|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » News » Reviews » The Onion » User review

The Onion - America's Finest News Source

A satirical news organization

< read all 3 reviews

Always Good For Laughter Inspired Tears- The Onion

  • Mar 16, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
Okay so I lean towards the irreverent because I've learned that when you take things too seriously- well- in my opinion real life is serious enough on its own!  The Onion is hands down the best source for a daily laugh.  They cover all aspects of the news- politics, sports, business, opinion, world, tech, celebrities, and they do it in a way that no one else can.  They actually have a print version along with the website.   When it comes to making fun of the serious the onion hands down is the best in the field.  Nothing is off the table- as a matter of fact the more politically correct the area the more facetious the Onion tries to be.  

The Onion has news both in written format and in video format under the guise of the Onion News Source.  The articles are as amusing as the video and my hats off to the writers who find a way to make fun of EVERYTHING.   Here are some recent titles of articles and newscasts  just to give you an idea:  "FDA approves Salmonella", "Getting picked to Make Half-Court Shots Now Best Way to Earn a Living", "Nation Instinctively Forms a Bread Line", and videos clips titled, "The FDA Approves Depressant Drug for the Annoyingly Cheerful".

The writing is quality, and the site is partners with CNN and Slate.  If you are having a bad day- click on the Onion and be prepared to get an instant mood lift!

The Onion


The Onion

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
30
Thought-Provoking
9
Fun to Read
11
Well-Organized
11
Post a Comment
September 17, 2010
I love the Onion. The problem is that I have trouble leaving the site. It's just hilarious.
 
April 24, 2009
I'm with you in this--I prefer an irreverent approach to the news too. Love the Onion, love your review!
April 26, 2009
Thanks Linda_in_Maine!
 
April 03, 2009
Sounds pretty good! does it make you shed tears when you open it up? :)
April 03, 2009
:)
 
April 02, 2009
I worked at the post office (Pissed Office, Post Awfull, Post Offal, whatever) for 25 years and we always looked forward to piecing together a damaged copy of this in the breakroom. I see you're for Florida too. I lived all but 6 years of my life down there in the St. Pete area until I escaped 2 years ago. NEVER got used to the heat.
April 03, 2009
I know- some co-workers were complaining about the cool weather (they are from up north and think that Fl. Is tropical 24-7) I told them to enjoy the cool weather b/c when summer kicks up around here- its a breathing in hot air, sweat all day(even with air) doozy! The beach keeps me here though!
April 03, 2009
I'm an old fart. We moved to Fla when I was 4 and 1/2 and I lived there for 57 years. Like I said I never got used to the heat. To me anything over 78 is unbearable. I turn the air conditioning on if it goes over 68, and of course we never had air conditioning until I got a place of my own 82! To say I was miserable would be an understatement of truly epic proportions. =)
 
March 16, 2009
I have loved The Onion ever since a friend introduced me to it many years ago! And ever since they fixed up their site, it's become even better. Always good for a laugh, kind of like Fox "News".
March 16, 2009
:-D re: Fox news
 
1
More The Onion reviews
review by . August 24, 2009
   “God Answers Prayers of Paralyzed Little Boy: ‘No,’ says God”; “Congress Deadlocked Over How Not to Provide Healthcare”; “Google Opt Out Feature Lets Users Protect Privacy By Moving to Remote Village”, are just a few of the thousands of satirical news headlines that have graced the pages of The Onion. For those of you still not in on the joke, The Onion reports on newsworthy events both real and imagined in the extremely mock-able objective …
Quick Tip by . August 24, 2009
Inspired Writing Never Gets old...
About the reviewer
Shannon Johnson ()
Ranked #222
  A freelance writer whose favorite topics are organic foods, healthy living, and all things green. A professor of career communications, an avid yogi, a vegetarian, and a mommy.I am a beach … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Bohemianliving
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this organization

Wiki

The Onion is an American news satire organization. It features satirical articles reporting on international, national, and local news as well as an entertainment newspaper and website known as The A.V. Club. It claims a national print circulation of 690,000 and says 61 percent of its web site readers are between 18 and 44 years old. Since 2007, the organization has been publishing satirical news audios and videos online, as the "Onion News Network".

The Onion's articles comment on current events, both real and imagined. It parodies traditional newspaper features, such as editorials, man-on-the-street interviews, and stock quotes, as well as traditional newspaper layout and AP-style editorial voice. Much of its humor depends on presenting everyday events as newsworthy items, and by playing on commonly used phrases, as in the headline, "Drugs Win Drug War."

A second part of the newspaper is a non-satirical entertainment section called The A.V. Club that features interviews and reviews of various newly released media, and other weekly features. The print edition also contains restaurant reviews and previews of upcoming live entertainment specific to cities where a print edition is published. The online incarnation of The A.V. Club has its own domain, includes its own regular features, A.V. Club blogs and reader forums, and presents itself as a separate entity from The Onion itself.
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists