010
Tony Blair Mark 2
Interestingly enough, this same scenario unfolded in the UK in the early 1990s - the incumbent conservatives, which had become stale and unpopular were ousted by a young, charismatic liberal with ideas to change the fabric of society. If I were a cynical man, I might even think the Democrats' play book was lifted directly from Tony Blair's highly-orchestrated designs with 'New Labor". It too trundled along for a couple of terms before the public then realized that the only changes were higher …
Quick Tip by . January 28, 2010
great speech, but it left me feeling pretty luke warm about out future.
About the reviewer
Mary Elissa Williams ()
Ranked #157
I'm usually thinking out of the box. I have been a homeschooler for about 15 or so years with 3 children in college,1 dual enrolled in highschool. I ran my own business as a family entertainer / birthday … more
About this online video

Wiki

The 2010 State of the Union Address was given by United States President Barack Obama on January 27, 2010, to a joint session of Congress. It was aired on all the major networks starting at 9 PM ET. It was Obama's first State of the Union Address, though the president did give a non-State of the Union address to a joint session of Congress a month after taking office in 2009.

The speech was delivered on the floor of the United States House of Representatives in the United States Capitol. The presiding officers of the Senate and the House of Representatives, Vice President Joe Biden (as Senate President) and House Speaker Nancy Pelosi sat behind the president.

Among the topics that Obama covered in his speech were proposals for job creation and federal deficit reduction.

Housing Secretary Shaun Donovan was chosen as the designated survivor and did not attend the address, in order to keep a presidential line of succession should a catastrophic event have wiped out the administration.

Newly elected Virginia Governor Bob McDonnell delivered the Republican response following the speech.
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists