|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Commercials » Reviews » The Man Your Man Could Smell Like » User review

Old Spice Manmercial

A commercial for Old Spice that aired in February 2010.

< read all 5 reviews

Look at your man, now back at me

  • Feb 19, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+5
This commercial makes no SENSE at all.  It reminds me of that pic of Darth Vader on the shoreline, pouring himself a cup of Brita.  Exactly.. it doesn't make any sense.

See for yourselves:


The ad wasn't run during the Superbowl.  Weird, right?  Instead of putting millions of dollars into a single 30 second spot.. Old Spice created a number of ads to play before movies like "Valentine's Day" and Avatar.  They've also started a viral ad campaign online.

But by itself, the ad is a hit.  "Look at your man.  Now, back at me."  The character is smug and arrogant.  He tells you that you (or your man) smells like a lady.  And as soon as you start using Old Spice, you can have oysters with two tickets to whatever you like.. or diamonds.  Heck, you can even ride a horse.

Even backwards.

I can't wait for the next commercials.  This guy is gonna hit it big.. bigger than that Sprite dude.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
9
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
February 23, 2010
I just absolutely can't stand that commercial!
 
February 19, 2010
Darnit, Justice, you just totally ruined dating for me!  How is any guy going to live up to this?  Oh wait, all I have to do is get him some Old Spice, huh? ;P
 
1
More The Man Your Man Could Smell L... reviews
review by . February 19, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
Goodbye, Future Husband.
I mean, how could I possibly look at, or want another man after watching this commercial?      Check him out in this mere 30 second time frame...  Chiseled, with a deep husky voice.  In just a bath towel.  And apparently, he smells good.  Oh look, now he's on a boat.  Buh-bye, bath towel around waist.   Hello, shirt over shoulders.  Apparently, he still smells good.  Now he has an oyster in his hand.  And look!  He's got …
review by . April 08, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
I don't know who that amateur was in the February version but the commercials made by Tim and Eric show a real man, complete with the necessary bouncing pecs and arms growing out of his arms.    See more funny videos and funny pictures at CollegeHumor.
Quick Tip by . March 26, 2010
This old spice ad was shown at the #SXSWi #neuromarketing panel as it is a satirical view of marketing.
Quick Tip by . March 09, 2010
made me laugh out loud... random and hilarious.
About the reviewer
Justice Erolin ()
Ranked #140
Hmm... let's see.    I'm a 20-something living in Los Angeles, CA. I was born and raised here, with the exception of a 3 year stint in the Philippines. This "long" vacation helped … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
justiceerolin
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this online video

Wiki

The "The Man Your Man Could Smell Like" Old Spice ad campaign was created by Portland, Oregon-based ad agency Wieden + Kennedy and stars actor and former NFL player Isaiah Mustafa.
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists