|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Nature » Reviews » Yellowstone National Park » User review

Yellowstone National Park

America's first national park.

< read all 3 reviews

World's 1st National Park

  • Jan 28, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+4
Yellowstone National Park is the world's first national park. Grand Canyon is the national park which I'm most impressed with in the United States. Ever since the visits to Grand Canyon & the Canadian Rockies, I was hooked! This happened more than a decade ago. It's strange... before this, I was only interested in city-hoppings. I have never had any inclination to visit the parks, let alone a national park. But the Grand Canyon changed all that.

Since then, I've acquired travel guides, huge coffee-table books & even lugged a few home all the way from America. None of my friends & colleagues can relate to this "insanity". I've collections of videos & DVDs of these wonderful nature & landscape. Well, all I can say is experience it for yourself & your life would never be the same again :-). I've now visited more than 20 national parks! There are a few more I've missed & hope to visit one day, especially Waterton-Glacier N.P., Crater Lake, Denali & Glacier Bay N.P.



OK, lets get back to Yellowstone National Park. Established on Mar. 1, 1872 & preserved for posterity, Yellowstone is an extravaganza of all the unthinkable: mysterious geysers, mud pots, volcanic steam vents, hot springs, waterfalls, petrified forests, bison, elk & bears... It is a surreal quadrant of steamvented land where geysers abound; as many as 350 geysers are concentrated here, the world's largest collection! A fantasyland of mud volcanoes, colorful canyons, plunging waterfalls & hot molten rock (magma) only 1 to 3 miles below the earth's crust, Yellowstone embraces a supernatural aura which is not likely to be experienced in any other national parks in the world!















The beauty of this national park lies in its tranquility and wilderness. You get to share nature with animals of all kinds! We didn't really see many animals on our visit as the weather wasn't that great then. I hope I've another chance to return in better days to truly embrace the beauty of this park!

My most memory vision of the park is the Hot Springs, in particular Mammoth Hot Spring & Miverna Springs. They are one of the most beautiful in the park because of its array of brilliant colors & ornate travertine formations. Awesome!















World's 1st National Park World's 1st National Park World's 1st National Park World's 1st National Park

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
25
Thought-Provoking
19
Fun to Read
15
Well-Organized
15
Post a Comment
October 22, 2010
Those photos are magnificent1
 
February 06, 2010
Incredible review. Love the photos! Had the pleasure of going to Yellowstone back in 2000. What an experience. We stayed a night at the Old Faithful Inn as my parents did on their honeymoon in 1948. Unforgettable trip.
 
January 31, 2010
My mother went to Yellow Stone with my aunts and a couple of cousins when I was in high school. I didn't get to make the trip because school was still in session. She talked about the trip for years. I did get to spend about 2 hours in session. But in 1994 when I was attending the World Science Fiction Convention in San Francisco I did get to make a day trip out to Yosemite. We only got to spend a couple of hors so I didn't see very much but it was so beautiful and so unlike Florida that it was worth it.
January 31, 2010
Breathtaking, especially to someone from Florida which is flat as a pancake unless you live north of Ocala where it finally gets what WE call hilly. My daughter went to college in Tallahasse and she says it's differnt up in the panhandle and along the border.
January 31, 2010
It's certainly well worth it. It's too bad so many people in the U.S. don't even get to see what's in your own backyard! So sad...
January 31, 2010
It's a pretty big backyard. And with gas prices the way they are now people aren't going to be taking many roadtrips like they used to when I was a kid. Too bad. Roadtrips are the best way to go, although it's not so much fun now that it's all done on the interstates.
 
January 31, 2010
You know what else is awesome? This review! I've still yet to visit, but hoping to soon. Your experience sounds great, and those photos are fantastic! :)
January 31, 2010
*Brush, brush* Thanks!!!
 
January 30, 2010
very nice write up and photos. You definitely have the passion for reviews like this!
January 31, 2010
Traveling is my #1 passion. It's easy to write about something you breathe in and out ;-)
 
1
More Yellowstone National Park reviews
review by . October 22, 2010
That's what we kept telling ourselves as we went through park. It's just incredible how diverse the geography is.  We came in through the north entrance and made our way through park and out the south entrance.       Tip:  Some of the roads were closed which made our drives a quite a bit longer than expected, so be smart and check to see when roads are closed... we didn't :(      I'll leave a lot of the descriptions of all the …
Quick Tip by . January 23, 2010
A national park of immense beauty and variety. First national park in the world & Y. Caldera is the largest supervolcano on the continent.
About the reviewer
Sharrie ()
Ranked #3
I'm a traveler at heart & have been nicknamed Travel Queen by friends & colleagues alike. Traveling has been my life passion for the last decade or so. As we enter a new decade, I'm excited … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Sharrie
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this place

Wiki

 Yellowstone National Park, established by the U.S. Congress as a national park on March 1, 1872, is located primarily in the U.S. state of Wyoming, though it also extends into Montana and Idaho. The park was the first of its kind, and is known for its wildlife and its many geothermal features, especially Old Faithful Geyser, one of the most popular features in the park. It has many types of ecosystems, but the subalpine forest is dominant.

Indigenous Americans have lived in the Yellowstone region for at least 11,000 years. The region was bypassed during the Lewis and Clark Expedition in the early 1800s. Aside from visits by mountain men during the early to mid-1800s, organized exploration did not begin until the late 1860s. The U.S. Army was commissioned to oversee the park just after its establishment. In 1917, administration of the park was transferred to the National Park Service, which had been created the previous year. Hundreds of structures have been built and are protected for their architectural and historical significance, and researchers have examined more than 1,000 archaeological sites.

Yellowstone National Park spans an area of 3,468 square miles (8,980 km2), comprising lakes, canyons, rivers and mountain ranges. Yellowstone Lake is one of the largest high-altitude lakes in North America and...

view wiki

Details

Address: Yellowstone National Park

Polls with this place
Amazon Rainforest

Natural Wonders of The World

by

Acadia National Park

Great Places to Hike

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists