|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Commercials » Reviews » The Most Interesting Man in the World » User review

The Most Interesting Man in the World

An advertising campaign launched by Dos Equis beer in 2007.

< read all 6 reviews

Stay Thirsty, My Friends.

  • Aug 20, 2009
Rating:
+5
If you watch TV or listen to the radio, you've probably heard of these Dos Equis "The Most Interesting Man in the World" adverts before.  They're pretty epic.  The man being describe sounds kind of like Chuck Norris, except better.  And Latino (...or maybe some sort of European).  And instead of only being able to read about his exploits and talents through web memes, you can actually get them narrated to you by a man with a deep, husky voice, set to the backdrop of upbeat, yet surprisingly soothing Latin-esque music.  Check out this Dos Equis commercial compilation:

" "

Who is this guy anyways?  Where is he from?  What does he do?  Why is he so friggin'... "interesting"?  The radio ads are pretty awesome.  All of his feats and accomplishments are described by someone else and he always polishes the ad off by saying the now infamous phrase, "I don't always drink beer, but when I do, I prefer Dos Equis.  Stay thirsty, my friends".  Here are some of my favorite lines from the radio ads:

  • Most songs about love are written for him, about him, or by him.
  • Years ago, he built a city out of blocks.  Today, over six hundred thousand people live and work there.
  • If he were to give you directions, you'd never get lost.  And you'd arrive at least five minutes early.
  • His personality is so magnetic, he is unable to carry credit cards.
  • Even his enemies list him as their emergency contact number.
  • He never says something tastes like chicken.  Even chicken.
  • He'd never initiate a conversation about the weather, even in a typhoon.
  • He's against cruelty to animals, but isn't afraid to issue a stern warning.
  • Whatever side of the tracks he's currently on is the right side. If he crossed them, he would still be the right side.
  • He's a lover, not a fighter.  But he's also a fighter, so don't get any ideas.
  • He won the same lifetime achievement award.  Twice.
  • He can speak French in Russian.
  • If he were to mail a letter without postage, it would still get there.
  • When it is raining, it is because he is thinking about something sad.
  • He lives vicariously through himself.
  • He once taught a German shepherd to bark in Spanish
  • He's been known to cure narcolepsy, just by walking into a room.
  • His blood smells like cologne.
  • He has never lost a sock.
  • He once had an awkward moment, just to see how it felt.
  • His organ donor card also lists his beard.

You thought that was good?  Well, wait till you see the television ads.  They're really something else!  Not only does someone describe his feats and achievements, but these ads also show a lot of what's not being described.  You've got The Most Interesting Man in the World benching two Asian women in chairs.  The Most Interesting Man in the World releasing a bear from a bear trap  The Most Interesting Man in the World shooting a perfect game of pool out of an Indian man's mouth.  The Most Interesting Man in the World laughing heartily while strapped and riding on an amusement park ride with a cigar in his hand.  And the list goes on.  But you know what the best part about the television commercials are?  When The Most Interesting Man in the World gives personal advice or opinions on topics, including, but not limited to:

  • Rollerblading and Peter Gammons' Sexiness: a simple head shake and a "No".
  • Life: "It's never too early to start beefing up your obituary".
  • Pick-up Lines: "There's a time and place for that.  The time is... Never.  You can figure out the place on your own".
  • The Two-Party System: "The afterparty, is the one you want to attend."
  • Those Nuts: "See those nuts?  They're there to make us thirsty.  While I don't like being coerced, in this case, I shall make an exception".
  • Packages: "Fellas, leave the tight pants to the ladies.  If I can count the coins in your pocket, you better use them to call a tailor".
  • Careers: "Find out what it is in life that you don't do well, and then, don't do that thing".

These Dos Equis commercials aren't obvious knee slappers that cause you to burst out laughing like Bud Light's Real Men of Genius commercials do, but their tongue-in-cheek quips do elicit a snicker or two.  I aspire to be like The Most Interesting Man in the World.  I want to be... The Most Interesting Girl in the World.  Now what beverage should I endorse?  In my best European accent, "I don't always drink cocktails (okay, considering that I'm currently the #1 contributor in Lunch's Cocktail Community, that's kind of a lie), but when I do, I prefer..." ;D
The Most Interesting Man in the World

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
46
Thought-Provoking
40
Fun to Read
52
Well-Organized
39
Post a Comment
November 18, 2011
My personal favorite: "Unless our whole conversation is going to be in Spanish, don't lead off with, 'Hola.'" Viewing this as a rote advertisement prior to the initiation of a Pixies video on YT almost made me feel that the world isn't chiefly pathetic.
November 18, 2011
YAYSIES! ^-^

^-^

♥ Annusya ♥
November 18, 2011
Hahahahahahaha. Oh, that's a good one.
 
July 11, 2011
Very detailed review !
July 11, 2011
Thanks, J!
July 11, 2011
You are very welcome.
 
June 07, 2011
Devora, the "Most Interesting Man in the World" commercials are indeed hilarious.

In the TV ads you get to see his heroic exploits and adventures.

I personally do not tire or get annoyed at quips such as: 

--His organ donor card also lists his beard.
--He lives vicariously through himself.
--He's been known to cure narcolepsy, just by walking into a room.
--His words carry weight that would break a less interesting man's jaw.
--He bowls overhand.


Great review!
June 07, 2011
Hahahahaha, those are great! Thanks for your comment, John :)
 
October 22, 2010
I was always curious of this guy thanks for putting him out there devora, well done ;-)
 
September 22, 2010
"He would be in touch with his feminine side. [beat] If he had one." Their dry, witty, voiceovers are perfect. I hate the Bud ones. Like their insipid product, the ads fizzle flat.
 
March 31, 2010
Great review as always, I really like this quote the most: Packages: "Fellas, leave the tight pants to the ladies. If I can count the coins in your pocket, you better use them to call a tailor". commentary on [young] guys today sporting jeans for ladies. Second, I like that tag line "Stay thirsty my friend" but I always assume he's talking about wine.... Third, when you've seen this commercial for the um-tenth time, he becomes the most annoying man in the world!
April 01, 2010
Thanks, Bill! Yeah... no guy should ever wear pants tighter than mine :P I don't know.... he's so awesome, I don't know if he could ever be the most annoying man in the world to me ;)
April 05, 2010
The Dos Equis beer in my opinion is not very good, but I will drink it at my fave Mexican Restaurant here in San Diego, they serve the XX Amber which I can tolerate for $7 in a 24 ouch frosty mug...
 
March 01, 2010
I liked Dos Equis beer before, but now with seeing a couple of those commercials and reading your review I like it even more. I really respect ad campaigns that are entertaining and original. I really like the video you included. I hadn't seen all of that before. Fun review.
April 01, 2010
A belated thank you, Clay! :) I'm a total sucker for awesome ad campaigns :D
 
February 11, 2010
I have seen these commericals and they are a riot. I don't drink beer as i told you before but these are great ads. I was really surprized not to see anything like this at the superbowl.
February 19, 2010
They didn't advertise for the Super Bowl? For shame! Well, I've got a Super Bowl commercial review coming soon... Not for a beer company though :P
 
September 08, 2009
Genius data point... nice style.
September 08, 2009
Thanks, Shayne! I hope other beer companies follow suit with these genius beer commercials... :)
 
September 07, 2009
Great post! I love these commercials! By the way, the actor who plays "The Most Interesting Man in the World" is Jonathan Goldsmith who seems to be equal parts Charlton Heston and Chuck Norris.
September 08, 2009
Haha, interesting that you think that Jonathan Goldsmith seems to be equal parts Charlton Heston and Chuck Norris. I bet there are internet tools out there to merge the two together... Thanks for your comment, Rob! :)
 
1 2 Next
More The Most Interesting Man in th... reviews
Quick Tip by . October 20, 2010
this guy is laughs and whoever writes this stuff, kudos to you. you are a funny, funny human being.
Quick Tip by . September 25, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
This guy looks like he can tell you how the world works with his suave look and demanor. He looks like Kenny Rogers a little bit too.
Quick Tip by . September 22, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
Love this guy! Oh and did I mention he's a Dodgers fan?
Quick Tip by . August 24, 2009
These are classic commercials and a great character! WAY better than the beer they're selling.
Quick Tip by . August 20, 2009
Probably one of the catchiest Ad campaigns, It does make me want to drink Dos Equis! Though I never have!
About the reviewer
devora ()
Ranked #4
When I'm not Lunching, I'm a jeweler, and an all around, self-proclaimed web geek. My passions include social media, the interweb, technology, writing, yoga, fitness, photography, jewelry, fashion, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
devora
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this online video

Wiki



In 2007, Dos Equis inaugurated its "most interesting man in the world" advertising campaign. The television advertisements feature a bearded, debonair, Argentinian or Mexican gentlemen in his 50s or 60s (portrayed by actor Jonathan Goldsmith). In the television advertisements, while vaguely Spanish music plays in the background, a montage of daring exploits involving "the most interesting man" when he was younger are displayed. While the precise settings are never revealed, at various points in various commercials, he frees an angry bear from a painful-looking bear trap; shoots amazing pool before an Indian audience; catches a marlin while cavorting in a Hemingway-esque scene with a beautiful, perhaps Cuban, young woman; wins an arm-wrestling match in a South American setting ("He's a lover, not a fighter, but he's also a fighter, so don't get any ideas"); surfs the killer wave; and bench presses two East Asian young women in a casino setting, each woman being seated in a chair. At the end of the advertisement, the interesting man says, "I don't always drink beer, but when I do, I prefer Dos Equis." Each commercial ends with a signature sign-off: "Stay thirsty, my friends."
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists