|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Commercials » Reviews » The Man Your Man Could Smell Like » User review

Old Spice Manmercial

A commercial for Old Spice that aired in February 2010.

< read all 4 reviews

Goodbye, Future Husband.

  • Feb 19, 2010
Rating:
+5
I mean, how could I possibly look at, or want another man after watching this commercial?

Check him out in this mere 30 second time frame...  Chiseled, with a deep husky voice.  In just a bath towel.  And apparently, he smells good.  Oh look, now he's on a boat.  Buh-bye, bath towel around waist.   Hello, shirt over shoulders.  Apparently, he still smells good.  Now he has an oyster in his hand.  And look!  He's got two tickets to that thing I love!  And ooooh, those tickets turned into a flood of diamonds!   (I guess this means I can nix Moissanites and color enhanced diamonds out of my wardrobe now?)  In case you forgot, another reminder that he still smells good.  Oh, and now he's on a beach.  On a horse *swoon*


Seriously, how could any man compete?

This little gem aired during the latest Super Bowl, but since I don't do sports, I didn't catch it until @justiceerolin wrote a review about this manmercial last night.  And since that fateful moment, I haven't been able to stop watching it.  I've must've watched it dozens of times since, and I still get a total kick out of it every time.  I actually tweeted out @justiceerolin's review, and my buddy @beaudotgiles sent me a video about the making of this.

That video is about 20 minutes long, so I'll highlight some bits of it.  Here's the coolest part: the entire commercial was recorded in one single shot and there are barely any special effects.  The bathroom, boat, and horse are all there.  It's amazing to see Isaiah Mustafa go seamlessly from one environment to another without skipping a beat.  The only time CGI was used was for the oyster and diamonds in his hand.   Other than that, the rest of the commercial was shot without such computer technology.  Super impressive!  They also said that they were trying to make this commercial appeal to both sexes, which they obviously did successfully.

If you've got time, I suggest watching this video.  It's pretty entertaining to watch the Portland, Oregon-based ad hipsters describe the making of this to Leo LaPorte.  I hope they make a whole line of these ad.  The Man Your Man Could Smell Like could become as epic as the Real Men of Genius or The Most Interesting Man in the World.



Fellas, unless you're a chiseled, Old Spice-scented, topless Isaiah Mustafa-like man, please step to the left.

;)
Goodbye, Future Husband.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
49
Thought-Provoking
48
Fun to Read
64
Well-Organized
47
Post a Comment
June 28, 2011
Great commercial--perfectly done and OMG he even SOUNDS sexy; you can practically smell him just listening and lookin' at him!!
June 28, 2011
Nicely put, Brenda! This could be your quick tip ;)
 
June 06, 2011
I love this whole campaign - very clever and attention-grabbing (in more ways than one). devora, did you see the videos they did where the Old Spice guy responded live on YouTube to questions asked by people on Twitter? Not quite as flashy, but equally fun... check it out if you get a chance.
June 07, 2011
Yes, I loved those! And I especially loved the marriage proposal one that he did. Thanks for your comment, Rich!
 
March 08, 2011
Sexism! SEXISM!!!! You should be ASHAMED of yourself! ASHAMED, I say!
March 10, 2011
Hey, a girl can dream! :P
 
September 21, 2010
Ha Ha
September 22, 2010
Thanks for checking out my review, Orn! :)
 
September 09, 2010
Fun review and that guy is great in those commercials. Luckily for my wife, I use Old Spice. To the rest of the ladies, sorry, I'm taken!
September 22, 2010
Haha, thanks, Kendall! But do you have diamonds and two tickets to that thing that she loves? ;P
 
March 10, 2010
Nice review! Haven't seen the ad before! Nice ad indeed.
March 13, 2010
Haha, thanks! I bet you watched it on loop like I did :P
 
March 07, 2010
Funny review. I just like the part when he says that he's "on a horse". It's just so random. Thanks for this!
March 09, 2010
Hahaha, that's gotta be the best part of the commercial! :D
 
March 06, 2010
"Look at THIS review, now look at yours, look again...its a review now it's a video, you call your review a review?!" Great review another winner as always. Best commercial in a long time. My wife and I laughed like crazy when this aired for the Superbowl, we ran it back and laughed again. And haaaa to all you Old Spice haters, it may not be Shulton's original scent but it still rocks. Waiting for some neck and face burning Brut commercials to hit the airwaves. Being a man is making a comeback, stop smelling like vanilla bean and spice up boys!
March 06, 2010
LOL, if you were ever to write a review about this commercial, that would be your awesome starting line to get readers hooked! And way to tell off the haters ;P Thanks for your comment, Bel!
 
February 22, 2010
This was a very funny commercial. I'm still wondering how they pulled it off though. It looked like most of it was done in one take, so how is it that they made it seem like he went from one set to another and from one location to another?
February 22, 2010
Long story short, they built half a boat on the beach, and then built a bathroom set on the boat. When the scene change, a crane quickly took away the bathroom, and then he later sat on a contraption described by the ad geek as "a poor man's rollercoaster" and was transferred onto the horse. Friggin' amazing. It's all in that second video if you've got time to catch it ;)
 
February 22, 2010
The scariest part is that it is an ad for OLD SPICE! Not much special effects THERE, either. Hehe.
February 22, 2010
LOL, I totally cracked up at that! Well, now that my world is colored by Isaiah Mustafa's pecks, maybe there will be some special effects when I finally get a whiff of that Old Spice! ;P
February 22, 2010
unfortunately, whenever I think of Old Spice, I think of the old Eddie Murphy sketch about Old Spice and how it can burn when not applied properly...
 
1 2 Next
More The Man Your Man Could Smell L... reviews
review by . February 19, 2010
This commercial makes no SENSE at all.  It reminds me of that pic of Darth Vader on the shoreline, pouring himself a cup of Brita.  Exactly.. it doesn't make any sense.      See for yourselves:         The ad wasn't run during the Superbowl.  Weird, right?  Instead of putting millions of dollars into a single 30 second spot.. Old Spice created a number of ads to play before movies like "Valentine's Day" and …
Quick Tip by . March 26, 2010
This old spice ad was shown at the #SXSWi #neuromarketing panel as it is a satirical view of marketing.
Quick Tip by . March 09, 2010
made me laugh out loud... random and hilarious.
About the reviewer
devora ()
Ranked #4
When I'm not Lunching, I'm a jeweler, and an all around, self-proclaimed web geek. My passions include social media, the interweb, technology, writing, yoga, fitness, photography, jewelry, fashion, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
devora
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this online video

Wiki

The "The Man Your Man Could Smell Like" Old Spice ad campaign was created by Portland, Oregon-based ad agency Wieden + Kennedy and stars actor and former NFL player Isaiah Mustafa.
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists