|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Online Videos » Reviews » The Search For 'Others' » User review

Something quite epic.

  • Feb 28, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+5

     I’d like to start off by saying that I very rarely watch AMV’s on Youtube, mostly because many of them are mediocre. However, well-made AMV’s are one of my guilty pleasures, and I felt that Lunch would be the perfect place to share this little gem. This AMV is among the best that I have seen, and although I haven’t even seen several of the anime in the video, it didn’t diminish the AMV’s impact.

 

     Before getting into the deeper meaning behind this AMV, which was created in May of 2007, I would like to talk first about its quality. While Youtube doesn’t always have the greatest video quality, the AMV itself is top-notch. The lyrics and overall tone of the song that the creator chose perfectly reflect the video clips that were chosen, and the clips are, for the most part, timed very well. I especially love the way that 0:42-0:44, 1:50-1:57, and 2:06-2:16 were done. It isn’t another AMV that has clips thrown in without proper transitions, etc. Also, the creator used some sort of computer program (Adobe Photoshop, perhaps?) to place the video clips in the screens that Ura (a character from the anime OVA Pale Cocoon, who appears to be, in this AMV, “singing”) is viewing, replacing what was actually on the screens in the Pale Cocoon OVA. This is a technique that I very rarely see in AMV’s. The creator clearly put a lot of time and effort into this AMV, and it absolutely paid off, in my opinion.

 

     Now, for the really interesting part: not only did the creator of this AMV succeed in constructing an attractive AMV; they succeeded also in creating a meaningful one. However, in order to understand it, one first has to know the plot of the anime OVA Pale Cocoon. In this OVA, planet Earth has become uninhabitable due to environmental destruction, and a group of humans has since retreated to an artificial colony above the planet’s surface. After the move, much of recorded history was forgotten, and all that is left remains in a large archive of data, much of it in corrupted formats. One of these humans, Ura, is a member of the “Archive Excavation Department”, and spends his days obsessively trying to recover remnants of history through restoring these corrupted files.

 

     So, the anime clips that Ura is watching in the AMV were actually, in the original OVA, files that Ura had recovered. When taking into consideration the song and the idea behind Pale Cocoon, I believe that the creator intended for it to be as if Ura was discovering the anime clips, as if they were recovered history chronicling the triumphs of the human spirit. Of course, people can come up with their own interpretations, but that is my own. In short, this AMV is, in a word, beautiful.

Something quite epic.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
18
Thought-Provoking
18
Fun to Read
18
Well-Organized
18
Post a Comment
April 14, 2010
Great review! It can be really difficult to find AMVs that are worthy of such a rating. I'll have to check this one out, although some of the depth will be lost on me because I haven't seen the anime.
 
March 01, 2010
Here is one of my own all time favorites: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pk8KkRyO2uw&feature=email
March 01, 2010
Oh man, I'm so angry. I just spend well over an hour re-watching Pale Cocoon and writing an in-depth review, and when I posted it, for some reason, all it said was "null".
http://www.lunch.com/reviews/UserReview-Pale...st_with_a_message_.html
Now, I can't get it back. I don't know what happened...Thank you for the video link. I'll check it out, I guess after I re-type my review.
March 01, 2010
Oh man, that's terrible! I feel for you. You know, after encountering errors like that myself, I do all of my write-ups in Word or Wordpad then transfer them in. I only erase the document once it's live just because, as past experience has taught me, my tower can't take the kicking that usually follows such experiences. It gets expensive!
March 01, 2010
Haha, I'll bet it gets expensive. It's alright though. I'm over the initial anger. I remember most of what I typed, so re-typing it won't take as long as coming up with it all did. I even thought about copying it and putting on Word before posting it, but decided not to. I'll use your advice in the future.
 
March 01, 2010
Very interesting! The still you provided up there reminded me of Last Exile.. But I actually wasn't too familiar with the AMV scene. I'll have to give this some attention as soon as my schedule eases up a bit. I've actually stumbled upon some fanmade ones in the past.. Some I thought were really cool in fact. Great review.
March 01, 2010
Thank you very much. That still is actually from Kingdom Hearts, the video game.
 
February 28, 2010
wow! "...planet Earth has become uninhabitable due to environmental destruction, and a group of humans has since retreated to an artificial colony above the planet’s surface. After the move, much of recorded history was forgotten..." Japanese anime usually have themes about Mother earth and existentialism. This is a great find and I appreciate you sharing this with us, Ulalume.
February 28, 2010
No problem! I'm planning on reviewing Pale Cocoon as well, within the next few days.
February 28, 2010
Great! Give me holler when you post it!
February 28, 2010
Okay, will do.
 
1
About the reviewer
GCS ()
Ranked #86
My user-name was derived from the title of a poem by Edgar Allan Poe. I came to Lunch with the hopes of publishing reviews that would be appreciated by others and reading the reviews of others that hope … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Ulalume
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this online video

Wiki

Song: I'm Still Here

 

Artist: The Goo Goo Dolls' John Rzeznik

 

Lyrics:

 

I am a question to the world,
Not an answer to be heard.
All a moment that's held in your arms.
And what do you think you'd ever say?
I won't listen anyway…
You don't know me,
And I’ll never be what you want me to be.

And what do you think you'd understand?
I'm a boy, no, I'm a man..
You can take me and throw me away.
And how can you learn what's never shown?
Yeah, you stand here on your own.
They don't know me 'cause I'm not here.

And I want a moment to be real,
Wanna touch things I don't feel,
Wanna hold on and feel I belong.
And how can the world want me to change,
They’re the ones that stay the same.
The don’t know me,
'Cause I’m not here.

And you see the things they never see
All you wanted, I could be
Now you know me, and I'm not afraid
And I wanna tell you who I am
Can you help me be a man?
They can't break me
As long as I know who I am

And I want a moment to be real,
Wanna touch things I don't feel,
Wanna hold on and feel I belong.
And how can the world want me to change,
They’re the ones that stay the same.
They can’t see me,
But I’m still here.

They can’t tell me who to be,
‘Cause I’m not what they see.
And the world is still sleepin’,
While I keep on dreamin’ for me.
And their words are just whispers
And lies that ...

view wiki

Details

Original Video Uploader: FinalResolve
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists